U.S. Open

Hattie

Well it's started....
On the run up to it I really fancied Murray for it, as I usually do right enough. But he has had a very good year, playing as well and sometimes better than ever.
But tonight.....2 sets down to an unknown, albeit the guy playing superb but Murray way off the boil.
But as he does, Murray is back in it at 2-2.....
Come on saaan.

Races into a 3-0 lead in 5th set.

5-1
Murray serving for match

7-6...6-4
Then wins 6-1...6-3...6-1
Well done saaan.
Needs good rest now

Yon French guy was decent.

Murray put him in his place in the end.

Good stuff.

Heid cauld apparently. Probably full blawn flu that wid fuck any other gadgie but Murrays Scottish, and a Hibby, plus his wife's up the duff, he cannae afford tae take time off now. Just sayi likes , ken?

He never makes it easy on us, eh?

He's gonnae lose this one.

Mebbe not! This is both enthralling and brutal to watch.

I thought he deserved to be beaten last night tbh, no seen him play so poorly for a while!

The lad should take a year or two away from the game. It was never his talent that won his majors, more sheer determination and fitness. Go take a break and come back with the hunger and desire that he needs to compete at the top.

Rubbish. You can be as determined and fit as you like but without talent in abundance you arent going to win a major. You're unlikely to win the tournament in your llocal tennis club without even a modicum of talent.

Agreed.Murray, arguably, is playing in a game which imo is currently at its pinnacle. He's been unlucky in someways to be surrounded by greats such as Fed, Nadal and now Novak, otherwise he'd have a few more slams to his name along with the 2 he's already won.You can be the fittest person in the world. If you don't have the talent to go along with it then you'll win zip.Murrays proved he has both in abundance. I predict Andy will have a couple more Slams to his name before he retires.

Total rubbish
In case you forgot he was out for months after back surgery last year and has done superb to get back to number 2 in the world.
He has played some brilliant stuff this year, just not in this championship

I'm not saying Murray isn't talented, he's just not as good as guys like Federer and Djokovic. In order to beat these guys he has to be at the absolute top of his game and them not to be. The fact that's he hasn't consistently beat these guys proves this. Maybe I phrased it wrong as Murray is a very talented player, just a step behind the best in the world that's all.

Murray makes the final - Jamie makes the final of the US Open Doubles :applause: As for wee brother, of course he is talented. Ridiculous to suggest otherwise. God help us when he is not around. Doomed to another generation of Buster Mottrams and Annabel Crofts. The one player I can accept he is less "talented" than is Federer. I'd argue the one thing Nadal and Djokovic had over him on many occasions has been their remarkable physicality and athleticism. And a dod of mental fortitude. It hasn't be craftsmanship. And there's more rumours about Nadal than there's been about Paula :giggle: