VAR explained

Doc Shrink

Best ignored
Does Willie Collum still do that wee slot on TV (youtube maybe?) where he explains the contentious VAR decisions of the last weekend?
Any one know where I can see it, it it still happens?

Or is it just when the Old Bigots are complaining.

Does Willie Collum still do that wee slot on TV (youtube maybe?) where he explains the contentious VAR decisions of the last weekend?
Any one know where I can see it, it it still happens?

Or is it just when the Old Bigots are complaining.
I hope so. I'm subscribed to it and watching daily for the latest update
@scottishfaofficial on youtube

Wonder if we'll get an audio release the same way they do when the job gets done properly.

Not interested in Collum telling us it was the wrong decision a week later, I wanna hear what was said on the park!

I want them to justify the decision and then we can continue to call him a wanker with all the evidence behind us.

Wonder if we'll get an audio release the same way they do when the job gets done properly.

Not interested in Collum telling us it was the wrong decision a week later, I wanna hear what was said on the park!

I want them to justify the decision and then we can continue to call him a wanker with all the evidence behind us.
The audio will be along the lines of:
“Wis that a handball?”
“Dunno mate, ah’m watchin Columbo.”
“Well could ye check it?”
“Whit? look at the time man!”
“Aye awright ah’ll gie it a minute then blaw fur full time.”

“Wis that a handball?”
Bastard! Columbo was a fuckin repeat.

“Wis that a handball?”

I'm waiting for it to be

Var
"Gotta bring this back, hand ball"
Wanker
"I saw it, no hand ball, don't need to see the replay"
Var
"You sure, we have footage"
Wanker
Toot toot tooooot "too late"

I think VAR done it's job. Wanker with the whistle refused.

One of the reasons I got fed up with the football, no one,seems to understand the VAR rules and that includes the guffies that made them up.

No different down South. Last season Chelsea score last minute leveller v us from a free kick. One of their players was touching the wall, so it shouldn't have counted,,, apparently VAR didn't spot it. Didn't hear a thing from the ref watch on Sky or head of refs. This season Chelsea let one in from free kick and its disallowed for, you guessed it, someone touching the wall. So Chelsea benefit twice. VAR is just so inconsistant, or it just favours certain clubs.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

I've just got around to watching and listening to that. You can 100%, cast-iron guarantee that if we'd been one of the ugly sisters there, that would have been given as a penalty. Not saying it should have been given, just saying it would've been if it was them.

VAR as a concept sounded so good initially - wow, aye, correct all wrongly-made decisions! - but we totally underestimated the fact it still required these bent bastards to adjudicate it.

How can these so called experts, get it right after the event, but can't get it right during the event?

All the clubs in the top League contribute to its' cost. They shoulld be asking VAR, what the fuck is going on?

So does the referee make the final call?
If the linesman puts his flag,ball goes in the net..that movement was void?

Am i correct?

VAR is a disaster for football.
Can anyone offer one iota of benefit it has had on football as a spectacle since it was introduced ?

I said all this before it was introduced, and nothing I have seen since had made me change my mind.
VAR wasn't needed. All that was required was goal line technology.

We now have people refereeing a match sitting in a studio in another city.
It was introduced as a sop to Sky TV and their hysterical pundits...who have spent decades pressurising and criticising referees trying to do a difficult job to the best of their ability, and basically over scrutinising football for armchair football fans.

I also blame the football authorities who have succeeded by the introduction of some ridiculous and unnecessary rules, in over complicating what is in effect, a very simple game.

Can anyone offer one iota of benefit it has had on football as a spectacle since it was introduced ?

I said all this before it was introduced, and nothing I have seen since had made me change my mind.

It was introduced as a sop to Sky TV and their hysterical pundits...who have spent decades pressurising and criticising referees trying to do a difficult job to the best of their ability, and basically over scrutinising football for armchair football fans.

I also blame the football authorities who have succeeded by the introduction of some ridiculous and unnecessary rules, in over complicating what is in effect, a very simple game.
Dead on the money.
Players make mistakes .
Referees make mistakes.( mostly innocent!)
Let's get back to it.

The genie's out the bottle now though, not sure going back would be feasible with all the replays and camera angles used in VAR still being available to the 'analysts' in their post-VAR musings - the seethe would be even worse if anything in the event of a clearly wrong decision...

Celtics hand ball, worst indisputable var decision ever, must be up there. Really is time to bin it 🤡
Mibby there’s a new rule where if the ball hits you in the face and you should’ve used your hand to stop it but didny, then it’s a non- hand ball offence …….,…joke

Bin var and use the cash for goal line technology only. Time to get real .