The Wire

Wheat Hound

Radgie, Gadgie, Onion Badgie Radge
Simply the best TV series ever. Just finished watching all 5 seasons for the second time and I picked up even more layers and elements that id missed first time around. The grittiest, most raw yet epic show......here's hoping for one more season.

Spot on!

It's apparently Vince CABLEs favourite show too. Said he was a bit NEUTRAL about it to begin with but, WATT with being such a down to EARTH show, he decided to keep PLUGging away with the CURRENT series.

I watched the first couple of series and it was a good show but to be honest I couldnt understand half of what was being said some of the time so I gave up.

Only 2 out of 5 series could be described absolutely classic (The two featuring Avon Barksdale :fyi:)

The McNulty storyline in the last series was an absolute joke.

I must be the only person in the country the now that doesn't get this boxset culture that people are wasting their downtime with. 'Yeah the first 2 seasons of Dexter are pretty poor but it gets amazing in 3.' So you watch 30 hours of TV before it gets any good??

Think of all the world class, life changing, films you've never seen, records you've never heard and books you could read instead of vegging out to all this HBO glorified soap opera pish for 60 odd hours in a row.

I used to use The Sopranos as an exclusion cos I watched the whole lot over a few weeks when I was ill one year and absolutely loved every second. Tried to rewatch it again recently though and couldn't get past the first episode. Carmela and the priest? Cringey as nowt. Still the best drama series ever but even then you've got to forgive a lot of pishy storylines.

It's apparently Vince CABLEs favourite show too. Said he was a bit NEUTRAL about it to begin with but, WATT with being such a down to EARTH show, he decided to keep PLUGging away with the CURRENT series.

Some fcukin shocking puns there Beagle.

:tuttut:

Only 2 out of 5 series could be described absolutely classic (The two featuring Avon Barksdale :fyi:)

I must be the only person in the country the now that doesn't get this boxset culture that people are wasting their downtime with. 'Yeah the first 2 seasons of Dexter are pretty poor but it gets amazing in 3.' So you watch 30 hours of TV before it gets any good??

Think of all the world class, life changing, films you've never seen, records you've never heard and books you could read instead of vegging out to all this HBO glorified soap opera pish for 60 odd hours in a row.

I used to use The Sopranos as an exclusion cos I watched the whole lot over a few weeks when I was ill one year and absolutely loved every second. Tried to rewatch it again recently though and couldn't get past the first episode. Carmela and the priest? Cringey as nowt. Still the best drama series ever but even then you've got to forgive a lot of pishy storylines.

We've just recently went with sky having been with virgin previously.

The on demand thingy you have with sky, now that you can download full series of shows, is a revelation for me. I've never been one for watching these American shows, basically I'm never in the same place at the same time every week. I'm a channel hopper usually and not really much of a TV junkie.

All change now though. Halfway through series (I refuse to call it a fucking season) 3 of the wire. First 2 seasons of Boardwalk empire consumed. Into the 2nd season of The Sopranos and an arse shaped hole is burned into the couch. I missed/never watched all these things previously. Now we get the wee man off to bed, get the kettle on, open the custard creams and watch 2-3 episodes. It's magico.

We've just recently went with sky having been with virgin previously.

The on demand thingy you have with sky, now that you can download full series of shows, is a revelation for me. I've never been one for watching these American shows, basically I'm never in the same place at the same time every week. I'm a channel hopper usually and not really much of a TV junkie.

All change now though. Halfway through series (I refuse to call it a fucking season) 3 of the wire. First 2 seasons of Boardwalk empire consumed. Into the 2nd season of The Sopranos and an arse shaped hole is burned into the couch. I missed/never watched all these things previously. Now we get the wee man off to bed, get the kettle on, open the custard creams and watch 2-3 episodes. It's magico.

I'm much the same.
:thumbgrin
I downloaded all the Sopranos series and was well through them until the big guy turned up his toes in real life. Reading what a good guy he was made me sad to watch the remaining episodes so I deleted them.
I did however download all the "Rescue Me" series, which I had never heard of but found really entertaining with some really quite funny storylines, and a bit of pathos, and the lovely Andrea Roth (as well as one or two other examples of Top Totty)
:approve:

On a pedantic note though Shades old fella, for someone who refuses to use the term 'season' you fcukin did - twice.
:giggle:

I'm much the same.
:thumbgrin
I downloaded all the Sopranos series and was well through them until the big guy turned up his toes in real life. Reading what a good guy he was made me sad to watch the remaining episodes so I deleted them.
I did however download all the "Rescue Me" series, which I had never heard of but found really entertaining with some really quite funny storylines, and a bit of pathos, and the lovely Andrea Roth (as well as one or two other examples of Top Totty)
:approve:

On a pedantic note though Shades old fella, for someone who refuses to use the term 'season' you fcukin did - twice.
:giggle:

So I did :-). Didn't even realise I was doing it. Proof if ever it was needed that TV turns you into a zombie!

Americanisms invading my sub- concious. That's how it starts. Next I'll have a chip in my brain watching the X factor.

I've just started the 5th season of this - have to say it has been fantastic so far. Better than The Soprano's IMO, there is such a broad range of characters who are all integral to the story one way or another.

The flip side is that after a while, the limitations of the format, mean that films (and indeed records) are so basic and samey that they're boring as feck. Telly gives the space for much more complex stories and character development. Anyway that's my theory for their popularity.

When was the last time that the plot of a film really surprised you? Meanwhile, as I've noted before, I found it interesting to compare the godfather book and film. Both are near identical scene for scene, and key points of dialogue, and yet the book is a pulpy beach novel and the film considered one of the peaks of cinema as art. A neat demonstration of how simplistic film is, by being generally limited to 2 or 3 hours tops.

I do agree that the wire tailed off though. I remain of the view that the shield is better. it gets better and better where the wire peaks early. Ive not watched breaking bad yet but i gather thats what folk say of it too (i.e. better and better). Sopranos I never really got into.

im a sucker for cop shows and another favourite is homicide, from the 90s. made by the guys who went on to make the wire, and in fact the story of the wire series one is basically a retread and expansion of one story within one of the homicide series (where it's a two episode job)

The flip side is that after a while, the limitations of the format, mean that films (and indeed records) are so basic and samey that they're boring as feck. Telly gives the space for much more complex stories and character development. Anyway that's my theory for their popularity.

When was the last time that the plot of a film really surprised you?
Meanwhile, as I've noted before, I found it interesting to compare the godfather book and film. Both are near identical scene for scene, and key points of dialogue, and yet the book is a pulpy beach novel and the film considered one of the peaks of cinema as art. A neat demonstration of how simplistic film is, by being generally limited to 2 or 3 hours tops.

I do agree that the wire tailed off though. I remain of the view that the shield is better. it gets better and better where the wire peaks early. Ive not watched breaking bad yet but i gather thats what folk say of it too (i.e. better and better). Sopranos I never really got into.

im a sucker for cop shows and another favourite is homicide, from the 90s. made by the guys who went on to make the wire, and in fact the story of the wire series one is basically a retread and expansion of one story within one of the homicide series (where it's a two episode job)

My favourite has to be Sixth Sense, really good twist.

Or Titanic perhaps. A fcukin iceberg? Who saw that coming?

Baltimore is one goddam ugly city.

[video=youtube_share;RAP9qFHj6jE]http://youtu.be/RAP9qFHj6jE[/video]

Matched by Detroit in the ugly stakes but at least they had their music to give it a smile.

I sussed sixth sense from a mile off, quite surprised most people don't.

I saw it coming. Pretty obvious really now you mention it.
I meant a good twist for er...... my missus. And her pals probably.
:lookaround:

Notice you said fcukall about the iceberg though eh Mr Film Critic.
:coffee:

That iceberg sunk eventually once the Titanic put a dent in it.

Call it a draw.

I'm on season two of the Wire, and it's a bit of a slog watching it. So far nothing has gripped me at all, and had me wanting to keep watching it. The Shield was another story, couldn't stop watching it.

The Wire was great, apart from the last series, that was just bollocks. Currently nearing the end of a re watching of all the Sopranos, still think its a fantastic show but on a re watch i have fwd through a few things. Halfway through Corleone, loving it so far apart from the addition of Toto's sbirro nemesis (no such person existed in real life). I think he's only included to try and not make the mafia look so cool or badass.

Homocide Life On The Streets was better than the Wire.

They're making a goodfellas series, got a text about it not too long ago. Hoping that's pretty good, but it likely won't be.

Sopranos is still the best thing I've ever watched, there are a few fillers along the way that you could do without though. The ending was horrible though...

Every time I look for a new program to watch the reviews all demand I watch the walking dead, watched the first and second seasons, still can't get into it..

Need to watch the shield and the wire, started breaking bad but can't really get into it, but I've been told to stick with it so I'll restart it sometime.

Lost, sons of anarchy, Southland, boardwalk empire, game of thrones and person of interest are the other programs I watch, or have watched that I like.

Agree - great series but the 5th series and in particular the McNulty storyline was utter nonsense! Could they go back and make another? Maybe bring back 'the greek' from series 2?!

David Simon's book Homicide got rave reviews but I found it absolute torture, really heavy going and dull.

I'm into the 5th series of Breaking Bad (got 4 or 5 episodes to go) and it is utterly brilliant so far.

Some of the twists have been completely out of the blue and the way it relates back to previous episodes/series is really, really well done.

When was the last time that the plot of a film really surprised you? Meanwhile, as I've noted before, I found it interesting to compare the godfather book and film. Both are near identical scene for scene, and key points of dialogue, and yet the book is a pulpy beach novel and the film considered one of the peaks of cinema as art. A neat demonstration of how simplistic film is, by being generally limited to 2 or 3 hours tops.

Is there not some theory that there's only 6 or 7 stories in the whole of fiction?

So agree not really suprised anymore but the padding needed to fill out these series is beyond a joke. The best pop tunes need no more than 4 mins to tell you their story, films 2 hrs- the amount of filler in 60hrs of TV is more than I can be bothered with.

They're making a goodfellas series, got a text about it not too long ago. Hoping that's pretty good, but it likely won't be.

Sopranos is still the best thing I've ever watched, there are a few fillers along the way that you could do without though. The ending was horrible though...

Every time I look for a new program to watch the reviews all demand I watch the walking dead, watched the first and second seasons, still can't get into it..

Need to watch the shield and the wire, started breaking bad but can't really get into it, but I've been told to stick with it so I'll restart it sometime.

Lost, sons of anarchy, Southland, boardwalk empire, game of thrones and person of interest are the other programs I watch, or have watched that I like.

I'm halfway through series 3 of Breaking Bad. Once my SKY was fixed I stopped watching the series but I will go back to it as one of my mates has started watching and he wants to discuss it but I won't let him because he has viewed past where I am.

Your other choices;

Lost - What a load of tripe
Sons of Anarchy - see above
Southland - never heard of it
Boardwalk Empire - Watched the first series, got bored and stopped
Game of Thrones - Brialliant
Persons of interest - never heard of it

I'm halfway through series 3 of Breaking Bad. Once my SKY was fixed I stopped watching the series but I will go back to it as one of my mates has started watching and he wants to discuss it but I won't let him because he has viewed past where I am.

Your other choices;

Lost - What a load of tripe
Sons of Anarchy - see above
Southland - never heard of it
Boardwalk Empire - Watched the first series, got bored and stopped
Game of Thrones - Brialliant
Persons of interest - never heard of it

I can see why Lost isn't everyones cup of tea, never started watching it until last year and despite not having a clue what was going on half the time, I quite enjoyed it.
Didn't like Sons of Anarchy when i started watching it, but as it went on I grew into it.
Southland is a police drama in LA, shows different stories for a few main characters.
Boardwalk empire is okay, I liked the first and second seasons, watching the new one now and I'm starting to get bored too.
At least we agree on one of them :giggle:
Person of interest is actually a load of shit but I keep watching to see where it goes... If that makes sense.