Snake Oil, Placebo, or something elese...

Two Headed Boy

I usually try and avoid alternative remedies and the like, but I succumbed to one this week and gave Myrkl a bash yesterday.

If you haven't heard of this, it's a Scandi food supplement that supposedly prevents hangovers.

Mine have been getting extraordinarily bad as I've progressed into my 40s, to the point where I was considering binning heavy bevvy sessions altogether as a result. So, I thought, why not give these a shot, if it works it works, if it doesn't it doesn't.

So, I took a couple with my dinner last night before a night out in Glesga with my pals that I knew would get a bit messy. 12 pints, a fish supper and 8hrs kip later and...

No hangover this morning. I was genuinely amazed. A slight dry mouth and a wee bit of exhaustion but no headache, no nausea, nothing. I was able to sort myself out with a coffee and get on with my day. The sesh I had last night would normally have had me on my arse until at least tea time these days.

So.... Have I managed to kid myself on with some placebo effect, does it actually work? What do you think?

I usually try and avoid alternative remedies and the like, but I succumbed to one this week and gave Myrkl a bash yesterday.

If you haven't heard of this, it's a Scandi food supplement that supposedly prevents hangovers.

Mine have been getting extraordinarily bad as I've progressed into my 40s, to the point where I was considering binning heavy bevvy sessions altogether as a result. So, I thought, why not give these a shot, if it works it works, if it doesn't it doesn't.

So, I took a couple with my dinner last night before a night out in Glesga with my pals that I knew would get a bit messy. 12 pints, a fish supper and 8hrs kip later and...

No hangover this morning. I was genuinely amazed. A slight dry mouth and a wee bit of exhaustion but no headache, no nausea, nothing. I was able to sort myself out with a coffee and get on with my day. The sesh I had last night would normally have had me on my arse until at least tea time these days.

So.... Have I managed to kid myself on with some placebo effect, does it actually work? What do you think?
There is many natural treatments in the world....But we are always pushed to big pharma.

Ivermectin won a noble prize,and was declared one of the top medicines you should have in your medicine cabinet.

They banned it during Covid!

There is many herbs,minerals,vitamins....that fight the cause of effects.

Thats the reality.

There is many natural treatments in the world....But we are always pushed to big pharma.

Ivermectin won a noble prize,and was declared one of the top medicines you should have in your medicine cabinet.

They banned it during Covid!

There is many herbs,minerals,vitamins....that fight the cause of effects.

Thats the reality.
Ivermectin is a Merck product. Merck are a big pharma company.

Mmmm, detecting some bitterness there and deflected virtue-signalling as some 😄 might say

Well, quite. But more power to you @hibbybilly if you've wrapped the sauce, there are plenty of great reasons to do so

For the avoidance of doubt, I'm not pimping a solution for problem drinkers here, and a teatime to bedtime sesh is not my usual Friday. But, knowing I had one coming up, I thought I'd give these things a whirl and, given the result, I think I might try them again next time I'm having more than couple, whenever that might be.

My name is Billy and it is 18 months since my last hangover. There's only 1 cure.
My name is ,well, whatever anyone wants it to be, and its 7 years since my last hangover.
My epiphany came one Sunday.
My son came round with my then 2 year old grandson and I didnt see them as I was suffering in bed with a hangover.
I vowed I wouldnt miss these moments because of booze.
My only alcohol intake now is the odd glass of wine when out for a meal.

Do I miss the drink?
Not a jot.

My name is ,well, whatever anyone wants it to be, and its 7 years since my last hangover.
My epiphany came one Sunday.
My son came round with my then 2 year old grandson and I didnt see them as I was suffering in bed with a hangover.
I vowed I wouldnt miss these moments because of booze.
My only alcohol intake now is the odd glass of wine when out for a meal.

Do I miss the drink?
Not a jot.
I dinnae miss the hangovers, also I can now go tae the boozer and have 8 bottles and drive hame.