Total disrespect to Super Joe Tortolano

First comment sums it up

yes, pep pretty much invented football, full backs never got forward under any other manager, playing out from the back is another pep invention, sweeper keepers as well, Pep, false 10's, Pep, in fact we should rename the world cup the pep guardiola trophy instead of Jules Rimet - be great if the BBC employed people over 30 years old.

I’m also struggling with the use of “inverted”

Inverted wingers tend to be wingers who play on the “other” side, like Bale playing on the right, and able to cut inside onto his strong foot. This is a product of data driven football deciding crossing isn’t an effective way of creating chances…goes back to modern football is boring.

I’ve read the article and I don’t understand what makes a full back inverted.

I’d go as far as to say the person that wrote the article doesn’t understand either.

How can the BBC have an post devoted to the role of Fullbacks without any mention of Super Joe Tortolano.

Do they not realise that we only have "modern" fullbacks because of Alex Miller moving Joe into the Left back slot at Easter Road, a period in time which is burnt into the memory of all of us poor souls who attended games in the 80s!
Remember his debut in Clydebank on, I think, a Tuesday night.
@EH17 Jimmy , thought Freddie was getting lifted so I was asking him tae throw me the car keys, polis telt me he was just being thrown oot. He came back in 5 minutes later. :gigglle:

I’m also struggling with the use of “inverted”

Inverted wingers tend to be wingers who play on the “other” side, like Bale playing on the right, and able to cut inside onto his strong foot. This is a product of data driven football deciding crossing isn’t an effective way of creating chances…goes back to modern football is boring.

I’ve read the article and I don’t understand what makes a full back inverted.

I’d go as far as to say the person that wrote the article doesn’t understand either.

It's the commas :grinning-smiley-045:

Remember his debut in Clydebank on, I think, a Tuesday night.
@EH17 Jimmy , thought Freddie was getting lifted so I was asking him tae throw me the car keys, polis telt me he was just being thrown oot. He came back in 5 minutes later. :gigglle:
I'm positive when Torto first arrived we played a pre season up in Brechin or For far and that was the first time i set eyes on super joe

Is it Brechins ground that has the cemetery next to it?

That's where we seen Torto. If i remember he also spotted a mullet

Is it Brechins ground that has the cemetery next to it?

That's where we seen Torto. If i remember he also spotted a mullet
Only been tae the nightclub in Brechin many many years ago. Didnae get a pull. 😫

As has been said, Joe T fell into that category of full-back, now so commonplace, in that he was better going forward than he was defending.
He had a fantastic left-foot an could cross the ball really well.
His awareness was poor though and he just couldn't defend.
Liked the guy though, he gave everything for Hibs.

As has been said, Joe T fell into that category of full-back now so commonplace in that he was better going forward than he was defending.
One of the best crossers of the ball I've seen playing for Hibs. He got a lot of unwarranted stick from some zoomers on the terracing that destroyed his confidence. Idiots.

I clearly remember one cold December day at ER v Falkirk .
3 times in first half Joe failed to control a simple pass on touchline in front of East terracing and it went out for a throw .
The bam ‘supporters ‘ were raging and the abuse was unreal .
His confidence was shot though after the first time he done it .
For some reason that always sticks in my mind - he got it tight often enough and once with Murdo McLeod telling the crowd to calm down but that was the worst abuse of any Hibs player I remember

As has been said, Joe T fell into that category of full-back, now so commonplace, in that he was better going forward than he was defending.
You just couldn't not love him. Had his failings but he had a great cross on him. Scored a few important goals too.

I clearly remember one cold December day at ER v Falkirk .
3 times in first half Joe failed to control a simple pass on touchline in front of East terracing and it went out for a throw .
The bam ‘supporters ‘ were raging and the abuse was unreal .
His confidence was shot though after the first time he done it .
For some reason that always sticks in my mind - he got it tight often enough and once with Murdo McLeod telling the crowd to calm down but that was the worst abuse of any Hibs player I remember
That rings a bell right enough.

Can never understand encouraging our team by telling them they’re shite.

I even waited until Rowan Vine left before agreeing he was indeed a waste of a jersey.

I'm auld and the memory isn't what itbwas but I'm pretty sure he scored a belter against Falkirk at Brockvile he always seemed to play well against them possibly due to him being from Stirling.
Met him a couple of times and he's a decent guy.