Telly/Poll/Scotland's greatest team Defenders

• Thread starter Thread starter Deleted member 12281
  • Start date Start date

Vote for 4 please

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Deleted member 12281

Sorry for the huge delay in posting the poll :bounce mobile only does the basics, no fancy stuff like polls.

You voted for:

Dalglish and Law upfront

Bremner Gemmill Johnstone and Souness in midfield

Who do you want in defence?

Pick four please

Mon youse!
If you voted in the other two selections can you vote again please? Its no sixes we're playing

Mon youse!
If you voted in the other two selections can you vote again please? Its no sixes we're playing
Nae fecker cares about defenders :rollfloor

Went with Miller, McLeish, McNeil & Gemmell. Miller & McLeish you can't seperate really and they were possibly the best defensive partnership we've ever had. Not enough full backs available to pick a balanced side imo.

And Alan Hansen was one of the options? WTF is that aw aboot? He was pish for Scotland.

That midfield is all over the place. Souness and Johnstone every time. No arguments there. But Bremner would be totally unnecessary when Souness was there to be the token animal booting fuck out of everyone. Murdoch, on the other hand, had the sort of class that the wee Leeds savage could never emulate.

And another thing take away his wonder goal and Archie Gemmill would have been barely remembered as a Scottish international, and if so as little more than average-forgettable. One spark of sublime magic and dewey-eyed nostalgia overcomes reality. Archie Gemmill better than Jim Baxter? :rollfloor

Also, the idea that Willie Miller or Alan Hansen was a better defender than Pat Stanton (thrice honoured as captain of the national team) is Total Pish Inc. That goes for big dumb uncultured puddings like Gordon McQueen and Richard Gough an aw.

Sack the selection panel.

Just saying like.

Dont like the look of the team so far.Midfield looks too robust and lacking flair-meisters that were available.

Daglish/Gilzean

Robertson/Murdoch/Souness/Johnstone

Typical Scotland, fucking even a fantasy team up!

Here's the team...

Andy Goram

Sandy Jardine at right back
Danny McGrain at left back
Alex McLeish and Willie Miller in central defence

Jimmy Johnstone on the right wing causing mayhem
Graeme Souness controlling the centre midfield
Billy Bremner providing the dig
Davie Cooper on the left pushing up to support the front two

Kenny Dalglish and Denis Law up front

Subs
Jim Leighton
Gordon McQueen
Jim Baxter
John Robertson
Joe Jordan

Sorry for the huge delay in posting the poll :bounce mobile only does the basics, no fancy stuff like polls.

You voted for:

Dalglish and Law upfront

Bremner Gemmill Johnstone and Souness in midfield

Who do you want in defence?

Pick four please

Thanks Flasher. Wondered where you were with this last week and I don't know how to set up polls.:rollfloor My team matches the one above so far except I had Strachan in instead of Bremner.

The full backs are easy for me but the centre backs are a very difficult choice. Tommy Gemmill on the left. He's the only out and out LB I see on that list but having seen vids of the Lisbon Lions I felt he was one of the most impressive players on show there. Not for his goal or his tackling but more because he looked like a modern day wing back who could get forward, support the attack, and he appeared very comfortable on the ball. Lovely wee shimmy he had too.

On the right, McGrain without a doubt. Very consistent player, good on the ball and could tackle. A stick on when fit for the Scotland team when I was growing up. It was often said (probably in Scotland) that he was the best right back in the world. That was taking it a bit far but he was very good none the less for many years for club and country.

Centre backs. Very tough choice because little to choose between four or five of them for me. Yes, nobody could argue with the McLeish/Miller partnership but I disagree that Hansen was pish for Scotland. Maybe the Hansen/Miller incident clouding your judgement there Wee? He was also the most elegant of all the Scottish centre backs and a terrific club player for what was then the most successful club side in Europe. So leaving aside personalities and his Match of the Day nonsense Alan Hansen is in for me as I love to see a central defender who can do a lot more than just heid the ba or get stuck in. Maybe a slightly sentimental one this but I have some very fond memories of Gordon McQueen as a centre half for Scotland.
He was fantastic in the air and was able to chip in with a few crucial goals from corners, etc. His strength in the air would nicely compliment Hansen's skills on the ground I think.

That midfield is all over the place. Souness and Johnstone every time. No arguments there. But Bremner would be totally unnecessary when Souness was there to be the token animal booting fuck out of everyone. Murdoch, on the other hand, had the sort of class that the wee Leeds savage could never emulate.

And another thing take away his wonder goal and Archie Gemmill would have been barely remembered as a Scottish international, and if so as little more than average-forgettable. One spark of sublime magic and dewey-eyed nostalgia overcomes reality. Archie Gemmill better than Jim Baxter? :rollfloor

Also, the idea that Willie Miller or Alan Hansen was a better defender than Pat Stanton (thrice honoured as captain of the national team) is Total Pish Inc. That goes for big dumb uncultured puddings like Gordon McQueen and Richard Gough an aw.

Sack the selection panel.

Just saying like.

I agree on the points about Bremner (because Souness was a mighty ballwinner) and also that the Archie Gemmill thing is a bit coloured by one amazing goal that everybody in Scotland has seen. He was a great wee player but I think there are others on the list who were better and Rioch or Masson were probably regarded as better players than Gemmill prior to that magical moment.

However, McQueen a puddin? Hae a word wi yersel! Are you sure you're not focussing on his Sky Sports performances? Played for years for two of the best sides in England during that era and went from Leeds to Man U for about 500k which was a massive fee in 1978. One of the biggest fees England had ever seen at the time if I remember correctly. Also scored 5 goals in 30 games for Scotland which is not at all bad for a defender - indeed most of our strikers would struggle to reach that figure now.

Thanks Flasher. Wondered where you were with this last week and I don't know how to set up polls.:rollfloor My team matches the one above so far except I had Strachan in instead of Bremner.

The full backs are easy for me but the centre backs are a very difficult choice. Tommy Gemmill on the left. He's the only out and out LB I see on that list but having seen vids of the Lisbon Lions I felt he was one of the most impressive players on show there. Not for his goal or his tackling but more because he looked like a modern day wing back who could get forward, support the attack, and he appeared very comfortable on the ball. Lovely wee shimmy he had too.

On the right, McGrain without a doubt. Very consistent player, good on the ball and could tackle. A stick on when fit for the Scotland team when I was growing up. It was often said (probably in Scotland) that he was the best right back in the world. That was taking it a bit far but he was very good none the less for many years for club and country.

Centre backs. Very tough choice because little to choose between four or five of them for me. Yes, nobody could argue with the McLeish/Miller partnership but I disagree that Hansen was pish for Scotland. Maybe the Hansen/Miller incident clouding your judgement there Wee? He was also the most elegant of all the Scottish centre backs and a terrific club player for what was then the most successful club side in Europe. So leaving aside personalities and his Match of the Day nonsense Alan Hansen is in for me as I love to see a central defender who can do a lot more than just heid the ba or get stuck in. Maybe a slightly sentimental one this but I have some very fond memories of Gordon McQueen as a centre half for Scotland.
He was fantastic in the air and was able to chip in with a few crucial goals from corners, etc. His strength in the air would nicely compliment Hansen's skills on the ground I think.

I agree on the points about Bremner (because Souness was a mighty ballwinner) and also that the Archie Gemmill thing is a bit coloured by one amazing goal that everybody in Scotland has seen. He was a great wee player but I think there are others on the list who were better and Rioch or Masson were probably regarded as better players than Gemmill prior to that magical moment.

However, McQueen a puddin? Hae a word wi yersel! Are you sure you're not focussing on his Sky Sports performances? Played for years for two of the best sides in England during that era and went from Leeds to Man U for about 500k which was a massive fee in 1978. One of the biggest fees England had ever seen at the time if I remember correctly. Also scored 5 goals in 30 games for Scotland which is not at all bad for a defender - indeed most of our strikers would struggle to reach that figure now.

Would find it hard to include any player who played for one of the "best sides in England" in the early 70s. Hanging is too good for every last one of them. The only good things to happen to that miserable shower of dirty cheating bassas were Brian Clough and the Celtc semi-final. In both cases they buckled. No Lorimers, Bremners, Grays or McQueens welcome. :huffy

No more votes please.
Im going to start the new polls now.
Ive asked Jamie if its possible to merge them all the polls

Here's the team...

Andy Goram

Sandy Jardine at right back
Danny McGrain at left back
Alex McLeish and Willie Miller in central defence

Jimmy Johnstone on the right wing causing mayhem
Graeme Souness controlling the centre midfield
Billy Bremner providing the dig
Davie Cooper on the left pushing up to support the front two