Sunday 31st December 1972

What were you doing?

I honestly cant remember.

Probably had a wee sleep then up to the Tron with a few mates before scouring Leith for random parties.

One things for sure. I woke up somewhere, checked I had my match ticket and headed off to Tynecastle, as it was known then :giggle:

At 3 pm the crowd fecking roared and the next 90 minutes of football was the stuff of song and legend.

Jimmy ORourke thought he was set
When he put the ball in the jam tarts net
Bye Bye jam tarts

Alan Gordon running through
Cooly stroked in number two
Bye Bye jam tarts

Bobby Seith thought that he was only dreaming
When Arthur Duncan hammered number three in

The Hibees choir sang for more
Alex Cropley made it four
Bye Bye jam tarts

Hearts defenders on the skive
Arthur Duncan made it five
Bye Bye jam tarts

Paddy Stanton showed his tricks
As Jimmy ORourke scored number 6
Bye Bye jam tarts

Eddie Turnbull thought he was up in heaven
When Alan Gordon knocked in number seven

The Hibees fans wanted eight
But the jam tarts finally shut the gate
jam tarts bye bye

I know what I was doing.

Lying in bed......Hating my dad (in a 6 year old kinda way) because he had just said......

"Nah son, yer still too wee, me and yer uncles will tell you all aboot it, it`ll be too scary for you. I`ll take you to Easter Road next game, where I can keep an eye on you. Next game, son, Promise."

I forgave and understood him, and as time went on I understood, that he was probably right.

Still rip the auld bastard about it, and the fact that he was too pished to even bring me a programme home. (left it in a pub) :banger:

Anyway, just happily shared a beer with him, and am grateful for that if nowt else. :bbb:

Bring them fuckers on!!!!!!! :bbb:

Got a wee tear in my eye as I remember that night. I was in a Jambo mates house with all( and there was a few of them)his family, mostly jambos, but a couple of Hibbies there too. Party went on all night, me and my mate had an hour or so kip and left to go to the game. Top of Liberton Brae and we decided to get off the bus and head back to his and a kip. 7 pm and my mates auld man came and woke us, 1st question was what was the score? 7-0? aye right, I thought he was winding me up and it wisnae till my mates brother and Hibby brother in law came in that I knew it was true.
That Jambo mate died on Saturday. 41 years almost to the day.
RIP Roddy

I'd be interested to know what my dad was up to that night. He'd have been 18 and completely unaware of the game that was to unfold the following day let alone my arrival in under ten years time!

I do know that he had a bottle of something (vodka, if I remember right) in the inside pocket of his jacket that he had to dump in "a big metal cage" at the turnstiles. Anyone else vouch for them?

I wasn't even a thought... Turned up 16 years later.

I had just turned 8 years old the week before (Christmas day)...my dad wouldn't take me and my brother to any game involving Hearts or the Old Firm due to the crowd trouble. I've never forgiven him ! Next day we were all down at my Grandma's when my dad came into the living room urging us to come through to the kitchen to listen to the radio commentary as Hibs were winning 6-0. We heard the seventh goal going in on the radio and all the Hibs fans chanting...Hi-bees...Hi-bees! Watched the highlights than night when all my uncles and relatives who had been at the game came in pished to watch it again. Happy childhood memories...

I'd be interested to know what my dad was up to that night. He'd have been 18 and completely unaware of the game that was to unfold the following day let alone my arrival in under ten years time!

I do know that he had a bottle of something (vodka, if I remember right) in the inside pocket of his jacket that he had to dump in "a big metal cage" at the turnstiles. Anyone else vouch for them?

I can.
Definitely turnstiles that day.
I was at the game resplendent in my tailored green suit. Hadn't made it home from the previous night.
Had a half bottle of vodka tinged with lime in my pocket.
Half time saw me fu' and the boatil empty.

I remember a Gunt applauding Hibs off at full time.
He respected the victory but cried for the ignominy.

I cried too, to see the distress amongst our corgi chums.

Not every bit of the above is true.

wasn't born but my dad and his pal were standing in the enclosure behind the dug outs at tynecastle quaffing whisky and a few cans watching us rip the pish out off jim jefferies and co..

It was the first time since I was about 7 years old that we didn't go to stay with my Jambo grandfather in Pilton for New Year and we always went to the Ne'erday game. I remember preferring to stay in the Blue Toon that year (I was approaching my 16th birthday) and go out with my mates instead. Oh how I have regretted that decision ever since.

At my Grannies and feeling down because my Dad wouldn't take me,my older sister said I'll take him, remember getting my Hibs tammy thrown onto the goal net at the school end by older jambos exiting the ground at half time.
Smiled long after that game in fact even to this day, I loved that Hibs team.

grandpa

Ah the memories. Like a lot of us i had a couple of relatives who supported them. I had an uncle who had a flat on Gorgie Road and there was a family get together before a few of us headed over to the enclosure. I don't think my two Hearts supporting uncles were too keen on their 11 year old nephew by the end of the game. :yas:

On Sunday 31st December 1972 was looking forward to the next days event....
Only twelve at the time on what was my 2nd Edinburgh Derby but alas only saw three of the goals from the jam packed standing enclosure under the main stand. Not that I was too bothered though, it was a privilege just to have been there.
'Always be thankful to my Dad for taking me there to see Hibs knock the shit oot of them :yas: