Taxi wars loom as licensing chiefs let minicabs cut fares

Edinburgh City Private Hire have gained a new customer in me too. It's about time the Edinburgh taxi cartel was stopped - no other industry is allowed such protection over its prices.

Central Taxis and City Cabs can GTF :bye

Taxi wars loom as licensing chiefs let minicabs cut fares - Edinburgh Evening News

I know who i'll be phoning for a Taxi hame around christmas :Sparkle_Cool:

Maybe make the bad taxi feckers up their game

Taxi fares comin' doon!!! Feckin' brilliant! :applause:

Read through and canny help but think the Black drivers are still at the scaremongerin' ...

But a spokesman for the black cab trade said: "This is a recipe for disaster. It sounds farcical, but you could end up with over 800 tariffs in the private hire trade. Customers will automatically assume that someone somewhere down the line is ripping them off.

:dunno:

Where do they get 800 from?

Is this the amount of Private cars in Edinburgh, if so, do they expect them all to be charging a different rate from one another?

I would've thought that CEC would set the bar for a cheap rate and that all Privates would have to follow suit. Or each private company would have to set its rate advertise it as such.

The Blacks have had it their way for tooooooo long, and the arrogant attitude of some drivers is fuckin' ridiculous. Some actually think they own the road.

Do they still have the monopoly at Edinburgh Airport?

:read:

When I did PHC in Hamilton it was 2 flat plus 0.10 per tenth off a mile which was pretty standard across all cars/company so I don't see how they could end up with 800 tarrifs as most couldn't reasonably afford to go cheaper than that
(Posted fae ma mobile fone)

But a spokesman for the black cab trade said: ...blah..blah... .Customers will automatically assume that someone somewhere down the line is ripping them off.

Surely a step up from knowing that the guy driving you home is ripping you off which is the current situation.

Are the fares that excessive when you take all the overheads into account? The driver still has to get a wage at the end of the week. Meter prices are the maximum they're allowed to charge not a set in stone price. What you end up with is a free for all with customers wandering up and down the rank trying to get a couple of quid off the fare. I know this is a PH company cutting fares but it ends up with the situation that goes on in Kilmarnock with companies undercutting until it becomes impossible to make a profit and the only left are the ones with the most drug money to launder.

Nonsense. Drivers never charge less than the meter price.

Presumably you think that shops, bars, restaurants and other services should all be forced to charge the same, highest possible price and that all pricing should be strictly controlled by the government?

Don't you think it's strange that all businesses don't just go under in a downward spiral of lower pricing?

For years, taxi prices have been kept artificially high. I've never understood how it is legal but there you go.

But a spokesman for the black cab trade said: ...blah..blah... .Customers will automatically assume that someone somewhere down the line is ripping them off.

Surely a step up from knowing that the guy driving you home is ripping you off which is the current situation.

And how exactly you being ripped off...???

PS enjoy your asian friends taking you home via sat nav :yams:

Much cheapness !!!

Taxi wars loom as licensing chiefs let minicabs cut fares - Edinburgh Evening News

I know who i'll be phoning for a Taxi hame around christmas :Sparkle_Cool:

Maybe make the bad taxi feckers up their game

do explain how we the "real" taxi ( not private car) drivers can up our game .???

Nonsense. Drivers never charge less than the meter price.

Presumably you think that shops, bars, restaurants and other services should all be forced to charge the same, highest possible price and that all pricing should be strictly controlled by the government?

Don't you think it's strange that all businesses don't just go under in a downward spiral of lower pricing?

For years, taxi prices have been kept artificially high. I've never understood how it is legal but there you go.

What you get with downward prices is a situation where something has to give and it's the honest hardworking person that suffers as the bottom line is cut. Supermarkets cutting prices who pays for it? Suppliers get told how much they will receive for goods and staff get less than last year with an erosion of terms and conditions at every opportunity.
I got out of it as I couldn't make the minimum wage due to the council making c unt of it in this town.

And how exactly you being ripped off...???

Because you're getting charged more than you would if there was competition allowed (like in every other business).

PS enjoy your asian friends taking you home via sat nav :yams:

Much cheapness !!!

I think that statement speaks for itself. I presume from the racist overtones that you're a taxi driver?

What you get with downward prices is a situation where something has to give and it's the honest hardworking person that suffers as the bottom line is cut. Supermarkets cutting prices who pays for it? Suppliers get told how much they will receive for goods and staff get less than last year with an erosion of terms and conditions at every opportunity.
I got out of it as I couldn't make the minimum wage due to the council making c unt of it in this town.

It's not a bottomless spiral of downward prices, it's just the same level of competition that happens in every other industry. I'm not going to argue whether that's right or not but at the end of the day this is a capitalist society - why should it be different for taxi drivers?

I'm sorry you couldn't make money doing it but cabbies I've spoken to say it's a fine living.

Taxi fares comin' doon!!! Feckin' brilliant! :applause:

Read through and canny help but think the Black drivers are still at the scaremongerin' ...

But a spokesman for the black cab trade said: "This is a recipe for disaster. It sounds farcical, but you could end up with over 800 tariffs in the private hire trade. Customers will automatically assume that someone somewhere down the line is ripping them off.

Where do they get 800 from?

Is this the amount of Private cars in Edinburgh, if so, do they expect them all to be charging a different rate from one another?

I would've thought that CEC would set the bar for a cheap rate and that all Privates would have to follow suit. Or each private company would have to set its rate advertise it as such.

The Blacks have had it their way for tooooooo long, and the arrogant attitude of some drivers is fuckin' ridiculous. Some actually think they own the road.

Do they still have the monopoly at Edinburgh Airport?

:read:

We do own the road and we do own ther airport:077::rascal:

Because you're getting charged more than you would if there was competition allowed (like in every other business).

I think that statement speaks for itself. I presume from the racist overtones that you're a taxi driver?

thats a real taxi driver not a clown who dont know anywhere outwit princes street without the use of a sat nav.

Not racist open your eyes and tell me how many phc drivers are asian who pick up illegally and openly flaunt the rules and regualtions that are clearly set out when they recieve there 32 mickey mouse "brief"

Maybe they should complete the knowledge and 6 modules at college like the real drivers do and get police checked and disclosure checked.

Thats the difference.

thats a real taxi driver not a clown who dont know anywhere outwit princes street without the use of a sat nav.

You're doing a good job of sounding like a clown.

Not racist open your eyes and tell me how many phc drivers are asian who pick up illegally and openly flaunt the rules and regualtions that are clearly set out when they recieve there 32 mickey mouse "brief"

So the only drivers who flout the rules are Asians? Feck me, you're the one who needs to open his eyes. I'm sorry but you are coming across as pretty racist.

Maybe they should complete the knowledge and 6 modules at college like the real drivers do and get police checked and disclosure checked.

Thats the difference.

In a choice between an Asian driver with sat-nav than a bitter, racist Scottish guy charging a third more (and probably fiddling his taxes) I know which I'd take. Anyway, as far as I understand it, this isn't about private hire cabs, it's about black cabs.

You're doing a good job of sounding like a clown.

So the only drivers who flout the rules are Asians? Feck me, you're the one who needs to open his eyes. I'm sorry but you are coming across as pretty racist.

In a choice between an Asian driver with sat-nav than a bitter, racist Scottish guy charging a third more (and probably fiddling his taxes) I know which I'd take. Anyway, as far as I understand it, this isn't about private hire cabs, it's about black cabs.

What you know about the edinburgh taxi trade you could jot down on the back of a first class stamp with a bingo dabber.

Ask your phc friends how happy they are at taking a 30% pay cut on cash jobs and 42.5% pay cut on a contract job...oh then ask them why there bosses want a pay cut.????? Maybe then ill take you seriously.

Clue---Mad Vlad in the same line of business.:detective:

As for fiddling ma taxes...is that the best you can come up with.??

Anyway, as far as I understand it, this isn't about private hire cabs, it's about black cabs.
I thought this was about a private hire companies bid to be allowed to charge less.
PH cars will be able to operate on lesser fares as their overheads are much less.
Old crappy cars that cost about 1/3 of the price even when brand new. Insurance for about half the price.
Fuel costs about 25% less.
Drivers that will work for less as they officially work 16 hours per week and fiddle the system.

What you know about the edinburgh taxi trade you could jot down on the back of a first class stamp with a bingo dabber.
There doesn't appear to be that much to know, you're certainly not providing much illumination.

Ask your phc friends how happy they are at taking a 30% pay cut on cash jobs and 42.5% pay cut on a contract job...oh then ask them why there bosses want a pay cut.????? Maybe then ill take you seriously.
I don't see the relevance. Why do you think taxi drivers should have a right to protected pricing when no other industry gets it?

Clue---Mad Vlad in the same line of business.:detective:
You've lost me. Processing Aluminium, selling bootleg Stones records out the back of a Trabant, running a shitty bank or bankrupting football clubs? :dunno:

As for fiddling ma taxes...is that the best you can come up with.??
I'm sure there's more but I notice you don't deny it. :wink:

I thought this was about a private hire companies bid to be allowed to charge less.
PH cars will be able to operate on lesser fares as their overheads are much less.
Old crappy cars that cost about 1/3 of the price even when brand new. Insurance for about half the price.
Drivers that will work for less as they officially work 16 hours per week and fiddle the system.

It'll extend to black cabs too.

Private hire cars already do all these things, so that's nothing new. At the end of the day it's about consumer choice - I'm happy getting driven in a Skoda or whatever, actually they're more comfortable anyway and the drivers are often more pleasant.

I'd also like to travel in a Skoda for less money. Companies (including some black cabs I've no doubt) want to charge me less so I don't see what the problem is.

It'll extend to black cabs too.

Private hire cars already do all these things, so that's nothing new. At the end of the day it's about consumer choice - I'm happy getting driven in a Skoda or whatever, actually they're more comfortable anyway and the drivers are often more pleasant.

I'd also like to travel in a Skoda for less money. Companies (including some black cabs I've no doubt) want to charge me less so I don't see what the problem is.

So when all the overpriced black cabs are bankrupt who's going to clear the streets at the end of the night?

Maybe that's the reason why they have applied to be able to charge less then?

If their overheads are less then it seems reasonable that they should be able to charge less and still match the profit levels of the black cabs?

So when all the overpriced black cabs are bankrupt who's going to clear the streets at the end of the night?

If their are people needing cleared then why would they be bankrupt?

This isn't about black cabs reducing their fares it's about customers having a cheaper alternative, isn't it?

Maybe that's the reason why they have applied to be able to charge less then?

If their overheads are less then it seems reasonable that they should be able to charge less and still match the profit levels of the black cabs?

If their are people needing cleared then why would they be bankrupt?

This isn't about black cabs reducing their fares it's about customers having a cheaper alternative, isn't it?

They'd be bankrupt because you can't survive on 4 or 5 busy hours per week which is what you get when the gigs fucked. I know i've been there.

Why do you get Black taxis ignoring you late at night when they have there light on?? PHC should be allowed to pick up from the street:wink:that would put an end to the black taxi snobbery:wink:

Some do i've never understood it. At busy times I didn't care how short the journey was. I stopped for anybody as long as they didn't have food and weren't staggering most of them were very grateful and tipped well. If they were troublesome faces were noted and they were left to walk in future.
Private hire is exactly that not public hire. Different regulations and insurance you get in one without booking through his office he's not insured to be carrying you.

Some do i've never understood it. At busy times I didn't care how short the journey was. I stopped for anybody as long as they didn't have food and weren't staggering most of them were very grateful and tipped well. If they were troublesome faces were noted and they were left to walk in future.
Private hire is exactly that not public hire. Different regulations and insurance you get in one without booking through his office he's not insured to be carrying you.

I know.But with different regulations they should be able to :wink:

Get them all to sit street knowledge test and get them in purpose built vehicles for a start then.

To become arseholes like 9 out of 10 black cab drivers.There are too many Black cabs picking and choosing there work so let them pick up from the street.They wont be so picky then:approve:

But they have "the knowledge"!!

:rollfloor:rollfloor:rollfloor:rollfloor:rollfloor:rollfloor:rollfloor

So does the satnav.

Does satnav give you the quickest route from A to B? Black Cab drivers will take you the quickest route, allegedly!

I seem to recall the scenic route from Haymarket Station to Easter Road when one of them assumed I was from out of town.

why purpose built vehicles, which cost thousands more than some of the cars PH's use, surely thats just an unneccessary expense? A lot of PH cars are very comfortable, and if there was an issue with safety then they would'nt be on the road. The street knowledge is as good/bad as any driver wants it to be. I've been in both Blacks & PH's and the drivers have fucked up their directions. Just because a driver has the knowledge ticket does'nt mean to say he's any better a driver than a PH driver. He may, he may not.

why purpose built vehicles, which cost thousands more than some of the cars PH's use, surely thats just an unneccessary expense? A lot of PH cars are very comfortable, and if there was an issue with safety then they would'nt be on the road.

Agree with that. Many use Verso people carriers round my way which are much better than hacks. Especially for the built in child seat.

or just store the PHC number in your phone, and phone it to pick you up, or pre book your car for when your night is finished, guarenteed a run home then.

As for the black cab snobbery, why can we not have skodas with rook lights, every other town and city does, Edinburgh is one off the only cities that only allow black cabs to pick up (that i am aware off)

That would cost a fortune and inevitably push up prices !

why purpose built vehicles, which cost thousands more than some of the cars PH's use, surely thats just an unneccessary expense? A lot of PH cars are very comfortable, and if there was an issue with safety then they would'nt be on the road. The street knowledge is as good/bad as any driver wants it to be. I've been in both Blacks & PH's and the drivers have fucked up their directions. Just because a driver has the knowledge ticket does'nt mean to say he's any better a driver than a PH driver. He may, he may not.

Well said

or just store the PHC number in your phone, and phone it to pick you up, or pre book your car for when your night is finished, guarenteed a run home then.

As for the black cab snobbery, why can we not have skodas with rook lights, every other town and city does, Edinburgh is one off the only cities that only allow black cabs to pick up (that i am aware off)

Agreed.

I'm disappointed that a poster who i have great respect for should make such a suggestion. The implication of your post suggests to me that all taxi drivers are racist is well wide of the mark.

Funnily enough i did some night shift work during the festival in black taxi's... I stress taxi because that's what it was a taxi. Not some old banger not fit for purpose should say any disabled passenger be looking to call for transport home late in the evening...

And i was shocked at how many of the fares from all over the world (every colour and background) remarked at how helpful the drivers were in Edinburgh taxi's. And indeed at how friendly they were. So it wasn't just a comment at the service i was offering but that experienced in the entire duration of their trip.

I'm sorry you couldn't make money doing it but cabbies I've spoken to say it's a fine living.

Really? I took the opportunity to do some day shift work last week for a driver who was off on holiday. I worked a 9-5 shift (kind of traditional working day?) I was kept fairly busy but at the end of the day after paying my costs (rental & diesel) i cleared after 3 days 140. Yes one hundred and forty pounds.

I had no breaks and took no lunch for 5.83 an hour. Don't know top of my head what the minimum wage is but it must be around that?

So aye "Fine living".

I spoke to other drivers in the trade. "Ach laddie you've got to work the 12 hour shift". It was explained to me that had i done that (6am-6pm) then i'd have made myself "..around 100". So instead of 5.83 an hour that would have been 8.33 an hour. "Fine living territory!!!".

Also, what do you mean the prices are "Artifically high"? Have you actually thought through the actual costs of servicing an actual Taxi to be on the road?

If a Taxi meter in Edinburgh was put on and left for an hour the amount at the end of the hour would be 20 (25 pence for every 45 seconds).

Off that 20 an hour you have the cost of purchasing the vehicle, it's running and maintenance costs (the edinburgh taxi vehicle examination centre is very notoriously quite rightly tough on standards) then diesel at 1.08 a litre. All before a wage for the often abused (just because he or she can be and just for the sheer hell of it) driver.

It took me 7 months of study and college courses to pass the hour long city council examination in the city chambers. I wasn't able to just purchase a sat-nav and drive....

Look at the taxi ranks all week. The cabs are fighting to get on them they are so busy. What does that tell you? The industry has been hammered by the recession (no difference from others but in tougher times folk do hold back on such costs such as restaurants and taxi's)

With regards to private hire... Most of these guys are just like the rest of us all in trying to earn an honest crust. However, speak to the drivers. They are earning an absolute pittance. The council should be ashamed at themselves. They've allowed on their watch an explosion in the growth of the private hire registrations....

Just read Kenny Macaskill's comments on the proceeds of private hire...:lookaround:

Private Hire want to discount because they want a price war in order to force black taxi's off the roads (They already are. You'll find a lot of LRT drivers were taxi drivers but got out not being able to make a "Fine wage".).

With support from folk like yourself and Edinburgh Council we can decimate the Edinburgh Black Taxi trade and see Edinburgh crammed with Private Hire. A lot of drivers who have poor English (basing that on feedback from those that have tried private hire tempted by the 10% discount but returned to taxi's with real knowledge) but never mind for a while you'll get 10% cheaper fares (But not really as they'll have gone the long way..) then when the Black Taxi trade is dead and gone without council restrictions on cost they'll put the prices right up to real profitable levels.

The amount of views posted on this thread with no knowledge or understanding is untrue and all from folk who i'd have expected to put much more though into their opinion before just assuming that their tenner fare hame at 2am was excessive.

Oh and thank fuck i'm moving on from my short term visit into the "Fine living" Edinburgh Taxi trade.:giggle:

I'm disappointed that a poster who i have great respect for should make such a suggestion. The implication of your post suggests to me that all taxi drivers are racist is well wide of the mark.

Funnily enough i did some night shift work during the festival in black taxi's... I stress taxi because that's what it was a taxi. Not some old banger not fit for purpose should say any disabled passenger be looking to call for transport home late in the evening...

And i was shocked at how many of the fares from all over the world (every colour and background) remarked at how helpful the drivers were in Edinburgh taxi's. And indeed at how friendly they were. So it wasn't just a comment at the service i was offering but that experienced in the entire duration of their trip.

Really? I took the opportunity to do some day shift work last week for a driver who was off on holiday. I worked a 9-5 shift (kind of traditional working day?) I was kept fairly busy but at the end of the day after paying my costs (rental & diesel) i cleared after 3 days 140. Yes one hundred and forty pounds.

I had no breaks and took no lunch for 5.83 an hour. Don't know top of my head what the minimum wage is but it must be around that?

So aye "Fine living".

I spoke to other drivers in the trade. "Ach laddie you've got to work the 12 hour shift". It was explained to me that had i done that (6am-6pm) then i'd have made myself "..around 100". So instead of 5.83 an hour that would have been 8.33 an hour. "Fine living territory!!!".

Also, what do you mean the prices are "Artifically high"? Have you actually thought through the actual costs of servicing an actual Taxi to be on the road?

If a Taxi meter in Edinburgh was put on and left for an hour the amount at the end of the hour would be 20 (25 pence for every 45 seconds).

Off that 20 an hour you have the cost of purchasing the vehicle, it's running and maintenance costs (the edinburgh taxi vehicle examination centre is very notoriously quite rightly tough on standards) then diesel at 1.08 a litre. All before a wage for the often abused (just because he or she can be and just for the sheer hell of it) driver.

It took me 7 months of study and college courses to pass the hour long city council examination in the city chambers. I wasn't able to just purchase a sat-nav and drive....

Look at the taxi ranks all week. The cabs are fighting to get on them they are so busy. What does that tell you? The industry has been hammered by the recession (no difference from others but in tougher times folk do hold back on such costs such as restaurants and taxi's)

With regards to private hire... Most of these guys are just like the rest of us all in trying to earn an honest crust. However, speak to the drivers. They are earning an absolute pittance. The council should be ashamed at themselves. They've allowed on their watch an explosion in the growth of the private hire registrations....

Just read Kenny Macaskill's comments on the proceeds of private hire...:lookaround:

Private Hire want to discount because they want a price war in order to force black taxi's off the roads (They already are. You'll find a lot of LRT drivers were taxi drivers but got out not being able to make a "Fine wage".).

With support from folk like yourself and Edinburgh Council we can decimate the Edinburgh Black Taxi trade and see Edinburgh crammed with Private Hire. A lot of drivers who have poor English (basing that on feedback from those that have tried private hire tempted by the 10% discount but returned to taxi's with real knowledge) but never mind for a while you'll get 10% cheaper fares (But not really as they'll have gone the long way..) then when the Black Taxi trade is dead and gone without council restrictions on cost they'll put the prices right up to real profitable levels.

The amount of views posted on this thread with no knowledge or understanding is untrue and all from folk who i'd have expected to put much more though into their opinion before just assuming that their tenner fare hame at 2am was excessive.

Oh and thank fuck i'm moving on from my short term visit into the "Fine living" Edinburgh Taxi trade.:giggle:

Here Here...too many eejits out there thinking that were all ripping them off and making zillions...oh and we have to put up with them verbally abusing you and trying to tell you where to go and lets not forget the sickness:pullhair: aye it can be a great job eh :detective:

You can always walk home.

So aye "Fine living".

I've come across a good few racist taxi drivers in my time. My insinuation is probably unfair, taxi drivers are probably not more likely to be racist than folk in other walks of life, it's just that they are more likely to give their opinions than other people you've just met. I would maintain that legod4's comments were typical of a lot of black cab drivers.

I expect you are also right that someone just starting out as a driver does not make much cash. That is the same in almost every job. Lawyers, accountants and doctors start on a pittance too. That doesn't mean there aren't people making a decent living. Even based on your figures, I'd say that starting off at 17,500 plus unlimited overtime and flexible tax contributions :wink: isn't that bad for what's a relatively unskilled job. It's comparable with a lot of other jobs tbh. The longer you stay in it, the better your earnings get.

I can't get into arguments about overheads etc. but what I will say is that from a consumer point of view it is unfair that there is no competition. The fares should not be set artificially high.

Logically, the inflexible price structure might actually be holding drivers back from making a living by decreasing the number of people using their services.

Competition does not mean that fares will free fall to the point that drivers can not make a living - basic economics will see to that. What will happen is that the prices will move to a point that the maximum number of people are willing to pay, whilst drivers can still afford to stay on the road.

Yes, the recession has had a big effect and there are taxis lining up with no customers. That's an argument for lowering the prices in order to increase custom, not keeping the status quo.

Heading off out (too nice a day to get stuck behind a PC:wink:) but just how do you arrive at that conclusion?

You'd have to ask the drivers but I'd guess it's to do with becoming more experienced (knowing where to get fares, when are the busy times to work etc.) and also moving on from being just a driver to becoming a cab owner.

Agreed that is exactly correct.