The Who to do a European tour of Quadrophenia - 2013?

• Thread starter Thread starter Sunshine on Leith
  • Start date Start date
pretty sure this tour came thru Atlanta recently, though I did not go.

Not a huge fan of the Who but did go to see them the previous time they were in ATL and was surprised at how much I enjoyed them :bbb:

Not enough to fork out another $100 for a second view though :tuttut:

Hope you get to see your dream show

Not a huge fan of the Who but did go to see them the previous time they were in ATL and was surprised at how much I enjoyed them :bbb:

It's my favourite album and one of my favourite bands of all time - i'd go anywhere in Europe to see them playing Quad live.

I've been reading the reviews of their current North America tour and it's going down a storm.

It's my favourite album and one of my favourite bands of all time - i'd go anywhere in Europe to see them playing Quad live.

I've been reading the reviews of their current North America tour and it's going down a storm.

My wife is taking her dad (who will be proudly wearing his jacket from the 25th Year Anniversary Tour) to see this on the 30th at the Staples Center here in Los Angeles. (I'll be home looking after the bairns). Will let you know what they made of it. Watched the making of Quadrophenia documentary the other night. Pete was funny with his put down of Keith Moon's drumming ability.

I've seen that a few times, got it recorded on my Tivo box.

Impressive docu so it is.

I hope this comes off - it would be the ultimate gig for me if i was to see this.

http://modernistsociety.blogspot.co.uk/2013/01/the-who-to-play-uk-quadrophenia-shows.html

Right yah Mod poof, this would indeed be quite a show.

Several doubts tho`.

Would it be a turgid re-mix, backed by previous backing tracks, or live? Truly LIVE.

My reservations would also stretch to......How well can they do "Baba" these days, and would it involve a friggin` orchestra, as is the want of some aging acts...?

Does Roger the age-dodger still have it?

Does Pete (I was merely curious) still have that "Zing"?

As a witness of that failed Pistols reunion of a few back, at the SECC, I would treat this with slight trepidation.

Will they come north enough?

On the flip-side my hair-drying friend, if it was a full on (with the accepted number of session gadgeys) Would they be playing a full set, with the occasional fall-back to some original legendary tracks, or a huge disappointment all round.?

If Quad set list, plus some "Blast from the past" material was included.....I`d even drive ye there.

If it was a total recall, no strings, I`d be onto ticket-master like a shot.

So, the question remains (I`ve got a target on my back for a reason) gadgey, Full tilt, or half arsed? (see what I did there twice? :rascal:)

If full on.......I`m in like Flynn.

If it`s just a pension topper.......I`m out, and will dig out the good shit, with my 600w clean power set-up.

I wonder what it would be. Genuinely. :yas:

Right yah Mod poof, this would indeed be quite a show.

Several doubts tho`.

Would it be a turgid re-mix, backed by previous backing tracks, or live? Truly LIVE.

My reservations would also stretch to......How well can they do "Baba" these days, and would it involve a friggin` orchestra, as is the want of some aging acts...?

Does Roger the age-dodger still have it?

Does Pete (I was merely curious) still have that "Zing"?

As a witness of that failed Pistols reunion of a few back, at the SECC, I would treat this with slight trepidation.

Will they come north enough?

On the flip-side my hair-drying friend, if it was a full on (with the accepted number of session gadgeys) Would they be playing a full set, with the occasional fall-back to some original legendary tracks, or a huge disappointment all round.?

If Quad set list, plus some "Blast from the past" material was included.....I`d even drive ye there.

If it was a total recall, no strings, I`d be onto ticket-master like a shot.

So, the question remains (I`ve got a target on my back for a reason) gadgey, Full tilt, or half arsed? (see what I did there twice? :rascal:)

If full on.......I`m in like Flynn.

If it`s just a pension topper.......I`m out, and will dig out the good shit, with my 600w clean power set-up.

I wonder what it would be. Genuinely. :yas:

Without quoting all of this heid - yes it's a full orchestra with backing singers.

Playing to full houses of up to 20,000 in some arenas and have just added another gig in Vegas due to the first one selling out in in record time.

They have played around 20 gigs in this tour to great reviews...

http://ultimateclassicrock.com/the-who-brooklyn-new-york-quadrophenia-concert-review/

Without quoting all of this heid - yes it's a full orchestra with backing singers.

Playing to full houses of up to 20,000 in some arenas and have just added another gig in Vegas due to the first one selling out in in record time.

They have played around 20 gigs in this tour to great reviews...

http://ultimateclassicrock.com/the-who-brooklyn-new-york-quadrophenia-concert-review/

If they deem Scotland worthy. I am DEFINITELY IN.

Ye can boot mah baws pre or indeed post show........that is one I`d like to do before I die.

More to follow, one is sure.

Review looks fantastic. :yas:

The US tour has been billed 'Quadrophenia - and more' I believe, Z. Some of the classics played after the rendition of Quadrophenia every evening.

Understand and take in your reservations. It all depends how you rate the need to see them performing and in particular their masterpiece album.

I don't necessarily have that 'thirst' having seen Townshend/Daltrey/Entwhistle/Moon three times in their absolute pomp but I still reckon these are landmark gigs - significant.

Oh and yes (SOL) I've come to recognise Quadrophenia to be the best rock album of all-time too (imho).

pp999-the-who-maximum.jpg

Quadrophenia is easily my favourite Who album, ( Who`s Next is an extremely close second ) though i cant listen to it without picturing Phil Daniels, Mark Wingett et al. It`s also got Love, Reign O`er Me on it.....that song alone is worth going to see that album performed live.

Get in! fingers at the ready for the 1st Feb...

The Who's UK and European tour - Info & dates HERE

you a member of the fan club Bomber? $50 to join!

I'm not mate and don't intend to join.

There around 4/5 arenas i'm happy to attend and on of them is not Glasgow.

I'm going to try and make a weekend out of it. Dublin/Amsterdam is looking good.

How many knew of Quadrophenia's Nottingham origins?

All explained here:

[video=youtube;TG5CCtQRK7s]http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=TG5CCtQRK7s[/video]

Nice one Stu - hadn't seen that vid for a couple of years.

Went to a talk by the guy, Alan Fletcher at one of the local uni's at the weekend, mate. He has a nice prosaic style of talking about the scene back then. He said his association with Quadrophenia has been great but played the film down a bit. He felt that Mod, because of it, had been too much 'labelled as a beach fight' by many because of it.

That Dungeon club in Nottingham must have been one helluva place in the sixties. Going to quiz my big sis about it I think as she used to go there!

The wife went to see this last night. Her review does have to be taken in context (she is 5 months pregnant and her seats were in the nosebleed section.

Her first comments were about how Roger still has an amazing body even if his face is that of an old man.

It is, as has been said - a complete run though of Quad followed by a selection of hits.

Soundwise very well put together and Daltrey still has it. Pete still has it on the guitar but his voice is really weak. There's a weird video thing they do as a tribute to John where they focus on bass (natch) which supposedly blew the minds of several audience members it was that good. The visuals etc are good and help those less inclined to the twiddly instrumental walkabouts during the Quad bit. The hits bit does exactly what you would expect it to. The audience was "95% old white dudes looking very happy" supposedly.

She thought it was very good but she did also think that a Paul McCartney gig she went to about 10 years ago was amaaaaazing. I had a shit night at home cos the 19 month old wouldn't go to sleep.

Although Glasgow's a sell out, never fancied going on a work night.,

My first choice was always Liverpool as it's a Sunday and the start of the Trades holiday.

Tickets secured and hotel booked.:yas:

I've just paid 80.00 for the privalage - it's a once in a life time for me - can't wait to see them doing this live if truth be told...

Nice wee tribute to Keith Moon, from their recent tour in the States...

[video=youtube;PR4JqNNP-Rc]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PR4JqNNP-Rc[/video]

Take it they are playing Glasgow yeah? Just listened to 2 colleagues creaming themselves at getting tickets! Me, am looking forward to seeing Iron Maiden in Amsterdam for my birthday :bbb:
Hope everyone on here that wants to gets to see them like, Tivo'ed Quadraphenia the other night, give it a watch tonight I think.

Take it they are playing Glasgow yeah? Just listened to 2 colleagues creaming themselves at getting tickets! Me, am looking forward to seeing Iron Maiden in Amsterdam for my birthday :bbb:
Hope everyone on here that wants to gets to see them like, Tivo'ed Quadraphenia the other night, give it a watch tonight I think.

Glasgow, Liverpool and the two London shows were first to sell out. I beleive there are a few tickets at other venues.

Full list:

The Who's UK dates:
June 8 Dublin The O2
June 10 Belfast Odyssey
June 12 Glasgow SECC
June 15 London The O2
June 18 Sheffield Motorpoint Arena
June 20 Newcastle Metro Arena
June 23 Manchester Arena
June 25 Cardiff Motorpoint Arena
June 28 Birmingham LG Arena
June 30 Liverpool Echo Arena