The Stone Roses new single

hibadelic

Due at 8pm. Obviously it's been hyped way too much and it can't possibly live up to people's expectations. A bit like the second coming which I maintain, had it been their first album, would have been considered an accomplished release.

Anyway, feel free to state what a pile of shit the new single is below ;-)

Hope it grows on me! It was alright.

I certainly wasn't as excited as some of the phone-in people.

It's quite catchy but not a first album style soaring anthem that might have won them praise.

Edit: I caught the last min on radio 1 where Annie Mac decided to expose her ignorance by claiming something along the lines that the Roses were staying true to their rave roots by singing one for all, peace and togetherness. Cringe.

It's quite catchy but not a first album style soaring anthem that might have won them praise.

Edit: I caught the last min on radio 1 where Annie Mac decided to expose her ignorance by claiming something along the lines that the Roses were staying true to their rave roots by singing one for all, peace and togetherness. Cringe.

Not bad. Not brilliant, but not bad.

Agree with all of the above.

Is there a new 3 musketeers movie needing a theme tune?

Due at 8pm. Obviously it's been hyped way too much and it can't possibly live up to people's expectations. A bit like the second coming which I maintain, had it been their first album, would have been considered an accomplished release.

Anyway, feel free to state what a pile of shit the new single is below ;-)

completely agree re second coming.

away tae listen to this new one.

There are no lions in England....

Listened to it a couple of times now and my mind hasn't changed significantly. It's big, brassy (I don't mean it has horns but the word seems to fit) and optimistic. There's nothing very clever about the lyric, melody or structure to my ear at least but it does kind of hit the spot.

Only listened on my phone s couple times so that might be the reason but I can hardly hear the bass which for me was a big part of their early sound. With the exception of the extended guitar solo towards the end of the song I would say this sounds the most like the smiths musically that they ever have ( I mean the poppy smiths songs rather than the wrist slasher epics).

I also really like Second Coming but would argue that at the time if that had been their first album it would have sunk without a trace. The success of the band allowed them to experiment and, eventually release something nobmajor lable would ever have put out from an unheard of band. I doubt Silvertone would have released it either

This sounds exactly what you'd think the bastard child of a 1995 Ian Brown and John Squires solo record would sound like. Which is to say brilliant. It's pure Brit-Pop.

Excellent tune. Best rock pop record I've heard in ages.

I quite like it. It's pretty straight-forward sunshine pop. I like that they've not tried to break new ground. It feels like they knocked it out before lunchtime.

The lyric though - I can't work out if it's intentionally cliche'd and childlike or if it's smothered in irony, somehow. It's pretty chronic.

Not grabbing me straight off - guitar line is lifted from the Fall song squid Lord, if anyone wants to check it out.

Listened to it half an hour ago, have already forgotten what it sounded like cept it sounded like the stone roses, so thats fine. Dont expect world changing, earth shattering music from them at their age (or for me at mine!)

Hmm.

Dunno what I was expecting, but certainly not a sort of glam rock stomp. Heard it on the radio, and they followed it directly with Sugar Spun Sister - there's no real comparison.

Ach well. At the end of the day, the bar for them was set at "the greatest album of all time" with their first LP, and I'm eternally glad for that - in fact, if they'd only ever done Waterfall, I'd love them forever.

I can see the gigs now, though - a whole load of "meh" for the new stuff, followed by going ballistic to Made of Stone, etc. Essentially why I didn't buy tickets - I'll always have that moment at Heaton Park when Mani's bassline to Adored kicked in (along with the E), and I'm happy to leave it at that.

Hmm.

Dunno what I was expecting, but certainly not a sort of glam rock stomp. Heard it on the radio, and they followed it directly with Sugar Spun Sister - there's no real comparison.

Ach well. At the end of the day, the bar for them was set at "the greatest album of all time" with their first LP, and I'm eternally glad for that - in fact, if they'd only ever done Waterfall, I'd love them forever.

I can see the gigs now, though - a whole load of "meh" for the new stuff, followed by going ballistic to Made of Stone, etc. Essentially why I didn't buy tickets - I'll always have that moment at Heaton Park when Mani's bassline to Adored kicked in (along with the E), and I'm happy to leave it at that.

every word of this.

Tried listening to it again and it's not happening for me. Sounds like an Oasis album track; inoffensive enough but it would not be causing any ripples if anyone else released it.

Hmm.

Outstanding Aggie :yas:

Tried listening to it again and it's not happening for me. Sounds like an Oasis album track; inoffensive enough but it would not be causing any ripples if anyone else released it.

Kool :thumbgrin

Can't get Dogtanian out ma heid. Can't see any remote irony in the lyrics. I've always liked the Roses, I am the Resurrection is the best track to come out of Madchester and subsequent britpop, in my opinion. I've always seen them as indy music's version of The Cult. Daft lyrics, four bar guitar or bass hooks, simple but totally works and is all much better than the sum of it's parts, I reckon.

New tune is Madchester by numbers. I'd rather listen to that though, than 99% of the charts. But then, I don't listen to the charts so it a. doesn't affect me and b. I probably don't have an valid reason for having an opinion on them.

Lobster Telephone.

It's definitely a grower. Wasn't keen last night, but was humming it through a 5 hour meeting in the Weeg the day. Squire still tearing up the fret board.
Thing that boils is my pish is aw the Fannys calling in last night to the radio proclaiming it to be an astounding piece of music. It's no up there, it's decent, but not the triumphant return that's it's being cracked up to be by the uber fan 17 year olds.

Ebony and ivory, live together in perfect harmony.

I don't think they're the lyrics but that's what my ear worm is singing.

It's a bit twee for me. This side o' me...

Instantly forgettable actually.

Just listened to it. I was tapping my toes to the tune but the lyrics are pish.

Then I listened to "I am the Resurrection". No comparison.

I agree. Decent riff but lyrics could`ve been written by a ten year old.

After waiting 20 odd years, as a comeback single it`s poor, imo. It`s commercial though, it`ll make money and sell well to the teen hipsters who weren`t around the first time, which i suspect was the point as Ian Brown is certainly capable of writing better than this. Made Of Stone it aint.

When I first heard the title of the new Roses track this little gem from the 90's was the first thing that came to mind:

[video=youtube;ofA3URC1wyk]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ofA3URC1wyk[/video]

just listened to the next new single, beautiful thing released at midnight. Oh. Fucking. Dear.

At over 7 minutes it's clearly intended to be an epic and for the first few seconds I was like yaaas; a squall of back masked guitars gives way to funky drummer beat and inrushing wah wah guitar yas yas yas...and then gives way to a non song that would have oversold its flimsy wares at half the length.

A 'melody' so thin it basically amounts to being in tune, but not a tune, with a chorus so forgettable that even six plus minutes of it seemingly being repeated every 30 seconds leaves no impression but irritated boredom.

Tragic.

I thought some of the original fans would like Beautiful Thing. Would sit well beside tunes on The Second Coming.

I'll optimistically call it a grower. If they consider this worthy as a single the lack of a proper chorus is a bit worrying from a band that have written some of the best ever in rock-pop.

Here's the Spotify link for those on there...

Beautiful Thing, a song by The Stone Roses on Spotify

I thought some of the original fans would like Beautiful Thing. Would sit well beside tunes on The Second Coming.

I'll optimistically call it a grower. If they consider this worthy as a single the lack of a proper chorus is a bit worrying from a band that have written some of the best ever in rock-pop.

Here's the Spotify link for those on there...

Beautiful Thing, a song by The Stone Roses on Spotify
I think your putting that on in the background when your having a spraff and a smoke wi your pals...

It seems the homecoming gigs are a blast. I had tickets then had to give them up as I'm off on me travels soon. Ach well.

I particularly liked this description of the Roses from this review....

"this audience cherishes: a singer as incapable of hunting down the right notes as a forgetful lecturer; a bassist (Mani) standing stock still in brilliant white double denim; a guitarist (John Squire) hiding behind hair curtains and lost-at-sea beard; Reni the bucket-hatted drummer’s constant manic grin at a joke only he can hear. In place of stagecraft, frontman Ian Brown adopts the vaguely belligerent stance of a man entering a pub that he was barred from last Christmas."

The Stone Roses review – a vast house party | Music | The Guardian

The set list

I Wanna Be Adored'
'Elephant Stone'
'Sally Cinnamon'
'Mersey Paradise'
'(Song for My) Sugar Spun Sister'
'Bye Bye Badman'
'Where Angels Play'
'Shoot You Down'
'Begging You'
'Waterfall'