The Persevere Bar

I'm in there now.

Couple of tourists were in and asked how old the bar was.

I can remember coming in during my lunch break from school 😆 when it first opened!

But I can't remember what it was before it was The Persevere Bar.

Come on auld yins, help an auld yin oot!

Don't know what it was called before.
My mum worked there in the restaurant part in the late 70's and early 80's.
Served George Best once when he came in with some of the players.
Always liked the Persy, but preferred it before it was done up.

I was at Leithy 74-80.The teachers used to go in there at lunch break.Can't mind what it was before then.Could you not ask the bar staff? Or some locals?

We went there pre-match for a couple of years for something to eat as my pal had his kids with him.

That was long before it was done up (mid 80s) when the split level meant that you could sit on normal height seats at the far end of the bar. I loved that!

Been in the marksmen, some posh tab bar on Duke Street, upto Tamsons then the Hibs club for a family doo, a shame but the site result

Early answers are that it was Leith provident..and perhaps a post office

Mackintosh must have been minted in the 50's.Would be nice to time travel back in time wearing 'the North Face' puffa jacket.

Quarry holes bridge.My mates and I would skive off and go up the railway line when it was dancing at PE.Can't remember if the bridge was still there?Suspect it wasn't.We'd share my mum's Mosiac sherry, then go to Geography pished.
Quarry holes-we heard that the new Leith Academy was to be built there , never happened when I was at school,we doubted it was ever going to happen.