That's me in the spotlight, Losin' my religion

It was inevitable. I must admit to thinking religion was becoming more and more irrelevant since I was old enough to make up my own mind in my early teens. The priest was far from happy and my Dad ended up asking/telling him to leave!

However each to their own.

"For the first time, a majority of people in Scotland say they are not religious, according to new census data, external.
In the 2022 census, 51.1% of respondents said they had "no religion," up from 36.7% in 2011.
The change was driven by a collapse in Christianity, particularly among Protestants.
While the Church of Scotland remains the largest religious group, its numbers have halved in a decade.

Screenshot_20240522_170340_Samsung Internet.jpg

I think I'm right in saying practising Catholics now outnumber practising Protestants an all. It was certainly forecast to happen around now and I think has though covid has stirred the pot a bit.

Cannae last; we are aging and crumbing even more than the average aging and crumbling society. We'll need to get some African Christians and / or Muslims or Asian Muslims on board pdq and in vast number (especially if we do become independent).

I think I'm right in saying practising Catholics now outnumber practising Protestants an all. It was certainly forecast to happen around now and I think has though covid has stirred the pot a bit.

Cannae last; we are aging and crumbing even more than the average aging and crumbling society. We'll need to get some African Christians and / or Muslims or Asian Muslims on board pdq and in vast number (especially if we do become independent).

What would you have done if you read the book you adhere to as an adult. ? Be truthful. You're smart as fuck in the main. Why do adults partake in this ?

Well if you want to start grilling people;

Given you implicitly believe that reality is either eternally existing and uncaused, or sprang into being from nothing - in either case, ‘magic’ - how do you reconcile that belief with your mr rationalist stance? And please don’t try and sit on the fence - it’s one or the other, whatever layers of mechanical processes then follow. I’m not asking you which it is, I’m not asking you about those mechanics, I’m simply asking how you reconcile your belief in magic with your posture.

Secondly, I assume you reject such Christian notions as equality, care for the weak, individual rights and other such things which make no sense in an atheist universe - not least ‘right or wrong’? If not, for what reason do you set yourself against our understanding of nature ? Why do you adhere to things so evidently false within your worldview, and anything but universal in human history? Do you think you would have just landed on these things if not for the fluke you were brought up in a society with a Christian heritage? What would you have done if not shaped by a Book you reject but whose legacy you adhere to?

Thirdly, I assume you concede that you (and me) don’t have free will, and pretty much any view we think that we take on anything is founded on a tower of chemically induced delusions that constitute how we perceive reality, and thus your question is pointless, like all other questions? Pointless on many levels as I was always going to make the choices I did, and you yours, and neither of us had any influence over it. Pointless because it’s of no consequence. Pointless because there is no truth to discover beyond some mechanics we cannot comprehend properly, and which in any case are arbitrary and probably local to our corner of reality.

Answer me all that and it’s worth having the debate rather than go over the usual atheist bellyaches we did to death in the Dawkins era.

Ps bonus question - why do you think it is rational to adhere to a position that is looking like a blatant evolutionary failure? If the only ‘point’ (and it’s not a point but for want of a better word) of life is to propagate itself, then anything that impedes that is a fail. And if that is isn’t irrational in a universe absent any wider grounding in reason, then what it is? If you disagree, what are the foundations for your determination of rationality ? Oh and given Genghis Khan is believed to have disseminated his dna more widely than any other human, at least since small original populations, do you agree that this murderous mega rapist is the benchmark for human endeavours? If not, why not?

Well if you want to start grilling people;

Given you implicitly believe that reality is either eternally existing and uncaused, or sprang into being from nothing - in either case, ‘magic’ - how do you reconcile that belief with your mr rationalist stance? And please don’t try and sit on the fence - it’s one or the other, whatever layers of mechanical processes then follow. I’m not asking you which it is, I’m not asking you about those mechanics, I’m simply asking how you reconcile your belief in magic with your posture.
So in your first paragraph youve set a scene that I believe in magic ratheer than an all powerful all seeing , all knowing "thing". What a riduclous opening start.
Secondly, I assume you reject such Christian notions as equality, care for the weak, individual rights and other such things which make no sense in an atheist universe - not least ‘right or wrong’? If not, for what reason do you set yourself against our understanding of nature ? Why do you adhere to things so evidently false within your worldview, and anything but universal in human history? Do you think you would have just landed on these things if not for the fluke you were brought up in a society with a Christian heritage? What would you have done if not shaped by a Book you reject but whose legacy you adhere to?

I reject completeley that "equality" (yip, theres loads of equality in the bible. A book which condones slavery for example!!) and your fantastic notion that before Christianity (FFS how many older stories are out there of eg an immaculate conception, a messiah blah blah blah. There IS NOTHING original at all in the story of your messiah) there were no human traits of love and care etc before the chritians came. Laughable. Your getting human traits and behaviours mixed up with a believe system wihout one ounce of proof of any existance. You probably pray. You tell me ONE time, ONCE where your prayers were answered and you can wholly contribute it to the paranormal.
Thirdly, I assume you concede that you (and me) don’t have free will, and pretty much any view we think that we take on anything is founded on a tower of chemically induced delusions that constitute how we perceive reality, and thus your question is pointless, like all other questions? Pointless on many levels as I was always going to make the choices I did, and you yours, and neither of us had any influence over it. Pointless because it’s of no consequence. Pointless because there is no truth to discover beyond some mechanics we cannot comprehend properly, and which in any case are arbitrary and probably local to our corner of reality.

Free will. Does the raped lady have free will egb? Do little Palestian children, as an example have free will when they are bombed by and slaughtered by peoples from a neighbouring country.? Does that then mean we have to make up fantastic tales of an all powerful all seeing all knowing "thing". A creator of everything who demands worship! wtaf. You pick and choose the parts of your bible and you ignore anything that doesnt suite. Where are the thousands of other gods at yhe mo egb. Wheres Odin got to?
Answer me all that and it’s worth having the debate rather than go over the usual atheist bellyaches we did to death in the Dawkins era.

Ps bonus question - why do you think it is rational to adhere to a position that is looking like a blatant evolutionary failure? If the only ‘point’ (and it’s not a point but for want of a better word) of life is to propagate itself, then anything that impedes that is a fail. And if that is isn’t irrational in a universe absent any wider grounding in reason, then what it is? If you disagree, what are the foundations for your determination of rationality ? Oh and given Genghis Khan is believed to have disseminated his dna more widely than any other human, at least since small original populations, do you agree that this murderous mega rapist is the benchmark for human endeavours? If not, why not?
I asked a very simple question to you. I asked if you had read your bible as an adult, what would you have thought of it. I know the answer, you dont wish to, as when you do, you know where it leads.
1716448552806.png

Jesus.

God "gave" his son, to come down to earth to be tortured and die for our sins. All the dead rose and wandered about etc. WTF. Why didnt god jus pop down and tell us. What an awfy convoluted way of doing things, wouldnt you agree.

If a bear attacks its prey, it will simply start eating it alive. eh? That no shan? CAreful no piss into some rivers in Africa, as there are paracites that will travel up you urine and into your body and kill you.....

Can you give one piece of proof of the existance of this being you worship. Why do you wish to believe in a being which demands worship, and if not, it will cast you in the fiery furnace for all eternity? What the fuck is the point in that? Why are there so many versions of this all seeing all knowing all powerful being out there. Can all you religious human beings out there be right? The answer is no. Can you all be wrong? The answer is yes.

You wholly dodged my question. Its was very easy and fundamental. Give me science where there is a burden of proof, which changes constantly as we learn more and disprove theories over asinine "faith" every day of the week.

Really, tho, I was looking for you, Egb, the man, the bounce legend, the force of nature to give me youre rationale for this nonsense. I got an Egb waffle. This subject is your cross to bear. The one you dodge and have dodged for centuries of bounce musings. I think its because you can only , once ll is said and done, fall back on "faith" and "faith" alone..... so nothing really. Cheers for taking the time to not really answer tho.

Ps, I wasnt grilling you FFS!.... and you're probably THE most "grilling" poster on the bounce!! Not a dig from my point of view btw.
... and I kind of kept away from your bible, becasuse thats a fucking belter of contradictions almost from start to finish, which probably demands a thread all on its own.

Ps, I wasnt grilling you FFS!.... and you're probably THE molst "grilling" poster on the bounce!! Not a dig from my point of view btw.
... and I kind of kept away from your bible, becasuse thats a fucking belter of contradictions almost from start to finish, which probably demands a thread all on its own.
I read that as 'moist grilling poster'. I wish I hadn't!

Coincidentally I've been watching a fair amount of religious/atheist debates recently on youtube. Doesn't matter who the speakers are it just boils down to one thing, our default position should be agnostic as nobody knows. The burden of proof of existence of God lies with believers. Faith isn't enough, it means nothing.
In the main atheists are astounded that despite the abject misery worldwide, intelligent adults believe in a loving God.

Coincidentally I've been watching a fair amount of religious/atheist debates recently on youtube. Doesn't matter who the speakers are it just boils down to one thing, our default position should be agnostic as nobody knows. The burden of proof of existence of God lies with believers. Faith isn't enough, it means nothing.
In the main atheists are astounded that despite the abject misery worldwide, intelligent adults believe in a loving God.

That's always been it for me. Can I prove a god exists - no. Is there any credible reason to believe it does - no.

I see the appeal of organised religion as similar to the appeal of conspiracy theories; a desire for order and a grand explanation as to why things are the way they are because chaos and not knowing is scary.

Good points BH although I believe faith is enough. You either have faith or you don't. Faith doesn't need to argue or investigate, it's just there. Faith guides people through their life without them even aware of it. If it gives comfort to folk, who am I to disagree?
I went to church because my mother wished me to. When I was 12 and had to leave Sunday School and begin attending church services, it was left to me to decide for myself. I stopped going because at that age I was finding many more ways to spend my time. I never stopped believing my bible lessons until I had enough life experience to begin questioning things. Once my enquiring mind looked at what had influenced me (the bible, sermons, most of all my mothers beliefs) I began edging into a reality known as the 'real world as I see it' rather than the way I had been taught to see it.
I have great respect for faith and the people that have it. The downside is the fanatics who reside (to differing degrees) within all religious doctrines who don't teach but brainwash. Fear is not faith, it's simply fear.

So I am an athiest because I don't have a faith. Who made us? Why? How? (I have to believe in evolution of the species because of "the science") Big bang? How is the universe never ending? If it does have limits what is beyond?

I'm going for a cup of tea - I have wandered too much and my brain hurts!

Good points BH although I believe faith is enough. You either have faith or you don't. Faith doesn't need to argue or investigate, it's just there. Faith guides people through their life without them even aware of it.
I went to church because my mother wished me to. When I was 12 and had to leave Sunday School and begin attending church services, it was left to me to decide for myself. I stopped going because at that age I was finding many more ways to spend my time. I never stopped believing my bible lessons until I had enough life experience to begin questioning things. Once my enquiring mind looked at what had influenced me (the bible, sermons, most of all my mothers beliefs) I began edging into a reality known as the 'real world as I see it' rather than the way I had been taught to see it.
I have great respect for faith and the people that have it. The downside is the fanatics who reside (to differing degrees) within all religious doctrines who don't teach but brainwash. Fear is not faith, it's simply fear. Intolerance of beliefs other than your own.

So I am an athiest because I don't have a faith. Who made us? Why? How? (I have to believe in evolution of the species because of "the science") Big bang? How is the universe never ending? If it does have limits what is beyond?

I'm going for a cup of tea - I have wandered too much and my brain hurts!
Thanks for that. Very similar to myself. Faith is a thing which brings peace and contentment to millions. Absolutely useless, bordering on laughable as an argument for the existence of God though.

@emerald green

I don't have time to answer your points right now. I'll pick up tonight. Suffice to say my reasons are in part related to the questions I put to you and you didn't answer.

All the things you need to believe to be an atheist who gives a fck about what that implies - most don't but you seem to have that kind of mind - well its quite a stretch in itself. Your reaction to the first paragraph is to this point - however strange you find the idea of a belief in a Deity to be, its certainly no stranger than the alternative...but that question is seldom examined.

Anyway, will pick up tonight.

Not wanting to get into this beyond the point that isn't the answer essentially unknowable? So surely the issue is how it is applied in the world we live in? I believe that people have a right to follow their faith. I also wince when I hear religious people claim God spoke to them to justify acts.

So it's , for me, about how we moderate that tension.

The problem with atheists -- by which I mean the "we are all a confluence of space dust hurtling through an indifferent cosmos for no reason other than a colossal cosmic fluke" crowd -- is that they cannot answer for, nor account for, the concept of meaning.

My position (or rather, my opinion!) is that humanity cannot function adequately without some sense of a governing meaning to life that gives some sort of point to our endeavours, other than natural appetites/emotions like greed, hatred, fear, etc.

This need may well simply be an unfortunate byproduct of our oversize brains, and our concomitant capacity for abstract thought, but the fact remains nonetheless.

Whether it's "true" or not, religion has traditionally provided us with this sense of overarching meaning. We might speculate that we (meaning humanity generally) have in a sense "consciously committed" to religious belief; with the tacit 'deal' being, you provide yourself with the meaning you need to make sense of your own existence and role in the world as something other than an arbitrarily animated sack of meat and bone.

I myself have no practicing religion. However, I often wrestle with the above. What I certainly don't do, and indeed find pretty distasteful, is mock and belittle religious belief as the preserve of the easily led and/or plain stupid. Those who do, in my view, haven't really paused for very long to interrogate how arbitrary their own perceptions of their existence in fact are.

For example, try and reconcile acceptance of "The Big Bang" with your perception and understanding of time, and see where you end up. I'd argue that you very quickly find yourself at uncritical acceptance that "it just happened, okay? There was no 'before.' The scientists have told us"; i.e., precisely the kind of acceptance you mock the religious for. An article of faith, if you will.

Might it be that some form of uncritical acceptance is required by us all, religious and atheist alike, to stay sane?

Thanks for that. Very similar to myself. Faith is a thing which brings peace and contentment to millions. Absolutely useless, bordering on laughable as an argument for the existence of God though.
I agree with that, although those of faith tend not to argue the case too much unless, of course, they are Jehovah's Witnesses. One of my sisters in law joined them and as she is now a "disciple" she has a " duty" to enroll everybody. She is not welcome anywhere in the family because she won't visit without bringing out the sales pitch. . Her husband divorced her as soon as the kids had left home.
Shame as she was such a lovely person before.

The problem with atheists -- by which I mean the "we are all a confluence of space dust hurtling through an indifferent cosmos for no reason other than a colossal cosmic fluke" crowd -- is that they cannot answer for, nor account for, the concept of meaning.

My position (or rather, my opinion!) is that humanity cannot function adequately without some sense of a governing meaning to life that gives some sort of point to our endeavours, other than natural appetites/emotions like greed, hatred, fear, etc.

This need may well simply be an unfortunate byproduct of our oversize brains, and our concomitant capacity for abstract thought, but the fact remains nonetheless.

Whether it's "true" or not, religion has traditionally provided us with this sense of overarching meaning. We might speculate that we (meaning humanity generally) have in a sense "consciously committed" to religious belief; with the tacit 'deal' being, you provide yourself with the meaning you need to make sense of your own existence and role in the world as something other than an arbitrarily animated sack of meat and bone.

I myself have no practicing religion. However, I often wrestle with the above. What I certainly don't do, and indeed find pretty distasteful, is mock and belittle religious belief as the preserve of the easily led and/or plain stupid. Those who do, in my view, haven't really paused for very long to interrogate how arbitrary their own perceptions of their existence in fact are.

For example, try and reconcile acceptance of "The Big Bang" with your perception and understanding of time, and see where you end up. I'd argue that you very quickly find yourself at uncritical acceptance that "it just happened, okay? There was no 'before.' The scientists have told us"; i.e., precisely the kind of acceptance you mock the religious for. An article of faith, if you will.

Might it be that some form of uncritical acceptance is required by us all, religious and atheist alike, to stay sane?
As an atheist, I only occasionally give any thought to "the meaning of life". I suspect that we will NEVER get any closure on these issues so I don't lose any sleep over it. There is enough in this world for me to ponder on without getting into a loop of the unsolveable.

What are you getting at with meaning?

I've never understood why living a meaningful life and being an animated sack of meat and bone are mutually exclusive. If I'm a happy sack of meat that cares for his family and contributes to society, has my life no meaning because I accept what I am at a material level?

I agree with that, although those of faith tend not to argue the case too much unless, of course, they are Jehovah's Witnesses. One of my sisters in law joined them and as she is now a "disciple" she has a " duty" to enroll everybody. She is not welcome anywhere in the family because she won't visit without bringing out the sales pitch. . Her husband divorced her as soon as the kids had left home.
Shame as she was such a lovely person before.
My big sister went out with a Jehovah's witness for a year or two and he was exactly the opposite. He attended meetings at the Kingdom Hall but never brought it into our place. He even joined us for Christmas Dinner and would discuss his faith if asked (we were pretty much C of S).

Apart from being a merrick he was actually pretty sound.

Given you implicitly believe that reality is either eternally existing and uncaused, or sprang into being from nothing - in either case, ‘magic’ - how do you reconcile that belief with your mr rationalist stance?

"magic" seems a bit glib but are you proposing it is a choice between "magic" or some form of god that put all this together? The god(s) described in religions, the one that seems to ADD seems more than a little far fetched. The "magic" is really just a shortfall in science understanding of the universe and how it came into being.

@emerald green

I don't have time to answer your points right now. I'll pick up tonight. Suffice to say my reasons are in part related to the questions I put to you and you didn't answer.

All the things you need to believe to be an atheist who gives a fck about what that implies - most don't but you seem to have that kind of mind - well its quite a stretch in itself. Your reaction to the first paragraph is to this point - however strange you find the idea of a belief in a Deity to be, its certainly no stranger than the alternative...but that question is seldom examined.

Anyway, will pick up tonight.
sounds a bit radge this, but i actually think that athiests are actually agnostic atheists!

So in your first paragraph youve set a scene that I believe in magic ratheer than an all powerful all seeing , all knowing "thing". What a riduclous opening start.
Right , first off a request. It’s not the 00s anymore and angry man atheist is a bit britpop these days. Please can we conduct this debate in your normal way?

Second, I’m not wanting to write a book that no one wants to read, so will try and pick up the many points succinctly. Come back to any you are particularly interested in. (Edit upon finishing - fail!)

Lastly, and at the risk of matching Archie for lawyerly posing, I’m not qualified to answer some of this stuff, you need to speak to someone who is more up on Theology.

Anyway…

Regards the first point; glib you might find it, but you come from the school of sky fairy denouncing glibsters do you not? (Edit - sorry that was Burbank, apologies if you view it differently but your earlier salvo suggests not). I’m pointing out precisely that you are not starting on firmer ground so perhaps that’s worth bearing in mind. Oh and science has nothing to say here and never will; your faith articles aren’t a get out of jail.

As I said below, the requirement to be an atheist - if you think about it, and again most don’t - starts from here, and then as enumerated in my subsequent questions, requires belief in things that must be false in an atheist universe….well to function anyway.

It’s more than you can charge at any religion where ultimately you can only express disbelief however strongly. In an atheist universe the bunch of things I listed must be so. It’s all a bit much for me to reconcile, and tbh virtually no atheists do, and those that tried invariably went bonkers.

These days most western atheists are instead alcohol-free lager Christians. Fair enough, but one might ask for a bit less disdain for where you get your worldview, not least since your faith is nonsensical with the key ingredient taken out.

Failing so far on brevity, will try harder…
I reject completeley that "equality" (yip, theres loads of equality in the bible. A book which condones slavery for example!!) and your fantastic notion that before Christianity (FFS how many older stories are out there of eg an immaculate conception, a messiah blah blah blah. There IS NOTHING original at all in the story of your messiah) there were no human traits of love and care etc before the chritians came. Laughable. Your getting human traits and behaviours mixed up with a believe system wihout one ounce of proof of any existance.
Sorry, dawkinsian tosh. Our notion of equality very much comes from the New Testament as does eventually the abolition of slavery, which is present in the history of the OT as it was practised by he Jews as by everyone everywhere. Yes, it took Christians fckn ages to follow through on the logic of their beliefs, but they did in the end, and abolished it where no one else did (some transient and local efforts in the ancient world should be noted - but nothing underpinning them to allow it to spread and last it seems).

Returning to equality, what does it even mean in an atheist universe? It’s nonsense on stilts in the context of evolution and is literally devoid of meaning. It’s a faith article imported from Christianity.

I mean what does it mean ? In what sense are people equal without resort to any religious concepts ? (The latter includes right or wrong attitudes to hold; so please don’t employ them - they’re meaningless in an atheist universe. There is useful and not useful).

You probably pray. You tell me ONE time, ONCE where your prayers were answered and you can wholly contribute it to the paranormal.
I’m not making any paranormal claims and I’m quite surprised you expect me to. I don’t think any Christian would answer differently (some of these American types perhaps excepted). Pray then do stuff, to very loosely paraphrase the Pope. Because of Christianity I’ve done lots of things I wouldn’t otherwise have done, and not done lots of things I would otherwise have done. My nature is far from angelic.
Free will. Does the raped lady have free will egb? Do little Palestian children, as an example have free will when they are bombed by and slaughtered by peoples from a neighbouring country.? Does that then mean we have to make up fantastic tales of an all powerful all seeing all knowing "thing". A creator of everything who demands worship! wtaf. You pick and choose the parts of your bible and you ignore anything that doesnt suite. Where are the thousands of other gods at yhe mo egb. Wheres Odin got to?

What is this all about ? Nothing to do with anything. Please return to the point, which is not that some poor people are victims of others against their will, it’s that in an atheist universe there is no free will. Do you accept that? If not why not ?

As for Odin et al, the stock response to that is religion is hard wired in mankind, and the panoply of Gods reflects man’s attempts to understand a sensed Divine.
I asked a very simple question to you. I asked if you had read your bible as an adult, what would you have thought of it. I know the answer, you dont wish to, as when you do, you know where it leads.
The following is a bit cringe tbh. I love how atheists think that in thousands of years religions haven’t been over this kind of thing endlessly and with considerably more depth than this logic free doodle. Please don’t take us down to this level.
View attachment 14006

Jesus.

God "gave" his son, to come down to earth to be tortured and die for our sins. All the dead rose and wandered about etc. WTF. Why didnt god jus pop down and tell us. What an awfy convoluted way of doing things, wouldnt you agree.
Free will. You’re missing out the part where the idyll atheists complain God hasn’t bestowed is in the hereafter. This life is about free will, and free choices, including to reject. Of course you don’t believe that as is your wont, but it’s not the inconsistent position your preachers would have it.
If a bear attacks its prey, it will simply start eating it alive. eh? That no shan? CAreful no piss into some rivers in Africa, as there are paracites that will travel up you urine and into your body and kill you.....
Not sure what your point is? Why is it shan if you’re an atheist? It just is. You’ll have to look to theologians for serious discussions of ‘natural evil’. My take on things - and I don’t know if they’d agree - is this environment is full of challenges we can freely choose to pick up. Or not. Ie help people or pursue our own gratification. Free choice doesn’t mean much if limited to coke vs Pepsi.
Can you give one piece of proof of the existance of this being you worship. Why do you wish to believe in a being which demands worship, and if not, it will cast you in the fiery furnace for all eternity? What the fuck is the point in that? Why are there so many versions of this all seeing all knowing all powerful being out there. Can all you religious human beings out there be right? The answer is no. Can you all be wrong? The answer is yes.

You wholly dodged my question. Its was very easy and fundamental. Give me science where there is a burden of proof, which changes constantly as we learn more and disprove theories over asinine "faith" every day of the week.
Why on earth do you expect that I am going to try and offer you proof of something that is faith based?

Your own faith in science is a little tambourine waving, not to say unscientific. Science is just a discipline for exploring mechanical processes, nothing more, nothing less. It’s fckn great but you dont seem to have a good grasp of what it is which is perhaps behind your scientistic sounding statements of faith. Scientism - science as religion - isn’t new btw. It’s been tried and swiftly failed long before the naïfs of the 00s tried and swiftly failed, and are now denounced by their own former flock who have substantially gone full moonhowler.

Science is never, ever, going to resolve the magic point I put to you for one example. That is where science fails in its reach - well actually well well before that. If you don’t get that, you don’t get what science is I’m afraid.
Really, tho, I was looking for you, Egb, the man, the bounce legend, the force of nature to give me youre rationale for this nonsense. I got an Egb waffle. This subject is your cross to bear. The one you dodge and have dodged for centuries of bounce musings. I think it’s because you can only , once ll is said and done, fall back on "faith" and "faith" alone..... so nothing really. Cheers for taking the time to not really answer tho.
Where the feck were you in the 00s. This was done to death endlessly and I was the opposite of dodging it. I don’t major on the topic anymore for that very reason. It was done and done again. We all know where we are.

As I said before, I gave you my answers in my question to you. Your implicit beliefs and the double think required to function are wildly improbable to me and the outcome is a pretty pishy one that fails on its own terms as well as any other (ie all atheist social groupings start to die out the moment they become such - at least without a strong proxy for religion).

You seem to assume this comes from childhood. It of course does in as much as I would be unlikely to pick anything I wasn’t aware of but how many kids do you know that read the Bible? As a kid I barely thought about this at all, as a teenager and for a good while beyond I still didn’t think about anything and if asked would have come out with many of the blithe assumptions that society has bequeathed to you. When I started to think about them they feel to pieces, and that was part of my way to engaging with religion properly for the first time, or at least as properly as I get.

Things you seem to think just natural human things are emphatically not to the point it’s an absurdity to believe this once you make the most cursory examination of history or nature. But…it’s passed on by the hand that rocks the cradle as it’s one of the faith articles of our own society. What do you think you’d have concluded if not saturated by this stuff from day one, never challenged to examine it, and never had the reality pushed at you? Or maybe you think you’d have been the human rights advocate in Genghis Khan’s cohort?

Right I have answered you at length. Will you return the favour and answer what was put to you?

"magic" seems a bit glib but are you proposing it is a choice between "magic" or some form of god that put all this together? The god(s) described in religions, the one that seems to ADD seems more than a little far fetched. The "magic" is really just a shortfall in science understanding of the universe and how it came into being.
If you have another option I’d be interested. Science won’t be providing it. I can’t think of any beyond:

A) reality has always existed (I choose that word to shift us beyond cycles of big bangs and collapse or whatever - if you prefer ‘something’ has always existed), it is eternal and without cause. That is by definition beyond the reach of science. It’s to all intents and purposes ‘magic’. It’s not yet to be explained btw, it can never be explained - explanation is rooted in causality and there is no cause.

B) reality sprang into being from nothing. Again, magic and beyond the reach of science. Again no cause, no set of conditions, no nothing: not yet to be explained, fundamentally not explainable.

C) There is a creator. Now if that is, say, aliens, we are still within realm of reality / something, so we just go round the cycle and end up back at A or B, or at a creator beyond nature, which is the realm of science, aka ‘supernatural’.

Now I’m not saying you can’t mount any number of challenges to C, I’m just saying the average atheist tub thumper doesn’t seem to pause to reflect that a or b are no less strange, at minimum.

If you have an option d I’m all ears.

I enjoy the egb posts usually but I'm bamboozled with this thread 😒

If you have another option I’d be interested. Science won’t be providing it. I can’t think of any beyond:

A) reality has always existed (I choose that word to shift us beyond cycles of big bangs and collapse or whatever - if you prefer ‘something’ has always existed), it is eternal and without cause. That is by definition beyond the reach of science. It’s to all intents and purposes ‘magic’. It’s not yet to be explained btw, it can never be explained - explanation is rooted in causality and there is no cause.

B) reality sprang into being from nothing. Again, magic and beyond the reach of science. Again no cause, no set of conditions, no nothing: not yet to be explained, fundamentally not explainable.

C) There is a creator. Now if that is, say, aliens, we are still within realm of reality / something, so we just go round the cycle and end up back at A or B, or at a creator beyond nature, which is the realm of science, aka ‘supernatural’.

Now I’m not saying you can’t mount any number of challenges to C, I’m just saying the average atheist tub thumper doesn’t seem to pause to reflect that a or b are no less strange, at minimum.

It's the way you use the term "magic" that is bothersome for me. Something, anything that is not 100% certain is not necessarily "magic" it is just not known. A simple card trick to the eyes of a child is "magic". Science and the study of the universe and its beginnings is carried out in universities and laboratories, not the Magic Castle Hotel in Los Angeles.

The idea of a creator is fine, but there needs to be some evidence for it. The scratchings on parchment from a few thousand years ago will not suffice. The one god thing is a pretty new concept anyway. Maybe the answer will be founds in physics and space.

If you have an option d I’m all ears.

It's not really something I give a great deal of thought. It's not something I seek out, the meaning of life and all that. But it can be interesting when people put out their thoughts on it. Why is there something rather than nothing? Because nothing is unstable? Ah yes, "magic". Multi universes is another. Another one I read was actually from David Ike I think, where we exist as some sort of vibrating frequency or something. I doubt there is any actual science behind that theory but whatever. It boggles the mind, space, time and physics, black holes and what not.

Mibbes no the same thing but back in my youth I spent the night with a young lady of my acquaintance. After a couple of hours, well 1 anyway, of close encounters she said tae me, and I quote...
MY GOD BILLY, THAT WAS FUCKIN MAGIC.
Like I said, mibbes no the same context.:coffee1:

Mibbes no the same thing but back in my youth I spent the night with a young lady of my acquaintance. After a couple of hours, well 1 anyway, of close encounters she said tae me, and I quote...
MY GOD BILLY, THAT WAS FUCKIN MAGIC.
Like I said, mibbes no the same context.:coffee1:
About as believable as the sky fairy 🤣