What Choons Yi Listening To?

Bowie stalker.

You had one obviously.
Confused

My next few gigs are a bit of a bizarre mix
Rod Stewart
Billy bragg
Springsteen

Also going to see Craig Ferguson comedy standup.. not sure what to expect at that
Be interested to hear what Craig Ferguson was like. I used to like him but was shocked to see what a smarmy wanker he seems to have turned into on American tv.

Alas I really haven’t found anything the youngsters are doing that grabs my attention.
I was lucky enough to see bowie about 10 or 11 times, so nothing much can beat that imo.
Still a good wee night oot at least
Bowie 10 or 11 times! A measly twice for me.

If you haven't heard the excellent BBC Radio 4 programme to mark 50th anniversary of Ziggy Stardust check it out. You won't be disappointed.

Archive on 4 - Ziggy Stardust at 50 - BBC Sounds

...If you can tune out the awful narration inserts by Toyah Wilcox, reading as if English is her 3rd language, reminding us all that she was once a laughable 'actress'... The rest is wonderful, with many actual rarities {Aylesbury September '71 tape, 'Ziggy' interview backstage at TOTP, audio clips from the RCA NYC 1972 press conference, interviews with Kris Needs, Tris Penna, Ken Scott, Marc Almond and more}

Bowie 10 or 11 times! A measly twice for me.

If you haven't heard the excellent BBC Radio 4 programme to mark 50th anniversary of Ziggy Stardust check it out. You won't be disappointed.

Archive on 4 - Ziggy Stardust at 50 - BBC Sounds

...If you can tune out the awful narration inserts by Toyah Wilcox, reading as if English is her 3rd language, reminding us all that she was once a laughable 'actress'... The rest is wonderful, with many actual rarities {Aylesbury September '71 tape, 'Ziggy' interview backstage at TOTP, audio clips from the RCA NYC 1972 press conference, interviews with Kris Needs, Tris Penna, Ken Scott, Marc Almond and more}
I had not heard that. Will give it a listen over the weekend. Thx.
Strangely enough my favourite concert of them all was the much maligned Glass Spider Tour which I saw at wembley.
A combination of the show itself and the whole weekend in London is one of my all time best memories.

2 of the shows were tin machine but I still count ‘em 😍

Tin Machine at Livingston.
Some time back.

Exciting but not enough to give me a stalker.

Wish I had seen Bowie more times than the once I did him in concert at Ingliston on the Sound and Vision Hits tour in 1990 just before he done Tin Machine. He was a complete one off. I wouldn't in all honesty say I was a massive fan, but I was definitely a fan.

Tin Machine at Livingston.
Some time back.

Exciting but not enough to give me a stalker.
I was at that show
Yes I was the one wi the stalker

Wish I had seen Bowie more times than the once I did him in concert at Ingliston on the Sound and Vision Hits tour in 1990 just before he done Tin Machine. He was a complete one off. I wouldn't in all honesty say I was a massive fan, but I was definitely a fan.
I was at that show also.
Front row as it happens.
Great night

Be interested to hear what Craig Ferguson was like. I used to like him but was shocked to see what a smarmy wanker he seems to have turned into on American tv.
I’ll post an update after the show.
Not a big fan, but a pal of mine was going and invited me along. Why not.

I was at that show
Yes I was the one wi the stalker
Aye?

Small world.
I was involved in organising it, much as they tried to keep me out.

Wet Wet Wet was another show there.
Never had a hard on for them either although it was a decent night.

Aye?

Small world.

I stayed out all night to get tickets
At the venue in livi.
Stranglers were playing that night as I was queuing. Luckily my mate was at the stranglers gig and afterwards topped up my carry oot and got me a fish supper.
Quality

Aye?

Small world.

Aye difficult to get too excited when it’s wet wet wet

I did and Newhoose did,along with his brother Alan Tolmie and Julie Richard.Was very good.I heard there was a brawl?I never noticed.Julie said it happened right in front of us.
Was that near the front? I was right up the front and noticed a couple of fannies having a bit of handbags.

It's a compilation covering their music before people turned onto them with their 4th album "His 'n' Hers" in 1994. The comp. came out after the 1996 follow up "Different Class" went massive. Don't think I have heard more than a couple of those early tracks. Is it any good?
i think it's good.

My next few gigs are a bit of a bizarre mix
Rod Stewart
Billy bragg
Springsteen

Also going to see Craig Ferguson comedy standup.. not sure what to expect at that
Bing Hitler?

I got in to that gig at Ingliston for nowt. In fact I got paid to be there. Same with U2 and the Pogues at Murrayfield. Even had a wee backstage blether wi Bono.

I was at the Sound and Vision hits tour at Ingleston as well.

I got in to that gig at Ingliston for nowt. In fact I got paid to be there. Same with U2 and the Pogues at Murrayfield. Even had a wee backstage blether wi Bono.
I was at the U2 gig at Murrayfield and unusually for stadium gigs i thought U2 were great that night

A few years back, I binge-watched some of his Late Late Shows on YouTube, and although he was very hammy with corny jokes n all, I was impressed by his interviews with gorgeous ladies.

Always a step ahead in the flirting stakes, most of tgese stars just went with him and some hilarious conversations were the result, really rotfl stuff!

That said, if he ain't got Katy Perry or somesuch on stage with him, stay near an exit door...

Let us know what it was like tho - he must be gettin on a bit by now too?

Just announced today Billy Joel with Lionel Richie and Sheryl Crow at the Mercedes Benz. Got me some good seats for that!!!

As a fan of all three I would like to see that show...

went to see Joel at madison square last year, it was fantastic.
couldnt really turn down the chance when he was here, especially with those support acts......should be a brawsome night

This looks very interesting. The film is released today....

Have any of yous read the book
Please Kill Me: The Uncensored Oral History of Punk*

It starts in the mid-1960s with the birth of the Velvet Underground in New York, gives a taste of Detroit and the musicians who would become MC5 and the Stooges/Iggy Pop, then comes back to New York for the emergence of the New York Dolls, the Ramones, Patti Smith, Richard Hell, Television, and more.

*i have said book as a PDF and epub file.
Anyone wants a copy pm me with an email addy and I'll forward it on.

This is worth a read as well....

THE OTHER HOLLYWOOD: The Uncensored Oral History of the Porn Film Industry

The film looks good from the trailer ... not sure wtf Billy Idol is doing there though

🤣🤣

Real Life by Magazine. Finest post-punk band imho. Kind of forgotten now but their first 3 studio albums are all stone cold classics and Shot By Both Sides maybe one of my favourite singles of all time.

Interestingly "Shot By Both Sides" and another of the best tracks from that 1st album (The Light Pours Out of Me") were co written by Pete Shelley from The Buzzcocks and off course Howard Devoto was in the Buzzcocks at the time of the Spiral Scratch E.P.

Watched The Beatles Get back documentary recently and still blown away by it. In my opinion the greatest band ever. Seen hundreds of concerts, missed many I wish I was at but oh to be on the roof that day. McCartney absolutely immense here.

I'll never get sick of youtube. Been smiling since I found this a few minutes ago....

I'm a metal boy at heart but turning into a bit of a folkie as I get auld - this combines both imo, plenty energy.

Pished and soppy noo

I refuse to believe anyone can watch this without tapping their taes

A Man Of Constant Sorrow by the Soggy Bottom Boys.

I've been enjoying Elvis Costello's new album. A bit of return to form for the auld yin. Worth checking out if you were a fan of the My Aim is True, This Year's Model era. There's nothing quite as iconic as Pump it Up but some great pop-punk, new wave bangers on this.

Big G. For you and I. And one or two others.

Any of yous heard of this lassie before. Back in the 30's. So What by The Anti Nowhere League pales in comparison.....

Lucille Bogan was a singer who began her career recording vaudeville songs in 1923, but by 1930 she had transitioned herself into a blues singer whose lyrics focused on then-risqué themes like sex, prostitution, drinking, adultery, and lesbianism.

In March 1935, Lucille (along with her long-time collaborator, pianist Walter Roland) recorded one of her final and best-known songs, the infamous

“Shave ‘Em Dry.”

I got nipples on my titties, big as the end of my thumb,
I got somethin' between my legs'll make a dead man come,
Oh daddy, baby won't you shave 'em dry?

Or the all time classic

Till The Cows Come Home

I got a man I love
I got a man I like
Every time I fuck them mens
I give 'em the doggone clap
Oh, baby
Give 'em the doggone clap

But that's the kind of pussy that they really like

This thread has been viewed 281731 times.