Scrappage Allowance

SoulBamRab

a radge for all seasons
Anybody taken advantage of this yet? I was up at my local garage getting some repairs the other day and the two guys there seemed to think it wasn't worth while, as the scrappage allowance is added on to the price of the car anyway so that the car dealerships are making money off it unless you buy a wee shopping cart for a few grand...?
Is it just government propaganda to make themselves look better or is it beneficial to the average punter?

Thoughts please bouncers, as my present motor is 10 years old in september and i don't want to be spending money on it if i can take advantage of this scheme...

Anybody taken advantage of this yet? I was up at my local garage getting some repairs the other day and the two guys there seemed to think it wasn't worth while, as the scrappage allowance is added on to the price of the car anyway so that the car dealerships are making money off it unless you buy a wee shopping cart for a few grand...?
Is it just government propaganda to make themselves look better or is it beneficial to the average punter?

Thoughts please bouncers, as my present motor is 100 years old in september and i don't want to be spending money on it if i can take advantage of this scheme...

One of the guys at work looked into this Rab. He reckons its a con and didnt go any further. I'm pretty sure there will be an element of over inflating the original price of the car and then giving a reduction but its a governmental scheme so it must be on the up and up shirley:lookaround:

My reaction that the guys at the garage were just saying that so they wouldn't lose business but they are genuine guys that i have been going to for years, so if that is the case surely the car dealers are ripping the pish out of the government?

I had a look at the Peugot website - The scrappage deal for a new 308 verve says "11445.00 on the road - this includes a 4300.00 customer saving"

Wow I thought, thats a good deal so I went to the normal sales part of the website to discover this "Peuogot 308 verve from only 12445.00 on the road".

Now, I've always considered myself to be pretty good at maths so I took 12445.00 and deducted 4300.00 and right enough, it came to 11445.00:gaga:

So that's ok then:dunno:

I had a look at the Peugot website - The scrappage deal for a new 308 verve says "11445.00 on the road - this includes a 4300.00 customer saving"

Wow I thought, thats a good deal so I went to the normal sales part of the website to discover this "Peuogot 308 verve from only 12445.00 on the road".

Now, I've always considered myself to be pretty good at maths so I took 12445.00 and deducted 4300.00 and right enough, it came to 11445.00:gaga:

So basically the dealers are taking the governments scrappage allowance and pocketing it for themselves. Unless i'm sorely mistaken. That's scandalous, unless the government are just saying to the dealers if you pretend your using this scheme we'll give you some cash on the sly :dunno:

My brother is in the car trade and my next door neighbour is high up in Chathams so this is how it works...... If your car is over 10 years old and you have owned it for the last 12 months then you will get 2 grand off a new car. This is made up by 1 grand paid by the manafacture and 1 grand paid by the government.

Here is the con bit!!!...the manafacture takes a grand off the car ( fair enough), the government also gives the manafacturer a grand BUT they recoup that on the V A T paid on that new car!!!, this is vat they would not have got if you didnt buy a new car with the incentive in place!

The dealers HAVE to scrap these cars when they are traded in they cannot "tart" them up and send to auction or resale. Bonus to government again as it gets rid of unenviromentally safe cars and you replace them with "greener" cars therefore helping the government reduce emmissions:worthy

My brother is in the car trade and my next door neighbour is high up in Chathams so this is how it works...... If your car is over 10 years old and you have owned it for the last 12 months then you will get 2 grand off a new car. This is made up by 1 grand paid by the manafacture and 1 grand paid by the government.

Here is the con bit!!!...the manafacture takes a grand off the car ( fair enough), the government also gives the manafacturer a grand BUT they recoup that on the V A T paid on that new car!!!, this is vat they would not have got if you didnt buy a new car with the incentive in place!

The dealers HAVE to scrap these cars when they are traded in they cannot "tart" them up and send to auction or resale. Bonus to government again as it gets rid of unenviromentally safe cars and you replace them with "greener" cars therefore helping the government reduce emmissions:worthy

Yeah so it's saving the ozone layer but it's not beneficial to us the punters, re dubs post further up is it as the dealers aren't reducing the price? So it's false advertising really no? :dunno:

Yes you are saving..Your saving 2 grand on a new car but if you bought a pre registered car that has done minimal mileage you would save more than 2 grand!!..Also i would advise if anyone is thinking about doing the scrappage deal, to do it soon as the car industry is very bouyant at the moment and prices are starting to go up significantly compared to 6 months ago.

My understanding was that it was only brand spanking cars that you could buy using the scrappage allowance. :dunno:

Thats what Osmosis is saying Rab - he was pointing out that in other circumstances you could buy a pre-registered motor and get more than 2k off the price.

Osmo - looking forward to raking in some more of your hard earned at the weekend my man:flog:

Thats what Osmosis is saying Rab - he was pointing out that in other circumstances you could buy a pre-registered motor and get more than 2k off the price.

Osmo - looking forward to raking in some more of your hard earned at the weekend my man:flog:

it will be a different Osmosiscasper..only problem being they are forecasting heavy rain on saturday:red:

I've had a wee look and East Lothian doesnt seem to be affected. We could do with some rain though to make the greens a little slower for our heavy handed tigerish friend.

As in a demo motor or such like?

I watched something about this the other day (think it was 5th gear ot top gear) and what they said is you can actually get better savings without scrapping a car.

If you play it right

Where the scrappage scheme is at it's best is if you are looking for a car that the Franchises will not discount. For example, one of the base model retro Fiat 500's will go from 8300 to 6300, and given the good residuals that is the best way to utilise the scheme. The worst aspect of the scheme is that perfectly good cars with either a retail future or with plenty life left in them are getting scrapped. Every vehicle traded in through the scheme has to be scrapped and no part whatsoever is to be salvaged (this is Policed strictly with only designated breakers involved). As usual it has been very poorly thought out, and has absolutely no benefit for 90% of the motor trade.

I watched something about this the other day (think it was 5th gear ot top gear) and what they said is you can actually get better savings without scrapping a car.

If you play it right

How?

i'll make and example.

you own a 1000 car, thru the scrappage scheme you can get 2000 off the price off the new car.

however if you play with the sales man and can get a 1400 saving on your car and sell your car privatly for 1000 your up 400

this was pretty much what the report said (they called round a few dealerships and even sent a girl in to do a deal)

i'll make and example.

you own a 1000 car, thru the scrappage scheme you can get 2000 off the price off the new car.

however if you play with the sales man and can get a 1400 saving on your car and sell your car privatly for 1000 your up 400

this was pretty much what the report said (they called round a few dealerships and even sent a girl in to do a deal)

Hmmm? Thanks for that, food for thought anyways. Cheers

i'll make and example.

Hmmm? Thanks for that, food for thought anyways. Cheers

have a wee look at this,

with scrappage and discount he was offered over 6000 discount off a new mondeo

FIFTH GEAR

Well ma car is only 6 years old but has done 150 k ! As i travel 100 miles a day ! A think it should go on mileage as well as age .
(Posted fae ma mobile fone)

Well ma car is only 6 years old but has done 150 k ! As i travel 100 miles a day ! A think it should go on mileage as well as age .

Well it doesnt so pull your neck in:rollfloor

i thought i was bad with an 80 mile round trip

Well it doesnt so pull your neck in:rollfloor

ah ! The dubster ! If only i had a neck . Does a brass one count ?

i thought i was bad with an 80 mile round trip

aye a do banff tae just behind shitoddrie ! Long day but least a get tae gob oot the car windae at the sheep every week day

Thoughts please bouncers, as my present motor is 10 years old in september and i don't want to be spending money on it if i can take advantage of this scheme...

i got a used car through the scrappage deal. richmond hyundai is as far as i know the only dealership that is doing it, i got a lovely hyundai getz 06 reg. 4 years warranty. i years roadside with the rac,12 monthts road tax & mot. so i was well chuffed. the car i swapped was a 1995 citroe zx worth 200 max scrap value.

http://www.richmondhyundai.co.uk/

well chuffed
:thumbgrin

It worked for me.

I'm not a car man, not at all. After my ex took the last car I decided to do without the ludicrous expense. Then I got involved in a car school at my work and the guy who had bought the car subsequently decided he was going off-shore. He offered me the car for 500 so I bought it. I had some crazy times with it (ask cam what happened on the forth road bridge with your finest) and was just about to trash it. Then this scrappage deal came out. I calculated that I could get a Skoda Fabia (I'm not a car man, I already said) for 6k. My mum then offered me a loan that paid her more than the interest rates on her savings (Gordie Brown, you the man!) and I'm going to be driving a brand new car for 100 a month.

Worked for me.

My brother-in-law is a director at a Toyota franchise down here in the Midlands. We have been talking of a scrappage deal for my missus' car and there seems to be little drawback. if you know the genuine retail price of a new car then surely that's all that's important when negotiating a deal on a scrappage car.

An example we have is of acquiring a Toyota Aygo (around 8,500 with air-con) for a corresponding two grand less. That's a small (2nd) car sure, a 'shopping cart' to some fair enough :cool On the other hand it's a brand new car - a Toyota to boot, with a bit of kit on it for a measly six and a half grand.

The nature of the type of cars that people are buying is changing fast. People are being pressed financially and are seeking to make saving in their motoring. A new motor of this type may not represent an exciting driving experience but there's plenty of time to reflect at leisure on that whilst you're getting 65 mpg, 35 road tax, no MOT for three years etc. I think the majority of us will be going this way sooner or later.

The scrappage deal is a good one I reckon as long as you keep your nut scewed on whilst reaching a deal - and for the right type of car.

My brother-in-law is a director at a Toyota franchise down here in the Midlands. We have been talking of a scrappage deal for my missus' car and there seems to be little drawback. if you know the genuine retail price of a new car then surely that's all that's important when negotiating a deal on a scrappage car.

An example we have is of acquiring a Toyota Aygo (around 8,500 with air-con) for a corresponding two grand less. That's a small (2nd) car sure, a 'shopping cart' to some fair enough :cool On the other hand it's a brand new car - a Toyota to boot, with a bit of kit on it for a measly six and a half grand.

The nature of the type of cars that people are buying is changing fast. People are being pressed financially and are seeking to make saving in their motoring. A new motor of this type may not represent an exciting driving experience but there's plenty of time to reflect at leisure on that whilst you're getting 65 mpg, 35 road tax, no MOT for three years etc. I think the majority of us will be going this way sooner or later.

The scrappage deal is a good one I reckon as long as you keep your nut scewed on whilst reaching a deal - and for the right type of car.

This deal only works for those who can get finance surely, whose who can't get finance and only have a small budget, most off these 'scrappers' would be what they bought, so it will make life more difficult for those at the bottom end off the market.

I have noticed fewer cheap cars available with even trade ins going for a grand minimum

Have been hearing of so many modern classics being traded in for scrap on this deal. BMW 635csi, mk1 VW scirocco, Mint Audi cab with all the nice trimmings :(

The only good part for me is my motor will be increasing in value as a lot of these modern classics disappear for no good reason apart from to buy a hyundai.

Bet your Kia Sedona wont look as nice as my 20 year old Audi in 10 years, never mind 20 :smug:

This deal only works for those who can get finance surely, whose who can't get finance and only have a small budget, most off these 'scrappers' would be what they bought, so it will make life more difficult for those at the bottom end off the market.

I have noticed fewer cheap cars available with even trade ins going for a grand minimum

The first point is a fair one, I'm sure that's right. One might ask though, scrappage deal or not, what percentage of people would be buying a brand new car without some finance anyway?

On the second point, I'm pretty sure that a majority of car dealers would report that used car sales are still healthy, bud - perhaps even 'buoyant' due to many buyers not being able to afford new cars, with finance or without, in the current recession.

The first point is a fair one, I'm sure that's right. One might ask though, scrappage deal or not, what percentage of people would be buying a brand new car without some finance anyway?

On the second point, I'm pretty sure that a majority of car dealers would report that used car sales are still healthy, bud - perhaps even 'buoyant' due to many buyers not being able to afford new cars, with finance or without, in the current recession.

I have no doubt used car sales are on the up, i live directly across from a used car sales lot, and they are buzzing, but my point is that even with so many used cars being sold, there are still going to be people priced out off that market due to the dirt cheap cars all being scrapped.

I'd say there are tons of cheapish cars for sale now

I cant remember what show it was on BBC One but they had some guy on from Friends of The Earth and they actually reckon that the older cars were almost as economical/environmentallt friendly as some of the new ones available under the scheme due to costs/importing them etc.

I personally just traded in my old motor for a nice 3 litre diesel BMW :ura: and I personally would never use the scrappage scheme.

I'm not disputing they are there just not as plentiful at sub 1000 quid.

There are loads look on gumtree and things like it . How many folk driving cars worth so little can afford a new car even with two grand knocked off ?

I don't think it would be true to say that all the dirt cheap cars are being scrapped in line with Forza's comment above. It's probably also important to remember that the scrappage deal is a short-term, temporary one and perhaps won't have a long-term affect on the used market. I personally don't know of one person who has availed themself of it. I may well myself in the vey near future though!

Does anyone know if the two grand is off the list price ? Not many places sell cars at the full price nowadays so if the allowance is off the list price you might end up paying more . Another thing to remember is you arent getting two grand just the difference between that and what your car might be worth . A good haggler with no trade in might get two grand off a car anyway

I may have misread the website when I posted this below but I dont think I did.

I have spoken to a couple of guys who dabble in the car trade and they are like minded with your earlier post D inasmuch as they feel that the system will take a large chunk of cars out of the system which would have perhaps been bought by first timers.