Watching BBC 2 prog

greencol

Almost knackered radge.
One Hit Wonders.
Any that took your fancy over the years?
Fiction Factorys Feels Like Heaven.
Though not a lover of 80's music this one was VG.
Peter Sarstedt with Where do you go to my Lovely.
Sinead O'Connor. Nothing Compares.
Probably more to come if i think about it for a day or two.

Any more for any more?

One Hit Wonders.
Any that took your fancy over the years?
Fiction Factorys Feels Like Heaven.
Though not a lover of 80's music this one was VG.
Peter Sarstedt with Where do you go to my Lovely.
Sinead O'Connor. Nothing Compares.
Probably more to come if i think about it for a day or two.

Any more for any more?
Have enjoyed many over the years! Top of head the now, will also return and update:

The La's - There She Goes
PM Dawn - Set Adrift On Memory Bliss
New Radicals - Get What You Give
Deep Blue Something - Breakfast at Tiffany's
Cornershop - Brimful of Asha (Fatboy Slim remix but still qualifies imo)
Rui Da Silva - Touch Me

Norman Greenbaum - Spirit in the Sky

Freda Payne - Band of Gold

David McWilliams- Days of Pearly Spencer

Back in 1967 before high tech digital effects McWilliams got the sound he was after by singing part of the song from a public phone box near the recording studio.Class.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Ryan Paris - Dolce Vita

Bloody love the 80s and not in an “imagined nostalgia” kind of way like yon millennials. This is a little heard beauty. Has it all, the synth, the video, the outfits 😍

JoJo Gunne - Run Run Run.
Redbone - Come and Get Your Love.
Lou Vega _ Mambo Number 5

Norman Greenbaum - Spirit in the Sky

Freda Payne - Band of Gold

David McWilliams- Days of Pearly Spencer

Back in 1967 before high tech digital effects McWilliams got the sound he was after by singing part of the song from a public phone box near the recording studio.Class.
A wee bit music trivia folks. I was an avid listener of Radios Caroline and Luxemburg from the age of 14 or so. The pirate station was where I first heard Pearly Spencer. It was banned by the BBC in '67. Why ban a song about a homeless man Mcwilliam met in Ballymena? Well both the BBC and Wilson's government were at war with illegal pirates. One of the songs promoters, a guy called Soloman was on Caroline's management team. With no playtime on the BBC it failed to chart in the UK however Caroline said fuck their musical cersorship and played it constantly. Of course it could not just be heard by listeners in the UK but also across Europe, hence No 1 in France and top 10 in many other European countries. One in the eye of the BBC.
Those who were not around or perhaps even born in '67 will perhaps remember the excellent cover and video by Marc Almond in '92. Ironically in my opinion, as a response to the pirates extensive coverage of pop, rock and alternative coverage by the pirates the BBC launched Radio 1 in September '67, hosted by ex Caroline DJ Tony Blackburn!. What the promptly did was to ban from it Scott Walker’s '67 cover of 'Jackie' by the billiant Belgian songsmith Jacques Brel song from Radio 1, censored due to lyrics referencing "authentic queers" and "phony virgins," which were deemed inappropriate for broadcasting. More irony Jackie was also recorded by Marc Almond in '90 . I may be wrong but I think that probably makes Almond unique in having hits with two previously banned songs.
I've not AI'd this it's just my heids chock a block with useless musical shite.

did Blue toon play bass in Fat Larry's band?
No, Larry himself was an excellent bass player - but I did help their roadie out one weekend which I’ll never forget. A Campari promotion where they were playing in the Granada Lounge where he/we tried everything to get a taste for the stuff - Lager and Campari, whisky and Campari, gin and Campari - you name it, we tried it. So drunk I could barely speak - God knows how I managed my white pudding supper afterwards.

Jim probably walked out stone cold!
Went to party one evening post gig at the home of the guy whose place I took in the band.
Everyone was pissed as farts and conked out wherever they lay.
Next morning , I was making coffee for the multi hangovers about to wake.
Jim woke up from his slumbers and said' jesus. I'm thirsty'.
I said the coffee was coming.
He said " nah, it's ok, this will do'.
then necked a half bottle of Bells.
IIRC, I puked........

Jim probably walked out stone cold!
Went to party one evening post gig at the home of the guy whose place I took in the band.
Everyone was pissed as farts and conked out wherever they lay.
Next morning , I was making coffee for the multi hangovers about to wake.
Jim woke up from his slumbers and said' jesus. I'm thirsty'.
I said the coffee was coming.
He said " nah, it's ok, this will do'.
then necked a half bottle of Bells.
IIRC, I puked......
Aye Jim was some man in the vicinity of drink. R.I.P.

A wee bit music trivia folks. I was an avid listener of Radios Caroline and Luxemburg from the age of 14 or so. The pirate station was where I first heard Pearly Spencer. It was banned by the BBC in '67. Why ban a song about a homeless man Mcwilliam met in Ballymena? Well both the BBC and Wilson's government were at war with illegal pirates. One of the songs promoters, a guy called Soloman was on Caroline's management team. With no playtime on the BBC it failed to chart in the UK however Caroline said fuck their musical cersorship and played it constantly. Of course it could not just be heard by listeners in the UK but also across Europe, hence No 1 in France and top 10 in many other European countries. One in the eye of the BBC.
Those who were not around or perhaps even born in '67 will perhaps remember the excellent cover and video by Marc Almond in '92. Ironically in my opinion, as a response to the pirates extensive coverage of pop, rock and alternative coverage by the pirates the BBC launched Radio 1 in September '67, hosted by ex Caroline DJ Tony Blackburn!. What the promptly did was to ban from it Scott Walker’s '67 cover of 'Jackie' by the billiant Belgian songsmith Jacques Brel song from Radio 1, censored due to lyrics referencing "authentic queers" and "phony virgins," which were deemed inappropriate for broadcasting. More irony Jackie was also recorded by Marc Almond in '90 . I may be wrong but I think that probably makes Almond unique in having hits with two previously banned songs.
I've not AI'd this it's just my heids chock a block with useless musical shite.

Barry tune