Travellers to Europe will need to register authorisation

BurbankHibee

From 8 January 2025, visitors from the United States, Canada, Australia and other non-European nations who currently do not need a visa for short stays in the UK will be required to obtain an Electronic Travel Authorisation (ETA) to enter the country. To receive an ETA, travelers must fill out an online form and pay a £10 fee (approximately US $12.75).

WTAF!!!

The justification is bureaucratic bullshit. This is a stealth tax.

Well it's only £10. Add those fees to the WFA savings and the nation will be rolling in the cash.

Valid for 2 years so $10.50 a year isnae bad.
That's right, especially if you go more than once in the two years. But if you change passport you need anew one. And you still queue for ages at US immigration. Flying through Dublin helps with that

Aye, Dublin is better, a lot easier as well as being quicker.

I remember moaning that it wasn't that quick, only to be reminded it was just time we'd be hanging around waiting for the plane anyway. It's so much better than doing it in the US. My worst experience was over two hours as several flights just beat us, where none of the passengers appeared to speak English.

Been there, nightmare, missed the shuttle tae our hotel and waited another hour until another one came.

There was a big Japanese group in front of us. The put your fingers on the pad instruction was met with blank states. After 20m there was an announcement ' could the Japan Airlines rep please come to immigration as a matter of urgency '.