The Smith Commission

StevieC

Toon Army Radge
You do all realise that it's not just the political parties that are being asked to submit their proposals to the Smith Commission?

We are all being encouraged (regardless of how you voted) to submit our own thoughts on what should be devolved to Scotland ..

The Smith Commission Online Submission Form

Apart from the obvious (taxes, VAT, welfare, pensions, etc.) I am also going to push for Broadcasting to be devolved. The bias during the referendum by (supposedly) neutral corporations was nothing short of scandalous, and without doubt one of the main contributing factors to the final result.

Kept mine simple and went along with what the Scottish Government submitted, everything apart from Defence, Foreign Affairs, and possibly VAT and other specific taxes if required due to EU law (that may state tax such as VAT must be the same across nation states) must be devolved.

You do all realise that it's not just the political parties that are being asked to submit their proposals to the Smith Commission?

We are all being encouraged (regardless of how you voted) to submit our own thoughts on what should be devolved to Scotland ..

The Smith Commission Online Submission Form

Apart from the obvious (taxes, VAT, welfare, pensions, etc.) I am also going to push for Broadcasting to be devolved. The bias during the referendum by (supposedly) neutral corporations was nothing short of scandalous, and without doubt one of the main contributing factors to the final result.

Spot on Stevie. We've got more chance of gubbing hearts 7-0 next week I'd say. Still, unless you ask you don't get.

You do all realise that it's not just the political parties that are being asked to submit their proposals to the Smith Commission?We are all being encouraged (regardless of how you voted) to submit our own thoughts on what should be devolved to Scotland ..The Smith Commission Online Submission FormApart from the obvious (taxes, VAT, welfare, pensions, etc.) I am also going to push for Broadcasting to be devolved. The bias during the referendum by (supposedly) neutral corporations was nothing short of scandalous, and without doubt one of the main contributing factors to the final result.
There is definately a case to answered. Over the two years I watched lots of BBC vs Salmond interviews. Shame the BBC didn't put the vow and BT polititians under as much scrutiny. Nvm UKIP will form the next parliament and will chuck the vow out as they had nothing to do with it. Failing that and tories/labour do get in then I'm also fairly certain the vow won't amount to much.The most important lesson here though is that auntie is not a national treasure. It's a state propoganda machine and we need rid of it. This is what should be getting pushed for. At six o clock I want to hear scottish and international news (which can include rUK items) however I just don't feel the need for 30 mins every 6pm about subjects that are effectively international. As the polititians said the Scottish NHS is entirely independent so why waste our time making rUK NHS one of our main headlines. Surely our media can see that its wasted time and a wasted opportunity to nform the Scottish public about things that affect them? The Scottish arm needs to be impartial and not run by BBC head office. I don't see the status quo being anything like that.

Just 1 week left to submit your recommendations

Is there a nailing Cameron, clegg and broons head to a coffee table option. @pirhannabrothers circa 1974

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

more powers? :rollfloor

Here's a chart of all the new powers asked for by each party as part of the Smith Commission negotiations. Liebour in particular seem to have really gone to town with the begging bowl, 'Please sir, we want some less!'
Now the reality of what EVEL would mean for them in Westminster has hit home, they appear to be backtracking on their promised 'substantial new powers'.

1904102_883856218293277_1465277344829745783_n.jpg

surprised tae see who wants tae give Scotland the least, not.

Liebour, the party of Scotland and the Scottish people :rollfloor

1911626_861402197212291_1555996730792198582_n.jpg

Today is the last opportunity to submit your proposals for devolved powers .. make sure you ask for a little bit more than Labour are intending to submit.

Very disappointed by the timid Labour submission....

Surprised though? I aint. Utterly pathetic, even the tories would give Scotland mair. Liebour want Scotland for one thing and that is tae try and hang on tae any chance of westminster, london liebour dinnae give a fuck about Scotland or the Scottish people but they are being found out now, the former branch secretary blew the lid off it, a lot of us knew already though.

I've wondered previously as to who commissioned this graphic to represent the promises and a timeline. Who said these things and where was it originally published, anyone?

Tells you at the bottom of the graphic?! Blair McDougall on behalf of Better Together

I read that footnote Dave. Better together was a widely encompassing campaign banner though. I'd like to know if these bullet points were listed elsewhere and by whom though. It's very easy for people to distance themselves from promises if they can't be connected to them.

Surprised though? I aint. Utterly pathetic, even the tories would give Scotland mair. Liebour want Scotland for one thing and that is tae try and hang on tae any chance of westminster, london liebour dinnae give a $#@! about Scotland or the Scottish people but they are being found out now, the former branch secretary blew the lid off it, a lot of us knew already though.

If Labour were only interested in hanging onto Westminster then recent opinion polls suggest they'd do that more successfully by giving greater devolution so it kind of wipes out your point....

Anyone got a copy of the Command Paper:dunno:?

B1S86QyIIAA5pQs.jpg

LOL:giggle:

And everything is on if not ahead of schedule?

If Labour were only interested in hanging onto Westminster then recent opinion polls suggest they'd do that more successfully by giving greater devolution so it kind of wipes out your point....- - - Updated - - -And everything is on if not ahead of schedule?
You think there will be cross party agreement and a white paper published in a month?

Too late for me..just saw this thread :hmmm didnt know who smith was

If Labour were only interested in hanging onto Westminster then recent opinion polls suggest they'd do that more successfully by giving greater devolution so it kind of wipes out your point....
Not really, they're feart tae give Scotland too much power in case Scotland likes it and decides it disnae need westminster any mair efter all and kicks them out anyway. So they're stuck, dinnae give the extensive powers they promised (lied) about in the 'vow' they stand a chance of getting bombed out, give too much and they may get bombed out anyway, particularly if we get another SNP govt. at Holyrood who dae a good job of running the country with those powers. So Liebour will give as little as possible, try and stick as near tae the status quo as possible and hope that enough of the red rose on a monkey brigade will stick with them. They'll lie and try every dirty trick in the book tae scare others in tae doing so as well, just like they did in the referendum but they're fooling less and less of the other people that they give a fuck about Scotland or the Scottish people. A branch office of westminster sums up perfectly the Scottish liebour party, here tae dae westminster's bidding and fuck all else. Whoever the new leader is they'll still be doin' what they're telt!