TiL about this........
I preferred him in Blackadder.there were only 13 episodes of Mr Benn

And as if by magic... Thethere were only 13 episodes of Mr Benn
And as if by magic... Thevapeshopkeeperdisappeared
Peanuts.
Here’s a fact to blow your mind - peanuts aren’t really nuts at all. Instead, they belong to the legume family, with peas, beans and lentils as their relatives. The word ‘legume’ comes from the French for vegetable.
While most nuts grow on trees, peanuts grow underground. Just over a month after planting, a peanut plant develops yellow flowers, which die just a few days later to reveal ovaries. These then plunge into the soil, where they turn into pods, and each pod contains a pair of peanuts.
Fittingly, before they became commonly called peanuts, they were known as ground nuts or ground peas.
Cinders has a nut allergy and when I showed him about the peanuts thingy he told me his first attack was with eating beans.And despite that, having a nut allergy usually includes peanuts.
Cinders has a nut allergy and when I showed him about the peanuts thingy he told me his first attack was with eating beans.
TIL Tina Turner's Private Dancer was written by Mark Knofler.
Weejie basturt that he is
TILT
He also didnae ken there’s a P in his surnameYou didn't know he was born in Scotland's 2nd city?
He did, I didnaeHe also didnae ken there’s a P in his surname![]()
To be fair the 'P' is silent, as in 'bath'.He also didnae ken there’s a P in his surname![]()
Then there’s the Vibraphone and the MarimbaWas musing today about primary school and the difference between glockenspiel and a xylophone
Decades of mystery has unfolded to the rather boring and obvious answer that
One has metal things you hit and one has wooden
Was musing today about primary school and the difference between glockenspiel and a xylophone
Decades of mystery has unfolded to the rather boring and obvious answer that
One has metal things you hit and one has wooden
You should try upstairs at the Tivoli in Aberdeen - they throw in a free vertigo experience due to the slope too.Today I learned that the seating in Edinburgh Playhouse must have been designed for fuckin midgets. I felt like a racing driver getting shoehorned into a cockpit the seat was so tight and my knees were jammed up against the wooden back of the seat in front. And the speakers were gash answer![]()
The Hydro in the weedge is pretty scary up in the gods too but at least it’s comfortableYou should try upstairs at the Tivoli in Aberdeen - they throw in a free vertigo experience due to the slope too.
Castle for the tattoo had the worst leg room i've ever encountered.Today I learned that the seating in Edinburgh Playhouse must have been designed for fuckin midgets. I felt like a racing driver getting shoehorned into a cockpit the seat was so tight and my knees were jammed up against the wooden back of the seat in front. And the speakers were gash anaw![]()
Also means fartTrumpery derives from the Middle English trompery and ultimately from the Middle French tromper, meaning "to deceive." (You can see the meaning of this root reflected in the French phrase trompe-l'oeil-literally, "deceives the eye"-which in English refers to a style of painting with photographically realistic detail.) Trumpery first appeared in English in the mid-15th century with the meanings "deceit or fraud" (a sense that is now obsolete) and "worthless nonsense." Less than 100 years later, it was being applied to material objects of little or no value. The verb phrase trump up means "to concoct with the intent to deceive," but there is most likely no etymological connection between this phrase and trumpery.
Synonyms of
Relevance
Mid 15th century folk knew what was coming.....
Too much time on your hands?A billion seconds ago was 1994
A trillion seconds ago was 30,000BC

A billion seconds ago was 1994
A trillion seconds ago was 30,000BC
Never heard of Sawney Bean in ma puff. Where did you encounter it then?Watching a wee documentary about Sawney Bean. And I just seen that it is a wee bit of a propaganda from those in Englandshire.....
View attachment 21466