The evening news

egb_hibs

Somehow, navigating it's absolute war zone of a site, with pop ups coming in like artillery, I've managed to click on something that let's the evening news send me alerts.

I thus get breathless notices of stuff like this- a Chinese restaurant somewhere in Edinburgh is closing.

Setting aside the shell-shock that a visit to the site threatens, was the evening news always this trivial?

I suppose a restaurant closing is local news of a kind but I don't remember it being this trivial back in the day. Then again I probably only ever read the sports pages :coffee1:

Also, is the ssimilarly mental edinburgh live site anything to do with the evening news? I've never been sure.

I now, morbidly, only go on it for the announcements if someone I know dies. I emailed them a few years ago about their Hibs Gunts stories. There was always 3, 4 and sometimes more Gunt than Hibs articles. I did get a reply from their then sports editor but cannae mind what it said.
They have a clickbait banner along the top of the page saying film star deid or sports star crashes car but it's cvnts you've never heard of.

Somehow, navigating it's absolute war zone of a site, with pop ups coming in like artillery, I've managed to click on something that let's the evening news send me alerts.

I thus get breathless notices of stuff like this- a Chinese restaurant somewhere in Edinburgh is closing.

Setting aside the shell-shock that a visit to the site threatens, was the evening news always this trivial?

I suppose a restaurant closing is local news of a kind but I don't remember it being this trivial back in the day. Then again I probably only ever read the sports pages :coffee1:

Also, is the ssimilarly mental edinburgh live site anything to do with the evening news? I've never been sure.
Edinburgh Live is the Daily Retard. Same sort of pish.

I have an ad blocker on ma phone. Check the EN site then it gets blocked until you pay.

But a mate told me to delete the Scotsman cookies and boabs yir dug. Back on the site again.

But it is fairly dire.

If you are only interested in reading the story in a new site you have just clicked on from somewhere else, I found a way that often bypasses the cookie query routine or even paywall sometimes on less strictly coded sites:

I use 'Toggle reader view' as it is called in Firefox. It's right near the url address bar at the top and if you hover with your mouse or finger and hit the button as soon as it appears as your device is loading the new site, it shows you stripped-back basic css (styling) of the page content and photos even.

Dunno what it's called in other browsers tho I can use it in my Samsung phone browser, so it must be a known thing in others?

Saves me a lot of 'fun' cookie decision-making...

I don't have a problem with pop ups on the EEN - Edinburgh Live's 10 times worse for me.

As for content, I used to buy and read both the EEN & Scotsman every day. My last few times in Edinburgh I haven't bothered with either.

Well that explains it… lots of times reading it i always felt it as utter nonsense in its reporting.
Thanks for letting me know… won’t be on it again
There's Glasgow Live and Aberdeen Live tae, probably pish tae like Edinburgh.

The EEN site really is an abomination. Completely unusable. I was looking for a description along the lines that it must have been designed by someone on massive amounts of halucinogens but Eegie's take pretty much nails it.

I've almost given up trying to read that rag online and I will absolutely never commit the schoolboy error of allowing it to send me notifications. That aside, all of those restaurants and pubs that they tell us are closing are always "popular" which begs the obvious question - If they are so popular why are they closing?

If you are only interested in reading the story in a new site you have just clicked on from somewhere else, I found a way that often bypasses the cookie query routine or even paywall sometimes on less strictly coded sites:

I use 'Toggle reader view' as it is called in Firefox. It's right near the url address bar at the top and if you hover with your mouse or finger and hit the button as soon as it appears as your device is loading the new site, it shows you stripped-back basic css (styling) of the page content and photos even.

Dunno what it's called in other browsers tho I can use it in my Samsung phone browser, so it must be a known thing in others?

Saves me a lot of 'fun' cookie decision-making...
I've got that and never used it but I will give it a try. Does it just toggle for the particular page it's opened in? It gives me the option to toggle the bounce but I don't want to in case it stays toggled.

The EEN site really is an abomination. Completely unusable. I was looking for a description along the lines that it must have been designed by someone on massive amounts of halucinogens but Eegie's take pretty much nails it.
It feels like they employ a few folk to sit on the /edinburgh subreddit looking for 'stories' then wrap it in the pop-up luftwaffe

I've almost given up trying to read that rag online and I will absolutely never commit the schoolboy error of allowing it to send me notifications. That aside, all of those restaurants and pubs that they tell us are closing are always "popular" which begs the obvious question - If they are so popular why are they closing?
Believe me I didn't mean to D. Probably tried to click on summat else only for page layout to shape-shift under me as I was doing so

Reactions: Dub
Believe me I didn't mean to D. Probably tried to click on summat else only for page layout to shape-shift under me as I was doing so
Yeah, I get you. It's effing annoying innit.

I now, morbidly, only go on it for the announcements if someone I know dies. I emailed them a few years ago about their Hibs Gunts stories. There was always 3, 4 and sometimes more Gunt than Hibs articles. I did get a reply from their then sports editor but cannae mind what it said.
They have a clickbait banner along the top of the page saying film star deid or sports star crashes car but it's cvnts you've never heard of.
The clue is if they don't name the sports, film, TV person in the click bait banner, who has died, crashed, been jailed etc then it will be squirrels pish.

I've got that and never used it but I will give it a try. Does it just toggle for the particular page it's opened in? It gives me the option to toggle the bounce but I don't want to in case it stays toggled.
Just hit the link to go to the spammy or paywall page and when that is loading, hit the toggle button.

It is only for the page you are on or loading. You can either hit it again or reload the page to get the full fat version again. It disappears automatically when you go to a new page so nae worries.

Ah good old Reach Group.

I'll see your Chinese restaurant closing down and raise you a cafe.

Sadness as cafe closes after 15 years of serving community

Or maybe a coffee morning where people have 'much sadness' due to it ending.

Nottingham Live - new cafe/bar/restaurant opening - cafe/bar/restaurant sadly closing. Twenty-five stories about Nottingham Forest drivel. Martin Lewis 'warning' us about something - why is he always fcuking 'warning' us? Advertorials which aren't even thinly disguised. 'Twenty pictures of '80's Nottingham.'

And possibly my annual favourite. 'Completely deserted city of Nottingham on Christmas Day' with accompanying pictures of nobody being there.

Then there are all the fcuking facists in the comments sections of the articles.

You're laughing M but that fcuking cafe got 4.7 stars on Google you know.

On the plus side, Sammy’s has taken over what was the Lee - On in Barclay Terrace, it was there for over 40 years. It always had lots of Chinese people eating there.

On the broader front the EEN and the EEN Pink were quality, local papers that were Community based. The current EEN is just tabloid, sensationalist rag, pity.

On the plus side, Sammy’s has taken over what was the Lee - On in Barclay Terrace, it was there for over 40 years. It always had lots of Chinese people eating there.

On the broader front the EEN and the EEN Pink were quality, local papers that were Community based. The current EEN is just tabloid, sensationalist rag, pity.
Back in the day when I was a regular at game I used to get The Pink to read on the bus on the way home on Saturday night , the bus had to wait until the papers arrived from being printed as it dropped copies off at various pubs on the way down the road

For a lot of us who couldnae afford to go to many games, it was a keenly awaited light on how our team had done that weekend - wae photies!

And much as it is against the tribal vogue nowadays, that went for both teams of Embra. A detailed Just Back hot off the press

Just hit the link to go to the spammy or paywall page and when that is loading, hit the toggle button.

It is only for the page you are on or loading. You can either hit it again or reload the page to get the full fat version again. It disappears automatically when you go to a new page so nae worries.
Okay, thanks. I usually use 12ft ladder to get over paywalls.

Anyone remember the Harry Gilzean football cartoon strips in the EEN?
Yes, he did a lot of caracatures of the players for the Leith Pagent and Festival.
Anyone remember the Harry Gilzean football cartoon strips in the EEN?
Theres lots of examples in the Hibs Club, right up till he retired. I’ve got a set of playing cards with the Hibs 1956 side on the back.

Aye he had the wee shop at the top of Fleshmarket k

Aye. And there was also the one with the two auld blokes who supported each team. The tall skinny one was Hibs and the wee fat un hearts iirc
I was going to ask if anyone remembered that. Was it not called Fitba Crazy or Fitba Daft? From back in the day when folk would go to see the Cabbage one week and the Gunts the next.

I mind the shop still being there in the 70's. I used to buy my vinyl at the record shop Hot Licks (I think it was)

I hardly ever go on it.It’s got to be a juicy story like’teenager stabs granny’ or somesuch.But aye pop ups do ma heid in.Slightly off topic; is John Gibson deid?

Fitba crazy used to have a regular gag usual two guys in bonnets and a guy in a turbin.First guy’I’m seek’second guy-‘I’m seek too!,guy in turbin-‘and I’m sheikh too !’