I think Labour are getting unfair stick here. I don’t see how this is different to the pension age going up for men / all. Women will collect more pension on average than men as well. I simply can’t see how they are being wronged.I'm mixed about this. There was clearly a case that some people did not receive information directly, hence to recommended compensation. But much of the campaign seems to be about reversing pension equalisation for this group of women. That can't be right either.
It doesn't help that some of the case studies appear to be where people chose to retire at 55 and didn't do due diligence.
But nobody can claim Labour isn't taking unpopular decisions. But it's legitimate to question whether they are the right ones?
And you think they're getting unfair stick?Labour may be guilty of promising stuff in opposition that they are now going back on, but I’m not sure they done anything unreasonable beyond that -
It was in their manifesto in 2019 but not in the 2024 one.And you think they're getting unfair stick?![]()
So when they said there wid be change they didnae say it was change their mind.It was in their manifesto in 2019 but not in the 2024 one.
It'll be the Post Office victims tae get nowt nae compensation next.So, if we look past all the spin, what Liebour are actually saying here is that the previous government were right and that they, Liebour, just told the electorate a load of shite to gain power.
If Starmer’s government makes it to a five year term I’ll be astounded.
In 2019 they said they would. They lost. In 2024 they didn't. No lies there. What would you do in this case?So when they said there wid be change they didnae say it was change their mind.
Lying cvnts the lot of them.
Except Starmer didn't.So, if we look past all the spin, what Liebour are actually saying here is that the previous government were right and that they, Liebour, just told the electorate a load of shite to gain power.
If Starmer’s government makes it to a five year term I’ll be astounded.
They’ll hing it oot until most of them have croakedIt'll be the Post Office victims tae get nowt nae compensation next.
I don't believe that at all.It'll be the Post Office victims tae get nowt nae compensation next.
He’s got mair faces than the town clock. He doesn’t know half of what he’s promised only to do a 180 as soon as he got in the doorExcept Starmer didn't.
I dont suppose you wid. I do.I don't believe that at all.
It'll be a fuckin 9 darter before long.He’s got mair faces than the town clock. He doesn’t know half of what he’s promised only to do a 180 as soon as he got in the door
Aye. Let’s just see what you could have wonIt'll be a fuckin 9 darter before long.
Where do you live?Aye. Let’s just see what you could have won
I'm sure you do.I dont suppose you wid. I do.
But he didn't commit to do this, no matter how much you want to believe it.He’s got mair faces than the town clock. He doesn’t know half of what he’s promised only to do a 180 as soon as he got in the door
That was then , this is now. Basically they’d say anything when in opposition.
He's still a lying cvnt.But he didn't commit to do this, no matter how much you want to believe it.
Re the comparison with mis-selling. You might know the answer to this. One of the criticisms of the Ombudsman decision was that was compensation for all women in the group, even though a small minority appear to have been affected. I assume the case you cites was only people who had been missold rather than all customers?Is it not the case that when an independent ombudsman says something should happen it should happen?
"In March 2024, the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman (PHSO) said the government had failed to adequately inform thousands of women that the state pension age had changed, external.
It said "too many" didn't understand how the change affected them, and that their complaints "weren't adequately investigated".
As a result the PHSO, which is responsible for investigating complaints about UK government departments, said women should be compensated.
It recommended payments of between £1,000 and £2,950 - less than Waspi had called for.
However, the ombudsman cannot force the government to pay compensation."
In some ways it reminds me of the "bad advice" pension scandal of the 1990s. In this private pension companies had persuaded people to leave their superior company pensions for inferior private pensions.
When the financial ombudsman found in favour of the punters the government of the day forced the outraged private pension companies to reinstate the punters into their company pensions as though they'd never left.
It cost them £13.5bn.
The government of the day didn't say Oh dear, that's an awful lot of money. Only make good your miss-selling if you can afford it.
So what would you do about the Waspi women?.
He's still a lying cvnt.
did ye see the dutch guy and woman the day at the darts... the lad was on the madhoose and the woman on 5.It'll be a fuckin 9 darter before long.
Just put it on now. Missed the afternoon games.did ye see the dutch guy and woman the day at the darts... the lad was on the madhoose and the woman on 5.
Think the boy checked oot on his 33rd dart!!!
Pretty daft asking me? I'm no in a position tae dae anything.So what would you do about the Waspi women?
In case you can't make out the photo above.But he didn't commit to do this, no matter how much you want to believe it.
But not in the 2024 manifesto. I know it's seen as impolite here to bring up the SNP, but in the 2007 manifesto they 'promised to end the hated Council Tax'. And yet I'm still paying it. The thing is, it's a fair criticism of the 2007 administration, but it was dropped from subsequent manifestos, so it's not fair to criticise subsequent SNP administrations on that.In case you can't make out the photo above.
It says "I support fair and fast compensation for 1950s women.”
And he signed it.
So are we to trust someone who reneges on a commitment he made 5 years ago because he can’t be arsed now that he’s The Man?But not in the 2024 manifesto. I know it's seen as impolite here to bring up the SNP, but in the 2007 manifesto they 'promised to end the hated Council Tax'. And yet I'm still paying it. The thing is, it's a fair criticism of the 2007 administration, but it was dropped from subsequent manifestos, so it's not fair to criticise subsequent SNP administrations on that.
If it was in the manifesto it's fair game.
I don't think it would be fair for me to comment on that having not read the ombudsman's report.Re the comparison with mis-selling. You might know the answer to this. One of the criticisms of the Ombudsman decision was that was compensation for all women in the group, even though a small minority appear to have been affected. I assume the case you cites was only people who had been missold rather than all customers?
So are we to trust someone who reneges on a commitment he made 5 years ago because he can’t be arsed now that he’s The Man?
Thanks .I don't think it would be fair for me to comment on that having not read the ombudsman's report.
However in similar cases, such as the current car loan scandal, not informing customers so that they are in a position to make an informed decision is as bad as misleading them. On that basis I'd disagree it would only be a small minority.
Basically I think the pension companies had to review every customer, only those who were worse off were fully reinstated into their company scheme. There was no compensation to the punter as such.
If the government could do the same I'd suggest it would have a good case for only those affected to be compensated.
No I’m referring to the photo and the commitment he made.Well if anything it's a lesson in photo ops with campaign groups can come back and bite you. Are you referring to the 2019 manifesto?