VAR

Hammi

Cable Selling Radge
Is there any scope for clubs to have input on its utilisation in the close season?

There must be some kind of review to be done after it's first stint in use.

It's a total cluster fuck, every club, even Hunco and Celtic will have some kind of evidence that added together will show a pattern of complete failure.

It can't be set in stone that this is how it operates from now until forever. It has to adapt and grow. I just hope we have a seat at that table with our evidence in hand.

Useless *&*^

Did you not agree with the introduction of var?
I definitely seen what was going to happen.
Even saying that this is not what it was meant for etc, this is exactly what i knew would happen irrelevant of whatever it was supposed to be used for.
The media help in any way if it goes against them and ignores anything t that shouldn’t go to them or decisions which should have went against them.

Did you not agree with the introduction of var?
I definitely seen what was going to happen.
Even saying that this is not what it was meant for etc, this is exactly what i knew would happen irrelevant of whatever it was supposed to be used for.
The media help in any way if it goes against them and ignores anything t that shouldn’t go to them or decisions which should have went against them.

I was against it up here, I said all along that it would be over scrutinised to benefit certain clubs.

Still being run by the same idiots that run our game, which is why its so poorly used.

Which is why I'm asking if the clubs get an input into the first review.

I was an early supporter of the introduction of VAR to the Scottish game. Anything that would help stamp out cheating and rein in our incompetent/corrupt refs had to be a good thing I thought. When I found out it would be the very same refs operating the system my thoughts changed from support to "keep this away from our game" VAR quite obviously needs a root and branch overhaul. A lot hate it in England but unsure how it's viewed abroad.
The first thing I would do is take it out the hands of the officials. Give each manager 3 claims per half and an independent person (as far as that is possible in Scotland) making the decisions.
I believe FIFA are the overall arbiters of VAR so I don't know how much leeway each nation has to tweak the rules.

I was an early supporter of the introduction of VAR to the Scottish game. Anything that would help stamp out cheating and rein in our incompetent/corrupt refs had to be a good thing I thought. When I found out it would be the very same refs operating the system my thoughts changed from support to "keep this away from our game" VAR quite obviously needs a root and branch overhaul. A lot hate it in England but unsure how it's viewed abroad.
The first thing I would do is take it out the hands of the officials. Give each manager 3 claims per half and an independent person (as far as that is possible in Scotland) making the decisions.
I believe FIFA are the overall arbiters of VAR so I don't know how much leeway each nation has to tweak the rules.
I like that 3 challenges per half per team idea. Worth further thought.

Really, could it make things worse?

No, obvs.

I like that 3 challenges per half per team idea. Worth further thought.

Really, could it make things worse?

No, obvs.
The manager only person allowed to make the call. A quick word to the 4th official and he tells the ref to stop the game. If the check proves to be bollocks you've lost one of your challenges. If upheld you still have three. Works in tennis and see no reason why it shouldn't work in football. The whole point is to take the power away from some shitey ref sitting at the VAR screen and handing it to each manager and an independent adjudicator. The managers would soon learn which challenges are likely to be upheld so just claiming for any old nonsense shouldn't be a thing.
Edit... And just to add it would hopefully speed the whole process up if you didn't have an official searching for a reason to favour the Hun.

They wid just put a “friendly” in as an independent person. Dinnae ken the answer but I dinnae see them changing anything as long as it’s working for the cvnts it’s working for.

The manager only person allowed to make the call. A quick word to the 4th official and he tells the ref to stop the game. If the check proves to be bollocks you've lost one of your challenges. If upheld you still have three. Works in tennis and see no reason why it shouldn't work in football. The whole point is to take the power away from some shitey ref sitting at the VAR screen and handing it to each manager and an independent adjudicator. The managers would soon learn which challenges are likely to be upheld so just claiming for any old nonsense shouldn't be a thing.
Edit... And just to add it would hopefully speed the whole process up if you didn't have an official searching for a reason to favour the Hun.
Of course, you would then get down to the nitty gritty finer detail... like what kind of decisions can the manager challenge?

And more importantly, which scenarios would not be challengeable.

Youan yesterday got a wrong 2nd yellow. But if VAR works the same in Scotland as in England, the only decision you can check is whether the card should be red or yellow.

Even if as with Youan there was a foul first from the hun - but that matters not a jot? Daft, that.

Sheffield Utd v Blackburn on telly just now.
VAR penalty.
Every league using it is having problems.

A cracker from the MLS yesterday.
Montreal v Philadelphia Union.
Montreal score to equalise.
Ref goes to VAR.
No goal he says.
Ref goes back to VAR.
Goal after all.
Lol.

Var discussed on STV , Dalglish and Swalley pointing out dodgy decisions at weekend, not a mention of youan’s sending off 😡

Dundee United want it looked at.Coisty wants rid.

Ally wants rid because it's highlighting some outrageously blatant decisions in their favour.
Can't hide behind human error anymore. There's no excuse.
It's obviously not just here that there's serious issues, but the only league I'm interested in is ours and there definitely appears to be an appetite to help Hunco mathematically stay in the race.

Seen this shit coming a mile away, I thought they'd be a bit more subtle about it, but they just don't care.

Ally wants rid because it's highlighting some outrageously blatant decisions in their favour.
Can't hide behind human error anymore. There's no excuse.
It's obviously not just here that there's serious issues, but the only league I'm interested in is ours and there definitely appears to be an appetite to help Hunco mathematically stay in the race.

Seen this shit coming a mile away, I thought they'd be a bit more subtle about it, but they just don't care.

The standard of refereeing in this country has long been a disgrace. At a time when footballers are becoming better athletes by the year, their complete lack of fitness is brutally exposed. Throw in a lack of understanding of the rules, or at least how to apply them properly, and a good bit of overt bias, and we have this current shit show.

VAR isn’t the problem, it’s an inanimate object. The problem is the unprofessional, amateur officials running (ruining) our professional football leagues.

Always said it has to be independently operated to be effectively managed. Other sports that use this type technologies don’t have the same problems.

simples, it’s the clowns operating it.

VAR worked well when used in our game on Saturday and Hibs suffered fatally from two incidents that the referee didn't get to review under the current VAR protocols.
The current protocols do not allow VAR to be used for yellow card incidents hence the Youan second yellow wasn't subject to a VAR review.
The current protocols do not allow VAR to interfere with a referees penalty decision unless he has made a clear and obvious error. Accordingly VAR did not intervene with the Carter-Vickers penalty.

Going back to the red card.
The protocol needs to be amended to allow a VAR review for second yellows given for a single foul.
Both Youan and Slattery of Motherwell would not have been sent off on Saturday had VAR asked the referee to view the incidents on the pitch side monitor.

As regards the Celtic penalty I thought it was the wrong decision and for me the protocol should be amended so that VAR reviews all penalties and shows the referee the relevant footage on the pitchside monitor so that he can review his penalty decision.
There is no way the human eye sees all of this particular incident. You need all the camera angles to assess it.
For me Hanlon was strong as the centre half has to be in these circumstances, he held his ground and Carter-Vickers did a Porteous special.
He forced his way round Hanlon who turned with him in the course of which Carter-Vickers linked arms with him and dived to the ground pulling Hanlon with him so that it looks like he has been fouled.
Had the referee been able to look at it and decided it was still a penalty then fair enough given it is a subjective judgement but like all goals all penalty awards should be subject to a VAR review and a referee viewing.

In conclusion, don't throw the baby out with the bath water.
VAR is about getting the big decisions right and if the protocols are amended to include a review of second yellows for a single foul and all penalty awards it would go a long way to achieving that.

Just use it for goal line technology and let the ref and his assistants run the game. VAR is a lota push.
the whole problem is the administration and backing of incompetent and corrupt refs… which of this is true re the link to cirruot decisions getting made then the admin should be booted out as e we all know it’s happened for years and even when they had the chance to sort it with VAR and independents running it, they as per usual couldn’t see past the useless corrupt reds they already had

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

This needs investigated and the media should be all over it. I'll not hold my breath

Just read it in the daily rantic, it wid seem the GFA are mair concerned at Walker/ Sky abusing the link tae the VAR room than they are about the actual reason he said anything.

Is it even abuse of the link?
Isn't this how sky and the likes figure out what's going on?

They're just upset that they've been called out.

I know...but what a joke decision to disallow that goal for a foul.

The decision in real time…I could just about understand.

Is it a clear and obvious error…I’m not sure in the sense there possibly was a foul by morales but the context of giving a foul against morales and not the Celtic defender it’s bizarre

But var looking at that and saying it’s the right decision…we’re clearly doing something wrong

I thought Kyogo looked offside in the build up to the goal…they checked that quick