The end of X/Twitter, and presumably Elon Musk

Keepitgreen

Hanover Frederick Castle Radge
His website now produces child sexual abuse material on-demand, and Musk has refused to do anything about it:

Online criminals are claiming to have used Elon Musk’s Grok AI tool to create sexual imagery of children, as a child safety watchdog warned the technology risked bringing such material into the mainstream.

The UK-based Internet Watch Foundation (IWF) said users of a dark web forum boasted of using Grok Imagine to create sexualised and topless imagery of girls aged between 11 and 13. IWF analysts said the images would be considered child sexual abuse material (CSAM) under UK law.

Requests for Grok to manipulate images of women to “put her in a bikini” continued to flood in on X on Wednesday. Despite the warnings of EU and UK regulatory action, there was no evidence that the platform had installed tighter safeguards, and pictures of teenage girls continue to be stripped down digitally at the request of X users, to show them in small, revealing items of underwear, or positioned in sexually explicit poses.

Some users have demanded more extreme content, asking the chatbot to decorate bikinis with swastikas, or requesting alterations to photographs of women so they appear to be victims of abuse. The chatbot has obliged by adding cigarette burns, facial bruising, and blood to some images of women.

Few big initial questions for me:

* The UK (and other countries) governmental response to this has been disgustingly meek. Why?
* X has lots of users who pay for their blue check - in court, is this paying for access to CSAM?
* X is the home of the crusading far right / MAGA types. How are they reacting?
* Everyone who isn't sick will now delete their X accounts. Right?

No way X is finished as you know, and no way people will ditch it in number - indeed it might drag a few odd jobs back from Blue Sky which has heretofore been nonce central.

What should happen - which isn't to say it will - is that the government need to get him to hobble Grok so it doesn't do this. I mean this is not a 'feature' of Grok, any graphical LLM would do this unless it is disabled. Grok has nothing like the resources of OpenAI and so I suspect lacks all the effort put in to such hobbling in ChatGPT.

Musk will be squirming on that hook an I suspect will use a defence that free speech will be compromised if AI is made the preserve of monopoly providers through regulation. Which will be both true and yet insufficient in this situation, not least as Musk has the lolly to fund it even if doesn't make sense as a Grok business case.

One would hope that he does indeed come under pressure from the right, who tbf can seem like the only political faction who prioritise child abuse over party.

But it's social media, so don't hold your breath.

No way X is finished as you know, and no way people will ditch it in number - indeed it might drag a few odd jobs back from Blue Sky which has heretofore been nonce central.

What should happen - which isn't to say it will - is that the government need to get him to hobble Grok so it doesn't do this. I mean this is not a 'feature' of Grok, any graphical LLM would do this unless it is disabled. Grok has nothing like the resources of OpenAI and so I suspect lacks all the effort put in to such hobbling in ChatGPT.

Musk will be squirming on that hook an I suspect will use a defence that free speech will be compromised if AI is made the preserve of monopoly providers through regulation. Which will be both true and yet insufficient in this situation, not least as Musk has the lolly to fund it even if doesn't make sense as a Grok business case.

One would hope that he does indeed come under pressure from the right, who tbf can seem like the only political faction who prioritise child abuse over party.

Factual mistake there bud. Twitter is nonce central.

Hmm. I think you've surprised me with that response, but maybe not!

Just to recap, you've read about this, processed it, then gone ahead and

* pointed at an alternative, tiny in comparison website and said 'they're worse'
* said all graphical LLMs can do this, not just this one
* framed it that fixing this can be legitimately seen as a free-speech restriction
* stated that all political factions who aren't right-wing prioritise party over child abuse

Nah on second thought I'm gonna go ahead and say I am surprised..!

The way that LLMs are trained to identify and remove offensive material is the dark secret which big tech tries to keep hidden.

Some of the poorest people on the planet are paid buttons to watch images of child porn, torture, rape, bestiality, snuff, decapitations, mutilations, etc. In Kenya they work every hour of the day for a pittance to mark up manually images containing such horrors. Thats how AI is trained. Thats why you dont get child abuse pics on your Facebook feeds. Meta and Open AI have admitted to employing third party contractors to do their dirty work and are now backtracking. As you can imagine the psychological trauma inflicted on these workers - mostly women - is PTSD on steroids. Maybe Grok didnt hire enough poor brown women to do their dirty work.

In what way? I use it every day and in 14 years seen nothing that's nonce. And if I did I'd immediately report it.

I've not seen it either. We're fortunate. But it has been widely reported that Grok is being used to alter photos of children as reported above.

I don't think anyone really has a handle on how to prevent image abuse and where the lines should be drawn. Putting a different coloured hat on an under 16 child is okay for example, but putting them in a bikini isn't.

I think any kind of image manipulation is abuse, personally if you do not own the image, or the subject of the image has not given explicit consent for the image to be amended.

Regulation is way too slow to react, and another sign that big corporation is in control here, and their agenda is driving things forward.

Hmm. I think you've surprised me with that response, but maybe not!

Just to recap, you've read about this, processed it, then gone ahead and

* pointed at an alternative, tiny in comparison website and said 'they're worse'
No I've pointed out where the peedo nexus has been heretofore and noted that far from grok scandals sinking twitter it might gain users by pulling some of that community back. I've read it back and it seems pretty clear.
* said all graphical LLMs can do this, not just this one
Yup. You advocate AI right? You know how it works I must then assume. All graphical LLMs will be able to do this unless it's disabled. It's not technologically different to making a Hibs mount rushmore which a few of us did a while back, or any other image manipulation. I mean this is very very basic comprehension of how LLMs work dude.
* framed it that fixing this can be legitimately seen as a free-speech restriction
I've perhaps wrongly assumed an ability to read and comprehend here. Or perhaps wrongly assumed good faith? I' m not rewriting what I already wrote, read it again perhaps and focus on my words rather than your own internal LLM conforming them to what you would prefer?
* stated that all political factions who aren't right-wing prioritise party over child abuse
Its certainly been the case in the UK including on this forum.
Nah on second thought I'm gonna go ahead and say I am surprised..!
I'm sadly not surprised that as ever you have substituted what I wrote with narrative fictions that suit you better.

The way that LLMs are trained to identify and remove offensive material is the dark secret which big tech tries to keep hidden.

Some of the poorest people on the planet are paid buttons to watch images of child porn, torture, rape, bestiality, snuff, decapitations, mutilations, etc. In Kenya they work every hour of the day for a pittance to mark up manually images containing such horrors. Thats how AI is trained. Thats why you dont get child abuse pics on your Facebook feeds. Meta and Open AI have admitted to employing third party contractors to do their dirty work and are now backtracking. As you can imagine the psychological trauma inflicted on these workers - mostly women - is PTSD on steroids. Maybe Grok didnt hire enough poor brown women to do their dirty work.
Yup. Perhaps we should organise a board tutorial on AI for KiG?

Thats not the only technique but it's certainly one. And it was the whole basis for seeding image based AI more generally. Thousands of folk answering 'does this image contain a cat?' for a fraction of a cent an image. And this was years and years and years ago.

Factual mistake there bud. Twitter is nonce central.
Blue Sky became infamous for it, and I suspect for similar reasons to grok here - far less resources to implement safeguards vs twitter. So when it became the destination for the 'alternative' crowd...

No I've pointed out where the peedo nexus has been heretofore and noted that far from grok scandals sinking twitter it might gain users by pulling some of that community back. I've read it back and it seems pretty clear.

Yup. You advocate AI right? You know how it works I must then assume. All graphical LLMs will be able to do this unless it's disabled. It's not technologically different to making a Hibs mount rushmore which a few of us did a while back, or any other image manipulation. I mean this is very very basic comprehension of how LLMs work dude.

I've perhaps wrongly assumed an ability to read and comprehend here. Or perhaps wrongly assumed good faith? I' m not rewriting what I already wrote, read it again perhaps and focus on my words rather than your own internal LLM conforming them to what you would prefer?

Its certainly been the case in the UK including on this forum.

I'm sadly not surprised that as ever you have substituted what I wrote with narrative fictions that suit you better.
The point I'm making, and I'm sure you know this, is that each of those is a deflection, a pointing finger over there to something else, rather than acknowledging and criticising just how monumental a fuck-up this is by Musk and X.

His site is in the top 10 websites visited in the entire world. That he has opened up the facility for people to create CSAM on it, is unfathomable and outrageous to the point of sick. Then his refusal to fix it right now? I don't have the words tbh.

The condemnation should be far, far easier to do imo. Without deflection. But aye, to each their own. I need to remember not to reflect my own internal LLM on others so much..!

Yup. Perhaps we should organise a board tutorial on AI for KiG?

Thats not the only technique but it's certainly one. And it was the whole basis for seeding image based AI more generally. Thousands of folk answering 'does this image contain a cat?' for a fraction of a cent an image. And this was years and years and years ago.

Most folk see generative AI like ChatGPT or Gemini as fun tools to make cute digital images or shortcuts to write emails, letters, press releases, CVs and such like. Which is fine. But those services dont generate any significant income for Big Tech.

LLMs are being marketed to large corporations and workplaces as tools to cut jobs.

They're mainly being sold to governments for population-wide surveillance systems eg to police, HMRC, benefits systems, and also as military weapons.

The cute images and writing shortcuts are the fluffy public face of technology that will be intrusive, repressive and strip us of our privacy, in our homes and streets as well as in our workplaces.

AI could be used for many socially useful things but not in the hands of Big Tech and Big Govt.

You probably know all this EGB but most folk are sleep walking into an AI Orwellian nightmare.

Most folk see generative AI like ChatGPT or Gemini as fun tools to make cute digital images or shortcuts to write emails, letters, press releases, CVs and such like. Which is fine. But those services dont generate any significant income for Big Tech.

LLMs are being marketed to large corporations and workplaces as tools to cut jobs.

They're mainly being sold to governments for population-wide surveillance systems eg to police, HMRC, benefits systems, and also as military weapons.

The cute images and writing shortcuts are the fluffy public face of technology that will be intrusive, repressive and strip us of our privacy, in our homes and streets as well as in our workplaces.

AI could be used for many socially useful things but not in the hands of Big Tech and Big Govt.

You probably know all this EGB but most folk are sleep walking into an AI Orwellian nightmare.
They are also very wrong a lot of the time.

There really is an important point here about how mainstream and widely used X is. The ability to create images like this existed elsewhere sure, but it's acknowledged that it'd need to be in the darker corners of the web, or the actual dark web.

Can anyone imagine how many school-age bullies are logging on to X right now and creating abusive images of classmates they don't like? Twisted adults, mocking up some pics of their ex? And of course, actual peados, filling their boots. It goes on. You or someone you know could be a victim very soon.

And Musk just shrugs his shoulders.

Blue Sky became infamous for it, and I suspect for similar reasons to grok here - far less resources to

implement safeguards vs twitter. So when it became the destination for the 'alternative' crowd...

I doubt if LLMs will ever be free of abusive images. The brave new AI internet is a lawless wild west. Big Tech can do whatever they want. Effective anti- trust legislation breaking up these trillion dollar corporations is the only viable answer. Except Big Tech has effectively captured the anti trust and anti monopoly boards. Keir Starmer last year appointed the head of Microsoft UK Clare Barclay as head of his new Industrial Strategy Advisory Council. You cant make this shit up.

Anybody else have a giggle at the name of the orange paedo rapist's media platform?

There's a bit of history with Musk and CSAM btw. After he bought Twitter, their reporting of illegal imagery fell through the floor as he gutted their safety teams.

Eventually in 2024, they released a report covering just the first 6 months of that year, and the data was damning.

X sent 370,588 reports of child exploitation, required by law, to the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children (NCMEC)'s CyberTipline in the first half of the year. The platform says it also suspended more than 2 million accounts actively engaging with child sexual abuse media (CSAM). In 2021, X/Twitter reported 86,000 cases to NCMEC. The number increased to 98,000 in 2022, and then saw a massive jump to 870,000 in 2023.

The point I'm making, and I'm sure you know this, is that each of those is a deflection, a pointing finger over there to something else, rather than acknowledging and criticising just how monumental a fuck-up this is by Musk and X.
I know that you need to make it about this because you need to believe in a narrative that is more pleasing than reality. It's not what I was doing at all, not remotely.

It seems that you don't know how LLMs work but here are some other things I think you do know :

- people will not delete their X accounts en masse - indeed such is the cesspit of social media this will probably be a selling point for some - a point I made which you had to post-truth into your elaborate fiction

- Musk is not going to roll over - I gave you what I expect his defensive argument would be which you had to post-truth into your elaborate fiction
His site is in the top 10 websites visited in the entire world. That he has opened up the facility for people to create CSAM on it, is unfathomable and outrageous to the point of sick. Then his refusal to fix it right now? I don't have the words tbh.
Yes, is outrageous. But @Green Sleeves provides an example of the huge undertaking these kinds of things entail. While there are other approaches that can be taken with AI they are all onerous and I hate to break it to you, but Musk is not going to be keen to nix his pishy LLM while that is incurred.
The condemnation should be far, far easier to do imo. Without deflection. But aye, to each their own. I need to remember not to reflect my own internal LLM on others so much..!
Seriously I wonder if you know how this looks to those outside the faith.

I think Musk is a cnut and have been saying so since the days he was hero worshipped by many a gullible sap and have continued until the present as the sites search facility would demonstrate. But I am not interested in living my life inside a nursery rhyme bubble where a self serving narrative shields me from reality. I thus made the mistake of responding to you with a real world assessment of the tech issues at stake and my anticipated responses of those involved. Perhaps you wanted 'fat autistic virtual rapist hue hur', but you won't ever get such simpleton back slapping from me.

I'm not interested in social media and it's tawdry communities either, whether it's shit like this or people who race off to reddit to dredge up fictions to deride the freshly murdered. You are far closer in spirit to Musk's latter day constituency than I will ever be old chap. Narratives, bias confirmation, self serving pish: y'all can keep it.

But please try, for your own sake, to internalise this point : it does not follow that people who disagree with you are on the side of your boogeyman or otherwise take the shape your narratives demand. If you can't do that you are precluding yourself from understanding the world and moreover submitting to a cultists view of the world.

I don't know how many time this has to be stated by how many people, to deaf ears and glassy eyes. I find this kind of thing scary af tbh, I really do. Four legs good, two legs bad.

I know that you need to make it about this because you need to believe in a narrative that is more pleasing than reality. It's not what I was doing at all, not remotely.

It seems that you don't know how LLMs work but here are some other things I think you do know :

- people will not delete their X accounts en masse - indeed such is the cesspit of social media this will probably be a selling point for some - a point I made which you had to post-truth into your elaborate fiction

- Musk is not going to roll over - I gave you what I expect his defensive argument would be which you had to post-truth into your elaborate fiction

Yes, is outrageous. But @Green Sleeves provides an example of the huge undertaking these kinds of things entail. While there are other approaches that can be taken with AI they are all onerous and I hate to break it to you, but Musk is not going to be keen to nix his pishy LLM while that is incurred.

Seriously I wonder if you know how this looks to those outside the faith.

I think Musk is a cnut and have been saying so since the days he was hero worshipped by many a gullible sap and have continued until the present as the sites search facility would demonstrate. But I am not interested in living my life inside a nursery rhyme bubble where a self serving narrative shields me from reality. I thus made the mistake of responding to you with a real world assessment of the tech issues at stake and my anticipated responses of those involved. Perhaps you wanted 'fat autistic virtual rapist hue hur', but you won't ever get such simpleton back slapping from me.

I'm not interested in social media and it's tawdry communities either, whether it's shit like this or people who race off to reddit to dredge up fictions to deride the freshly murdered. You are far closer in spirit to Musk's latter day constituency than I will ever be old chap. Narratives, bias confirmation, self serving pish: y'all can keep it.

But please try, for your own sake, to internalise this point : it does not follow that people who disagree with you are on the side of your boogeyman or otherwise take the shape your narratives demand. If you can't do that you are precluding yourself from understanding the world and moreover submitting to a cultists view of the world.

I don't know how many time this has to be stated by how many people, to deaf ears and glassy eyes. I find this kind of thing scary af tbh, I really do. Four legs good, two legs bad.
Dude the fact you've called Musk a cant a few times is neither here nor there.. It is about this incident, this result, and the victims being created right now.

But aye no worries. It's all very complex isn't it. Needs more nuance and consideration. I'll take my simpleton self away and think about how this isn't in fact a sick, twisted fuck-up by the worlds richest man - showing no remorse or desire to correct - that will be affecting many, many people right now; but is something else, that I just need to let go of daft bias to understand. Cheers old bean!

Yup. Stunningly to me, some seem not to understand that asking it to make an amusing image of a kitten on a skateboard or a pornographic image are other than identical mechanical processes from a technology pov. It's almost like they think AI is an intelligence.
Indeed they are. And putting two fingers up to all that helped me finally call time on 35 years of IT pish.
That's more usually machine learning to be pedantic (which is used to create LLMs). It is much scarier than the relative parlour trick of LLM.
Yup
Nor the hands of Joe public or any human formation. Power corrupts and this is an 'all these things I will give unto Thee' moment.

It will do great good but I don't think the inseparable cost will be worth it. But it's going to happen either way.

Yup.

Dude the fact you've called Musk a cant a few times is neither here nor there.. It is about this incident, this result, and the victims being created right now.

But aye no worries. It's all very complex isn't it. Needs more nuance and consideration. I'll take my simpleton self away and think about how this isn't in fact a sick, twisted fuck-up by the worlds richest man - showing no remorse or desire to correct - that will be affecting many, many people right now; but is something else, that I just need to let go of daft bias to understand. Cheers old bean!
Ok

Another interesting thing - and I hesitate to use the word ironic as that seems almost facetious given the subject - is that here we have the home of the right-wing child abuse crusaders becoming the internet's number one place to easily create, view and share child sexual abuse imagery. It's almost like.. Well, you know.

Perhaps rather simplistic but in my view if you can't control your platform your platform should be shut down. Regulation can't come soon enough but probably never will, or will be a token gesture.

I made the decision a few weeks ago to completely delete all my social media accounts Facebook, Instagram, X etc. Obviously people will only know stuff and ask questions based on the amount of stuff you share looking for more gossip but I’ve found that even when you don’t post even for a few days people be it family or in work are quizzing you about why you’re gone so quiet on social media and I don’t mean asking in a caring way either but more in a “tell us the juicy bad gossip” way. It has certain positives of course but my own personal experience is I’m better off without it and being a ghost online protects my mental health and privacy. The madness of the bounce is all the dopamine hit I need lol. But in terms of X formerly Twitter I always found it by far the most bitter and nasty toxic platforms of them all before Musk took over and it’s still continuing since he bought it. It’s a cesspit.

Stopped twitter after the coup and not miss it at all. Wish I could get rid of Facebook but its used by the supporters bus and son's football team etc

I’m much the same. Twitter got binned months ago as it is utterly toxic and Facebook is heading in the same direction. Not with friends posts or followed pages of mine but I’m finding my feed is wall to wall garbage and political wars.
I’d bin it today if I didn’t need it for communication with people in the brass banding community.

Another interesting thing - and I hesitate to use the word ironic as that seems almost facetious given the subject - is that here we have the home of the right-wing child abuse crusaders becoming the internet's number one place to easily create, view and share child sexual abuse imagery. It's almost like.. Well, you know.
Do you genuinely believe X is only used for right wing politics? Do you genuinely believe nonces will eschew exploitable tools through disapproval of those politics? Do you genuinely believe sexual deviants are confined to any political tradition (as opposed to political advance of their 'interests' which historically has been, and not to the right)?

If so I refer you to my previous. You are opting out of reality. I hope it gives you what you need.

Perhaps rather simplistic but in my view if you can't control your platform your platform should be shut down. Regulation can't come soon enough but probably never will, or will be a token gesture.
That problem pervades all of LLM. The whackamole efforts to keep ChatGPT in check are darkly amusing.

The problem is we are locked into a 'if we don't do it someone will' dynamic so the US isn't going to stifle it's AI industries while the Chinese are already taking the lead.

Do you genuinely believe X is only used for right wing politics? Do you genuinely believe nonces will eschew exploitable tools through disapproval of those politics? Do you genuinely believe sexual deviants are confined to any political tradition (as opposed to political advance of their 'interests' which historically has been, and not to the right)?

If so I refer you to my previous. You are opting out of reality. I hope it gives you what you need.
Where did I say it was only used for right-wing politics? Careful old chap, you're doing that thing you accused me of.. That's on-theme here right enough!

For your info:

And a nice wee AI summary

So aye, point stands. It's a home for right-wingers. Did you not know?

Where did I say it was only used for right-wing politics? Careful old chap, you're doing that thing you accused me of.. That's on-theme here right enough!

For your info:

And a nice wee AI summary

So aye, point stands. It's a home for right-wingers. Did you not know?
Cringe as feck dude. If only you could see it.

Blue Sky became infamous for it, and I suspect for similar reasons to grok here - far less resources to implement safeguards vs twitter. So when it became the destination for the 'alternative' crowd...
I'm on Bluesky and I'm not a nonce nor have I ever seen anything remotely approaching nonce behaviour on it.

So it actually isn't nonce central.

It intrigues me how people on the left seem to think there is only one political viewpoint and set of beliefs to subscribe to ( left wing ). There’s Moderates, Centre, Centre Left, Centre Right, Right Wing etc. It’s as if you can’t have an opposing view to left wingers and if you do you’re branded the worst kind. There’s a lot of things on the modern Lefts side that I think is repulsive like supporting Abortion up to 40 weeks of pregnancy for any reason, thinking children and teens are mature enough to make permanent life altering decisions like getting their genitalia removed and pumping their bodies with puberty blockers whilst they aren’t legally allowed to drink, get a tattoo or drive a car or even vote. And before anybody tries to twist it it is parties in America, The UK, Ireland that push these policies. So let’s not try and sweep it under the carpet. But if you’re on the right politically you’re castigated 🙄

what a load o shite

Saying what a load of shite doesn’t make my point untrue. Do the Democrats in America not support these things??? Yes they do. Do Labour and The Greens in the UK not support these things??? Yes they do. Do Sinn Fein, Labour, Social Democrats, PBP in Ireland support these things??? Yes they do. They’ve publicly supported this stuff ffs what world are you living in??? The leader of the Green Party in England on TV last year said women can have a penis ffs. 🤦🏻‍♂️