Scottish Open

southfieldhibby

Going tomorrow, never been to a tournament so looking forward to it, even if the forecast is bad.

Anyone else?

Going tomorrow, never been to a tournament so looking forward to it, even if the forecast is bad.

Anyone else?

Not going tomorrow but a friend was there today and had a blast.

First British Open for me was 1990 at St Andrews. It was where we came up with a pattern of spectating that has stuck with us through subsequent Opens at Muirfield, St Andrews, Troon and Turnberry. We had wanted to make sure we saw Watson and Nicklaus and especially Seve. We also wanted to see Oly and others and had a decision to make about how to achieve that. So we went a chosen spot on one of the holes and watched several pairs come through - taking in the ones we definitely wanted to see - before spending the rest of the day going round the second half of Seve's round. The next day we did the same but went round with Nicklaus (based on who was paired with who)

The Open at Troon recently we did the same. Green No 9 for the first 30 players or so coming through including Tiger, Monty, Sergio etc and then we did the last 9 holes following Padraig Harrington's group. It's interesting doing a bit of both. You get the breadth of the playing field for a bit and then you get the up close interactions for a bit. We discovered, for example, that Mrs Harrington's language is more Father Jack than Mrs Doyle :giggle:

Be prepared for expensive food and drinks or take yer own.

Not going tomorrow but a friend was there today and had a blast.

First British Open for me was 1990 at St Andrews. It was where we came up with a pattern of spectating that has stuck with us through subsequent Opens at Muirfield, St Andrews, Troon and Turnberry. We had wanted to make sure we saw Watson and Nicklaus and especially Seve. We also wanted to see Oly and others and had a decision to make about how to achieve that. So we went a chosen spot on one of the holes and watched several pairs come through - taking in the ones we definitely wanted to see - before spending the rest of the day going round the second half of Seve's round. The next day we did the same but went round with Nicklaus (based on who was paired with who)

The Open at Troon recently we did the same. Green No 9 for the first 30 players or so coming through including Tiger, Monty, Sergio etc and then we did the last 9 holes following Padraig Harrington's group. It's interesting doing a bit of both. You get the breadth of the playing field for a bit and then you get the up close interactions for a bit. We discovered, for example, that Mrs Harrington's language is more Father Jack than Mrs Doyle :giggle:

Be prepared for expensive food and drinks or take yer own.

I used the same strategy at the Masters :thumbgrin

Food was cheap there tho :banana:

My boss is going on Sunday and playing in some competition at Gullane on Monday.

I've been to Open at St Andrews and Carnoustie a number of times over the years, plus worked at 2000 Open at St Andrews as a trolley dolly and a volunteer at Ryder Cup last year.

I loved all of them. Enjoy [MENTION=409]southfieldhibby[/MENTION], you'll have a blast! :thumbgrin

Is this him :giggle:

Ronald-McDonald-Golf.png

Aye, packed lunch made and dinner at a neighbouring golf course arranged.

Always regret never seeing Seve play but looking forward to watching MAJ tomorrow.

Going on Sunday. After going to the Ryder Cup last year, I know that we can stage shit hot golf tournaments and I wanted to get to as many as possible this year. I was going to (selfishly) go to Gullane and St Andrews myself, but decided to just do Gullane and take my folks as a thank you for watching the bairns a lot recently. 3 tickets for just over the cost of one for the Open at St Andrews. I'll go next time!

Anyone else?

Take comfortable shoes - it's surprisingly knackering traipsing about. Better still go to a beer tent and watch it on the screens :wink:

It's amazing the number of spectators that wear golf shoes to watch.
As if they are more suitable for watching, rather than playing the game.

You should have course take your golf shoes with you, but wear them like gloves.
Any twat who shouts "GET IN THE HOLE" or "MORE LENGTH" and isn't actually involved in filming a pornographic movie should have course be smashed in the face with a golf shoe.

Same annoyance with the posh folk with 'shooting sticks'. Like wee folding seats that impersonate fat umbrellas. Just fuckin lie down, because if you have a shooting stick you are clearly brain dead and just waiting on Nursie switching off the ventilator.

If you are lucky, then perhaps your daughter in law will have a pass to the Bollinger Tent for guests, and you will be one of them.

I have, but I am not.

Im going the morn. Looking forward to it.

31 for Gullane or 75 for the open with much the same field playing.

Been to loads of opens in the past. Loved Carnoustie, Turnberry and Muirfield but St Andrews isnt as good to be at for a spectator. Its a bit hard to follow the players round.

Back and knackered

Got there early and headed to the range in time to witness Miguel Angel Jiminez and his fabled warm up routine, stood right behind Phil as he warmed up then onto the course. Followed Phil and Justin for a few holes then doubled back to pick up Monty. Saw pretty much everyone I wanted to but watching Phil play was something special.

The course is ok, not the best for viewing Anita pretty flat on places but I've played it a few times so it was good to see them hit shots on the same course.

Food was overpriced and average, the pitching chipping and putting games were good fun and for 30 for 12 hours entertainment it was magic. Might go back down on Sunday.

Never had any problems with traffic. It's a one way system: enter gullane from the east, we parked on car park 2 beside the golf tavern and left along the golf course road