SPL

Davy

Sellik already 1/50 to win league...why does anyone else bother :read: Can't understand why their fans get excited at winning it any more :coffee:

They don't...hence the reason they want to move to England.
The Champions League is the only thing they can get excited about now with Rangers still being in the Championship.
No other club can realistically compete with Celtic in this country...their resources dwarf everybody else's and their squad
is very strong.

Alan Preston on Sportsound there making out Hearts are fuckin Barcelona...

It is one sided but not that dissimilar to many leagues across the world. Look at the EPL, realistically only two or three teams compete for the title, La Liga is the same as is Bundeslegia.

with the Hun being out of the equation its a one horse race, that will change soon and normal service will resume. Not because I think they will get promoted this year, just the powers that be won't allow another season without them in the SPL.

I have no interest in the SPL with Hibs not being in it.

As long as we play each other 4 times a season naebody else will win the league. If we played each other twice I wid back hibs tae take at least 50% o' the points fae celtic but over 4 games the team wi' the better resources should have the advsntage

Majority of my mates are Celtc fans and they all lost interest a few years ago (until they get into CL group stages obviously)

It is one sided but not that dissimilar to many leagues across the world. Look at the EPL, realistically only two or three teams compete for the title, La Liga is the same as is Bundeslegia.

with the Hun being out of the equation its a one horse race, that will change soon and normal service will resume. Not because I think they will get promoted this year, just the powers that be won't allow another season without them in the SPL.

I have no interest in the SPL with Hibs not being in it.

last 30 years there's been 6 different winners of the bundesliga, and another 4 different sides have been among the runners up. Over the coming 30 years it's entirely possible to imagine teams from that 10 winning it and possibly others.

5 of la liga. There's another 3 in the sides that have been among the runners up. Again. sides from that 8 and beyond are conceivable winners in coming decades.

Nowhere is as shite as Scotland.

last 30 years there's been 6 different winners of the bundesliga, and another 4 different sides have been among the runners up. Over the coming 30 years it's entirely possible to imagine teams from that 10 winning it and possibly others.

5 of la liga. There's another 3 in the sides that have been among the runners up. Again. sides from that 8 and beyond are conceivable winners in coming decades.

Nowhere is as $#@!e as Scotland.

This. In my opinion, no team outside the Old Firm will EVER come top of the pile in Scotland again.

Scotland is very unusual when it comes to it's football...

No other country in the world of a similar size and population has clubs the size of Celtic and
potentially Rangers in it. Once Rangers get back up to the top league they will be the only club which can realistically
challenge Celtic for the Title...even though it will take them a few years to be serious challengers again.

We do not have the crowds in this country, and the other clubs at the next level down from the OF, in other words Hearts, Hibs and Aberdeen are simply not well enough supported, or are able to generate anything like enough turnover to mount a serious challenge. Aberdeen have been a revelation since McInness took over there and deserve great credit for what they have achieved but they simply won't be able to finish above Celtic in a 10 month marathon season.

Rangers and Celtic are not football clubs in reality...they are movements. They are both outlets for the absolute cancer of Scottish society..sectarianism and intolerance. I won't say religious intolerance because what both of these vile institutions feed off has nothing to do with "religion" per say...they just use bigotry attributed to so-called religious differences for their own ends and have both grown very fat from the historical sectarian intolerance which so permeates this strange little country of ours. Nothing can be done about it now I'm afraid it's just a sad fact of life in Scottish society which has been ingrained into it for centuries.

Some sort of handicap system really has to be introduced for the bigger clubs in Scotland to make our top league more competitive, but then it suits the Scottish establishment for it not to be competitive. or rather only competitive between the two monoliths of Rangers and Celtic, because that is their idea of a competitive top league in Scotland and that is why there is such an orchestrated campaign and such media cheerleading to get Rangers back into the top league as soon as possible. There is big money to be made from the Old Firm being back together again.

All clubs like Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen can do is try to get bigger as clubs, increase their fan base and try to put up as much challenge as they can. All three should certainly be in the frame for winning cup competitions every season and all three should be regularly competing in Europe. When this doesn't happen with those three clubs, then you know something has gone badly wrong with the way those clubs have been run.

Scotland is very unusual when it comes to it's football...

No other country in the world of a similar size and population has clubs the size of Celtic and
potentially Rangers in it. Once Rangers get back up to the top league they will be the only club which can realistically
challenge Celtic for the Title...even though it will take them a few years to be serious challengers again.

We do not have the crowds in this country, and the other clubs at the next level down from the OF, in other words Hearts, Hibs and Aberdeen are simply not well enough supported, or are able to generate anything like enough turnover to mount a serious challenge. Aberdeen have been a revelation since McInness took over there and deserve great credit for what they have achieved but they simply won't be able to finish above Celtic in a 10 month marathon season.

Rangers and Celtic are not football clubs in reality...they are movements. They are both outlets for the absolute cancer of Scottish society..sectarianism and intolerance. I won't say religious intolerance because what both of these vile institutions feed off has nothing to do with "religion" per say...they just use bigotry attributed to so-called religious differences for their own ends and have both grown very fat from the historical sectarian intolerance which so permeates this strange little country of ours. Nothing can be done about it now I'm afraid it's just a sad fact of life in Scottish society which has been ingrained into it for centuries.

Some sort of handicap system really has to be introduced for the bigger clubs in Scotland to make our top league more competitive, but then it suits the Scottish establishment for it not to be competitive. or rather only competitive between the two monoliths of Rangers and Celtic, because that is their idea of a competitive top league in Scotland and that is why there is such an orchestrated campaign and such media cheerleading to get Rangers back into the top league as soon as possible. There is big money to be made from the Old Firm being back together again.

All clubs like Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen can do is try to get bigger as clubs, increase their fan base and try to put up as much challenge as they can. All three should certainly be in the frame for winning cup competitions every season and all three should be regularly competing in Europe. When this doesn't happen with those three clubs, then you know something has gone badly wrong with the way those clubs have been run.

While I agree with you in what you say about the many bigots who latch onto these teams, there is more to it. Rangers and celtic didnt "suddenly" become Protestant and Catholic, they have always been percieved that way, yet teams outside them in the past did win the league (on occassion). What has happened witht he rise of the media since the late 70's onward is the infatuation of the OF to journalists, TV and magazines. Open a football magazine and if your lucky enough to find Scottish football in it then you know who will feature. Watch a tv sport show and unless it is sportscene then it will mention only the OF, particularly if it is English based. I imagine teams in Spain get sick of Barcelona and Real Madrid in the same way. I don't know what the answer is and if there is an answer, but it cant be good when parents take their kids into a sports shop and only celtic and rangers tops hang from the shelves. The situation may seem bad in England but teams like West Ham, Spurs Newcastle etc all have pretty good fan bases if not the worldwide support the bigger teams have. Until we see some Hibs merchandise in local shops and players out meeting the kids in their parks and youth groups etc it will only get worse.

[MENTION=1476]Greenmachine[/MENTION] is about as accurate as can be. I would concede that the implosion at Ibrox had everyone rejoicing more at the possible light at the end of a sectarian tunnel rather than from the perspective of just another sports club in financial trouble.
The supporters of that club either refuse to accept or are too stupid to realise that the contempt everyone outside of their following has for The Rangers is due to their unashamed racism and intolerance.
The flip side of that coin are in no position to be smug either as their supporters are equally myopic but I would submit that The Rangers are deemed worse because their 'cultural displays' are more prevalent in Scotland.
Sadly a great many supporters of both Glasgow clubs see themselves as the opposing armies still fighting a war over 300 years ago.

Hearts new signing, the Nigerian guy, has got the Scottish medias number already. Using our faithful SevTic lackeys to put it out there that he`s here to try and work a move to Celtc...

http://www.Rag/sport/football/football-transfer-news/hearts-new-boy-juwon-oshaniwa-6189659

I still think the major stumbling block tae anybody else challenging is playing each other 4 times a season. true ,one o' the bigot brothers usually won it but no' by such a big margin and they didnae always finsh 1st and 2nd. as I said somewhere else if we play each other twice i'll back hibs tae take at least 50% o' the points but over 4 games the team wi' the better resources should have the advantage

This. In my opinion, no team outside the Old Firm will EVER come top of the pile in Scotland again.

At least until the sports governing bodies give them the green light to fuck off and play somewhere else. We wont see their studs for dust and i for one cant fuckin wait. :dub:

Nowhere is as $#@!e as Scotland.
You make valid points. My point was that there were similarities with most leagues, there are the big clubs who generally dominate season after season.
Scotland's size and population amongst other factors compounds the 'old firm ' dominance for decades.

Yes Scotland is particularly one sided but not that unique regarding league winners.

cant see it changing anytime soon unfortunately

Refs already have. Not a goal scoring opportunity apparently.

View attachment 5445

I was screaming at the telly when the ref pulled the yellow card out. Guaranteed red despite the commentators excusing the ref by saying the ross county boy took the ball too wide and possibly wouldn't have had the chance to score. Fukk right off :banger: It was cheating plain and simple.