We have The Miracle Cure for Everything but, where's the motivation?

Brainwrong

Spaktacuradge
Doctors urged to promote the 'miracle cure' of regular exercise | Society | The Guardian

It seems regular exercise is really good for you...

"...The report, entitled The miracle cure and the role of the doctor in promoting it, points to evidence that exercise prevents a whole range of diseases. Regular exercise can prevent dementia, type-2 diabetes, some cancers, depression, heart disease and other serious common conditions reducing the risk of each by at least 30%. This is better than many drugs, it says.

Regular exercise can cut an individuals risk of breast cancer by 25% and the risk of bowel cancer by 45%. It can reduce the chances of ever getting dementia or having a stroke by 30%, says the report. It also cuts the risk of high blood pressure or type-2 diabetes by 50%..."

I find the motivation to do exercise comes and goes, there's no massive rhyme or reason to it. Work is uphill all the way so I've not cycled to work since August last year. Started running tail end of last year and really enjoyed it. But, just trailed off as everything got busier and more hectic in my life and with the twins arriving this year I've got an arsenal of excuses all lined up. But, more 'buts'; I could easily fit 15/20 mins running in a few times a week. I could do the cycle too. I just can't be fucked.

What is the evolutionary function of being a lazy prick? Why should doctors have to tell us that exercise is good for us? Why are we so wilfully ignorant to the benefits of exercise and the costs of avoiding it?

Well I'm just back from the gym I hate it but it needs to be done, 3rd visit this week and I've being doing that for the last 9 months or so, obviously missed a few visits.

Of course I feel a benefit.

I was listening to the wireless in my wee van a couple of weeks ago when they were discussing this. I was really surprised at most of the callers were in the 'I know I should do more exercise but how dare they tell me what exercise I should be doing. Most doctors [other health professionals are available] are fat and unfit and in no position to lecture any of us.'

To be fair I was in the Leith Community Treatment Centre last Friday and I could see where they were coming from! I reckon my BMI would have been amongst the lowest!

It's like most things though, the motivation to do something must start from within. Although for a lot of folk it would seem that's only going to come when it's too late, after a stroke, heart attack or whatever.

It's amazing how much people spend on diets etc when it's quite obvious that regular exercise and eating in moderate quantities, while avoiding too much obviously unhealthy food is pretty much all that's required. On top of that, don't smoke and drink in moderation and you're pretty much doing everything that can be done - most ailments being that thing we cannot contemplate these days; outside our control or influence.

Well I'm just back from the gym I hate it but it needs to be done, 3rd visit this week and I've being doing that for the last 9 months or so, obviously missed a few visits.

america-fitness-s.jpg

Nice pic :rollfloor

It's amazing how much people spend on diets etc when it's quite obvious that regular exercise and eating in moderate quantities, while avoiding too much obviously unhealthy food is pretty much all that's required. On top of that, don't smoke and drink in moderation and you're pretty much doing everything that can be done - most ailments being that thing we cannot contemplate these days; outside our control or influence.

Re the bold bit, I never did smoke in moderation and I still don't drink in moderation either :giggle:

america-fitness-s.jpg

The picture is funny and rings a bell with me- at my gym there's a lift (only 2 floors in the building) and LOADS of people use the lift. It used to annoy me, and folk who go to the pool and just stand gabbing all the time, or the super obese folk who do a 2.8 mph workout on the treadmill. But hey, at least they are doing something I suppose.

For me, the trick to avoid the boredom of the gym is to switch routines every so often. I do running, do swimming, do cycling and lately its been doing yoga. Yoga has been a total revelation. I thought I was fit but yoga highlighted how tight and sore most my body is - Too much time hunched over the computer either doing accounts or trying to work out just what the heck you or Gareth's latest post is actually about.

I do draw the line at doing the Zumba class but quite enjoy watching it.

I've been pretty much a fitness fanatic since my early 20's...I do a fitness class once a week (Bodypump...fantastic high energy work-out), I swim at least once a week, and work at out my weights-club at least once a week and I have been doing all this for years. I have never touched a cigarette in my life (detest even the smell of smoke so it was never going to be an option for me), and I hardly ever drink now although I used to drink more when I was younger. My diet isn't great to be honest, but I try to eat reasonably sensibly. Even doing all that I know I could drop deid tomorrow, it's just that I feel it's worth trying to look after your body as much as possible and try to live as healthy a lifestyle as you can. It does require a fair amount of self-discipline but I've always been quite self-disciplined anyway. At 50 years old now I still feel as good as I did when I was 20.

I've been pretty much a fitness fanatic since my early 20's...I do a fitness class once a week (Bodypump...fantastic high energy work-out), I swim at least once a week, and work at out my weights-club at least once a week and I have ben doing all this for years. I have never touched a cigarette in my life (detest even the smell of smoke so it was never going to be an option for me), and I hardly ever drink now although I used to drink more when I was younger. My diet isn't great to be honest, but I try to eat reasonably sensibly. Even doing all that I know I could drop deid tomorrow, it's just that I feel it's worth trying to look after your body as much as possible and try to live as healthy a lifestyle as you can. It does require a fair amount of self-discipline but I've always been quite self-disciplined anyway. At 50 years old now I still feel as good as I did when I was 20.

You're definitely going to have a long lifespan.

Or it is certainly going to seem like it.

Nice pic :rollfloor

Re the bold bit, I never did smoke in moderation and I still don't drink in moderation either :giggle:
lol. I may have inadvertently given the impression that this is my approach to life. Sadly not, but I am aware of what I am choosing not to do!

I had a brief inclination recently to go to the gym - it took a few swift shandies and a tab or two to get over the experience.

lol. I may have inadvertently given the impression that this is my approach to life. Sadly not, but I am aware of what I am choosing not to do!

I had a brief inclination recently to go to the gym - it took a few swift shandies and a tab or two to get over the experience.

Naw, took a blocked coronary for me tae finally gie up the tabs, that's how hooked. And jist bought a vaporisor for the spliff today, we'll see how that goes...:smoke:

For the rest - or more accuratelyfor the exercise - I'm a part-time postie as I spend the rest of the working week in front of a computer screen on ma bum. Couldnae hack the boredom of the gym and too many 'war' wounds to play ball sports anymore :(

[PS where/how did ye find the pic? 'Litterally' lol'd :)]

You're not all bad after all ;-)