Standard Life Buys Aegon

Keepitgreen

Hanover Frederick Castle Radge

This one's probably not of much interest to most, but for those of us who have worked or are working in the Edinburgh financial scene it's a bit of a biggie.

Aegon (formerly Scottish Equitable) are a mahoosive employer out at the Gyle, while Standard Life (formerly Phoenix) are a mahoosive employer on Lothian Road.

Smashing together two mahoosive employers usually only leads to one thing - redundancies. And likely, fewer job opportunities here in auld reekie going forward; which is a real shame for young un's especially. It's always been a kind of mainstay in Edinburgh; not sure what to do with your life when you leave school? Head to one of the pension giants!

I'm wondering which site they'll go with as their heid office - Lothian Road obviously much nicer than the Gyle, but must be more pricey to run I imagine. If they move everything to the Gyle, the LR location will be a big muckle office to try and let out to someone else.

Also leaves me wondering if Scottish Widows is next...

Our a nice shiny new monstrosity somewhere over the Gyke would be my guess. Trams, buses and train links are all near or nearby.

The big office in central Edinburgh will become flats or student accomodation.

This one's probably not of much interest to most, but for those of us who have worked or are working in the Edinburgh financial scene it's a bit of a biggie.

Aegon (formerly Scottish Equitable) are a mahoosive employer out at the Gyle, while Standard Life (formerly Phoenix) are a mahoosive employer on Lothian Road.

Smashing together two mahoosive employers usually only leads to one thing - redundancies. And likely, much less job opportunities here in auld reekie going forward; which is a real shame for young un's especially. It's always been a kind of mainstay in Edinburgh; not sure what to do with your life when you leave school? Head to one of the pension giants!

I'm wondering which site they'll go with as their heid office - Lothian Road obviously much nicer than the Gyle, but must be more pricey to run I imagine. If they move everything to the Gyle, the LR location will be a big muckle office to try and let out to someone else.

Also leaves me wondering if Scottish Widows is next...
Not half, when I left school in the late 90s I'd say 75% of my mates went to either the Widows, Standard Life, RBS, or BoS. A lot of them still work there and have done pretty well for themselves.

Our a nice shiny new monstrosity somewhere over the Gyke would be my guess. Trams, buses and train links are all near or nearby.

The big office in central Edinburgh will become flats or student accomodation.
The latter does sound reason enough Jim. Not sure they'd build anything new for themselves though, just re-use whats out at the Gyle.

Working out there is fucking hellish.

Not half, when I left school in the late 90s I'd say 75% of my mates went to either the Widows, Standard Life, RBS, or BoS. A lot of them still work there and have done pretty well for themselves.
Defo Kev. To have one of these options disappear is a real shame.

The latter does sound reason enough Jim. Not sure they'd build anything new for themselves though, just re-use whats out at the Gyle.

Working out there is fucking hellish.
🤣🤣🤣 Since when did workers views ever get taken mate?

Shiny new or something practical for working. 🤔Hmmmmmm

Plus there's nowt like spending money.

I mind when I was living and working in London we were renovating one of the big yank fund managers (Cannae mind the name but it was double barrelled).

They spent countless thousands on one floor alone.

It got finished then someone said another office could be added if this additional work was carried out.

The whole landing was ripped out and redone. The money spent was obscene.

The same when I worked on the National Art Gallery extension.

Me and my mate put 15 coats of paint on the walls each coat a slightly different shade of grey.

Architects and interior designers are a curse on us building trade workers.

No sure Jimmy, 15 coats? Obscene money spent? Sounds like they keep your pockets full! :wink:
And all the gallery's were brushed. We went back in to see it when the painting were in and there was a spotlight on the painting. You couldn't see the walls.

It was the Sainsbury wing extension (I think it was called) so money was no object.

The extras the firm were due were over a £100,000. Saying that the work was high end.

Plaster of Paris walls and oak hardwood skirtings.

I think Standard life house and conference square are mostly leased out to offer company’s