We Are Not Comfortable Discussing Ourselves

Carluke_Hibee

The good people of this board have a lot to say on religion and politics, and the subsequent current affairs in far off lands.

So, why are we so uncomfortable discussing our own 'issues' surrounding religion?

The good people of this board have a lot to say on religion and politics, and the subsequent current affairs in far off lands.

So, why are we so uncomfortable discussing our own 'issues' surrounding religion?

I don't get uncomfortable with religion.

To me it's all shit.

I don't think I have 'issues' with religion either, other than a lack of understanding of zealots fanatics and extremists.

And it is mostly shit I agree.

I'm comfortable with that though.

I don't get uncomfortable with religion.

To me it's all shit.

I tend to agree about it all being shit, but it's a topical issue for everyone.

Like it or lump it, it's always there simmering underneath the surface, somewhere.

There were people on this board commenting on the rights of the Hillsborough victims, and at the same time, unbelievably, commenting on the Bloody Sunday Murder Enquiry thread stating that it's been 40 years, so why drag it up now?

That, for me, is a glaring and unfortunate example of how close to the surface religious intolerance simmers away, even on this board.

I,ve no problem discussing religion. I dont believe in god or whatever religions decide to call him/her/it. Dinnae believe in heaven either. I believe there was a guy called Jesus who was probably a good orator and maybe convinced folk he was the son of some god or other. It wouldnae be that hard though, his ma convinced everybody she was a virgin(aye right mary!) Just my personal view though. I,ve no beef wae folk that do and as long as they dont try and prattle on tae me about it. Unlike the guy a couple of years ago who proceeded to call me a sinner and i would go to hell when i challenged his preachings, turns out his god and him where the hateful type. Luckily my wife was with me and he only got told to stick his bible up his arse rather than me slap him in the puss wae it.

I'm a non-believer
But it's not a thing you go shouting about because it gets the believers upset when you point out the whole fairy story nonsense which it all is. Also some people take great comfort,from their religious beliefs so its best left alone

Most religions appear to be built on guilt IMO, which is a very destructive emotion

I tend to agree about it all being shit, but it's a topical issue for everyone.

Like it or lump it, it's always there simmering underneath the surface, somewhere.

There were people on this board commenting on the rights of the Hillsborough victims, and at the same time, unbelievably, commenting on the Bloody Sunday Murder Enquiry thread stating that it's been 40 years, so why drag it up now?

That, for me, is a glaring and unfortunate example of how close to the surface religious intolerance simmers away, even on this board.

I remember that thread well. Not your finest hour Carluke. You are persistant i wll give you that. I,m steering clear of this thread from now on, another misleading thread title.:pf:

I don't think I have 'issues' with religion either, other than a lack of understanding of zealots fanatics and extremists.

And it is mostly shit I agree.

I'm comfortable with that though.

Yup, you and me the same - again.

Do unto others as you have have them do unto you. Probably in every Holy book until it gets in the way of doing the exact opposite.

I remember that thread well. Not your finest hour Carluke. You are persistant i wll give you that. I,m steering clear of this thread from now on, another misleading thread title.:pf:

I actually felt that it wasn't the finest hour of the people on the Bounce to publicly decry the investigation into the authoritarian cover up of the deaths of innocents, with the time elapsed as the given reasons, whilst a thread running about the exact same thing, an authoritarian cover up of innocent deaths attracted support from some of the very same people.

And I think your quote gives credence to the thread title, don't you?

The very fact that I'm receiving 'malicious and menacing' communications (as we speak) is also suggestive that the thread title is spot on.:banger:

I actually felt that it wasn't the finest hour of the people on the Bounce to publicly decry the investigation into the authoritarian cover up of the deaths of innocents, with the time elapsed as the given reasons, whilst a thread running about the exact same thing, an authoritarian cover up of innocent deaths attracted support from some of the very same people.

Not really C, thread title is about religion but your now talking about the Hillsborough tragedy?!?!? Not really the same are they?

Not really. If you had made it clear you wanted to bring up bloody sunday again i would have steered well clear from the start, but you asked why we dont discuss religion not alleged murders and people dying at football matches.

First, I don't know what you mean; it's discussed endlessly.

Secondly, your bloody sunday example is a bizarre one; the main exponents of intolerance of religion on this board would probably be on your side of that argument.

Not really C, thread title is about religion but your now talking about the Hillsborough tragedy?!?!? Not really the same are they?

Dave, I am pointing out a comparison which I feel is more than valid.

When I started the thread it was never intended to have any religious or sectarian overtones. It was simply the fact that a contrived travesty of justice had finally seen the light of truth, a victory for the common man wouldn't you agree?

Dave, I remember you were one of the first to post a reply on that thread, clearly suggesting that it was a hotbed topic and one which you would be steering clear of, so.....

Doesn't that prove the title of this thread?

First, I don't know what you mean; it's discussed endlessly.

Secondly, your bloody sunday example is a bizarre one; the main exponents of intolerance of religion on this board would probably be on your side of that argument.

No it certainly is no discussed endlessly. Please feel free to provide me with links to these threads which openly discuss our own religious and sectarian issues, as Hibs fans.

I for one, ain't as naive to believe that we don't have sectarian thoughts in our midst.

How can we comment about what is wrong, and needed to correct situations in other countries and other cultures, if we aren't comfortable discussing our own?

not a believer on the magic man in the sky, but each to their own, nothing wrong with believing if you so wish, and I don't believe bloody sunday had anything to with religion anyway

The reason I stayed clear from posting on that thread C has nothing to do with religion or religious intolerance mate. Personally I have no problems with people observing whatever faith they like, I consider myself to be agnostic. I firmly believe in the spirit and angel world, but do not believe in God, the Devil, heaven or hell.

As my niece famously said to a work colleague regarding the up and coming visit of the Pope "I'm not really interested. In fact I think I'm an anaesthetist".

Me too.

No it certainly is no discussed endlessly. Please feel free to provide me with links to these threads which openly discuss our own religious and sectarian issues, as Hibs fans.

I for one, ain't as naive to believe that we don't have sectarian thoughts in our midst.

How can we comment about what is wrong, and needed to correct situations in other countries and other cultures, if we aren't comfortable discussing our own?

Not sure we have religious issues within the Hibs support given how diverse we seem to be.

I've heard sectarian stuff but each and every time its been confronted, as have racist remarks.

I think you're right though, scratch the surface and there are those who are intolerant, but personally I think they're getting the message. Not sure what can be done about folk who keep their thoughts to themselves - pretty hard to identify and challenge.

As my niece famously said to a work colleague regarding the up and coming visit of the Pope "I'm not really interested. In fact I think I'm an anaesthetist".

Me too.

I think you're right. You certainly leave me feeling numb at times. :rascal:

not a believer on the magic man in the sky, but each to their own, nothing wrong with believing if you so wish, and I don't believe bloody sunday had anything to with religion anyway

The subsequent cover up did though, that's well documented.

come off it. there may not have been many recently - a kind of spontaneous detente has sprung up (i believe) due to the main protagonists being bored of going over the same old ground - but various anti religion types banging away and me and one or two others banging back have been a cowshed staple.

Unbelievable torrent of abuse and threats incoming in PM.

Thread title not far wrong then eh?

Well, I don't believe you would make it up, but I am very surprised - to say the least.

I tend not to ever get involved in discussions about religion now, because I am of the opinion that a person's religious belief or otherwise is an totally personal matter. You either have a religious belief or you don't. If people ask me what I am I tell them I am a christian and a practising Roman Catholic and just leave it at that. My faith is not up for debate or discussion as far as I am concerned and never will be, and for me it's an entirely private affair.

Unbelievable torrent of abuse and threats incoming in PM.

Thread title not far wrong then eh?

I dont agree with the abuse and threats. They should maybe make their points on the thread instead.

Are you saying Hibs fans ( or part of it) are anti-catholic?
You seem to be tearing yourself up about something You start a thread , get replies to your question, then go off on some radge tangent. You've hijacked your own thread :rollfloor

I'm sure there are some fans of every club in Scotland who have divisive views on religion and sectarianism.

What I'm asking is, why is it too much for us to discuss without it blowing up?

Of course some are; it's been demonstrated a thousand times in the history of the cowshed. Never, that I can recall, by a protestant hibbie. It's the same on the celtic board for that matter - though i suspect the vocal sorts on there are rather more circumspect at celtic park.

I tend not to ever get involved in discussions about religion now, because I am of the opinion that a person's religious belief or otherwise is an totally personal matter. You either have a religious belief or you don't. If people ask me what I am I tell them I am a christian and a practising Roman Catholic and just leave it at that. My faith is not up for debate or discussion as far as I am concerned and never will be, and for me it's an entirely private affair.

This is the way I try to be except I don't use the term Roman. I've only ever had a few shocking incidents related to faith.

The first was in KFC in Bangor, Co. Down. I was served by a girl no older than 16. When she heard my accent she gave me the most evil stare. If looks could kill, I'd have been dead on the floor. After what felt like a couple of minutes I just repeated my order and she served me. I was shocked because she was too young to remember the troubles.

When I lived in the North of England, I went out to the pub to watch an old firm game. There were only two pubs showing it, a rangers pub and a Celtic pub. Naturally, I felt safer in the Celtic pub. In the middle of the game, a hun walked in and punched the barmaid. A regular dragged him to the floor and kicked the shit out of him. Then the cops arrived followed by a load of hun fans. I was abused into the ground for being catholic. What shocked me was that there was a cop standing beside the huns laughing his head off.

Of course some are; it's been demonstrated a thousand times in the history of the cowshed. Never, that I can recall, by a protestant hibbie. It's the same on the celtic board for that matter - though i suspect the vocal sorts on there are rather more circumspect at celtic park.

So if it's no Protestants, then who is spouting anti catholic stuff?

I have been on the receiving end of abuse from both protestant and catholics, who wrongly assumed to much knowing little about me, never in Edinburgh right enough, mainly in the west, and in london and NI