Scottish football

bg23

I think today's events just sums up why the people who run our game are way behind the times. We have all known for the last 48 hours at least what weather was ahead of us for saturday. Given that the general forecast for the following day (sunday) is much better surely the whole fixture list could have been delayed for 24 hours to allow all the games to go on. I realise that clubs may say this is too short notice as they have sponsors and catering etc etc to organise but i am sure most would prefer the game to be played at the weekend rather than a postponement until god knows when.

Midweek fixtures are not always easy to get to for various reasons and normally crowds are lower then than if it was played at a weekend. Just think that as recently people have been suggesting moving to summer football a little bit of thought ahead of today could have paid dividends. The frustrating part is that our game was off not due to pitch conditions but because of road flooding near the ground. I was on the Southern supporters bus and we got as far as Eurocentral just outside Glasgow when we heard the news.

What's the harm in trying Summer fitba :dunno: Just for a couple o' seasons or so, if it's pish change it back. We have tried all sorts of ridiculous ideas to make our game better, practically every one a fuckup or failure. Why not try one more thing that might just work?

But........the buffoons in charge of our game though :banger:

What's the harm in trying Summer fitba :dunno: Just for a couple o' seasons or so, if it's pish change it back. We have tried all sorts of ridiculous ideas to make our game better, practically every one a fuckup or failure. Why not try one more thing that might just work?

But........the buffoons in charge of our game though :banger:

Because it's too sensible an option with arguments against it ranging from "There's no guarantee the weather in the summer will be decent" and "The players need their summer holidays"

Aye, there is an almost cast iron guarantee that in the summer it's highly likely to be a good deal warmer and the players can go their holidays during a new winter close season.

It doesnt make sense to me not to try it mucker. There is one clear benefit and that is that when our teams play in qualifying rounds in Europe they wont have only had 2 friendlies and a handful of training training sessions under their belts compared to the dozen games or so the opponents always seem to have played.

Because it's too sensible an option with arguments against it ranging from "There's no guarantee the weather in the summer will be decent" and "The players need their summer holidays"

Aye, there is an almost cast iron guarantee that in the summer it's highly likely to be a good deal warmer and the players can go their holidays during a new winter close season.

It doesnt make sense to me not to try it mucker. There is one clear benefit and that is that when our teams play in qualifying rounds in Europe they wont have only had 2 friendlies and a handful of training training sessions under their belts compared to the dozen games or so the opponents always seem to have played.

I read something on Twitter basically saying "if we wanted our teams to compete in Europe then Summer football is a non-starter".

So what? Compete in Europe? That bus has long since departed. Even the smellies cant do that anymore. I`ve given up ever seeing my club have a 'Euro run'. Or any other Scottish club for that matter. And, to be honest, who cares? Thinking our teams will 'compete' in Europe is folly and that deluded fantasy led both Rangers (who died) and Hearts (who almost died....and fuckin should have but that`s my opinion) into cheating on a massive scale just to try and satisfy a pipe dream.

Summer fitba would be great. "The weather might still be shite". Really? A bit of Summer rain or pissing sleet, ice and dark at fucking half time. I know what i`d rather have. 'Shirt sleeve order', a pair of shades and players playing the game on a quality surface rather than sliding around on their arseholes in freezing mud.

Let`s get our game back to being something to watch and enjoy before we give a shite about competing in Europe.

I read something on Twitter basically saying "if we wanted our teams to compete in Europe then Summer football is a non-starter".

So what? Compete in Europe? That bus has long since departed. Even the smellies cant do that anymore. I`ve given up ever seeing my club have a 'Euro run'. Or any other Scottish club for that matter. And, to be honest, who cares? Thinking our teams will 'compete' in Europe is folly and that deluded fantasy led both Rangers (who died) and Hearts (who almost died....and fuckin should have but that`s my opinion) into cheating on a massive scale just to try and satisfy a pipe dream.

Summer fitba would be great. "The weather might still be shite". Really? A bit of Summer rain or pissing sleet, ice and dark at fucking half time. I know what i`d rather have. 'Shirt sleeve order', a pair of shades and players playing the game on a quality surface rather than sliding around on their arseholes in freezing mud.

Let`s get our game back to being something to watch and enjoy before we give a shite about competing in Europe.

They whoever these twitterati are, are completely wrong. It would have the opposite effect. If our league started in February [for example] we would be about 10 games in before the qualifying rounds were played [unless I'm completely mistaken] meaning the players would be match sharp and would presumably stand a better chance of qualifying.

It would depend on when you started the season of course. If you`re talking about it taking off in June then you`re right. It would certainly benefit our teams in Euro tournaments. Personally, i`d start in March and play through to November which would pretty much rule Europe out but then, speaking personally of course, i couldn`t care less about that.

grandpa

It would depend on when you started the season of course. If you`re talking about it taking off in June then you`re right. It would certainly benefit our teams in Euro tournaments. Personally, i`d start in March and play through to November which would pretty much rule Europe out but then, speaking personally of course, i couldn`t care less about that.

grandpa

You'll soon change your mind when Hibs lift the Champs league trophy
Smiley from Millan.Net

You'll soon change your mind when Hibs lift the Champs league trophy
funa.gif

:giggle:

Dont get me wrong. I`d love to see Hibs and other (well, most) Scottish clubs achieve success in Europe. I just dont think that it`s possible any more so it`s something we shouldn`t set as a standard that must be met. I love Euro nights and hopefully we`ll see more but i dont expect to have a 'run'. We should just enjoy them when they`re here.

As for Summer football, i dont think that`ll ever happen either.

yep, every season we hear the same excuse, we are not prepared for Europe as other teams are well into their season while we are doing pre-season training. Then the argument turns on it's head when summer football is suggested. I heard that years ago we had to have winter football for the sake of littlewoods/vernons as they were major sponsors and it suited them to have it this way. But I do not think the pools can have that much influence these days

I don't agree with summer football, but I do accept and respect the fact that many fans are in favour of it.
That's my only contribution to this as I don't want to get into yet another debate on this matter.

I don't agree with summer football, but I do accept and respect the fact that many fans are in favour of it.
That's my only contribution to this as I don't want to get into yet another debate on this matter.

am not in favour of summer football either

Hopefully renegotiate a decent tv deal in a period where sky sports subs are usually cancelled, more inclined to take kids if it's not sub zero, pitches better, better traveling conditions for away fans, no build up of postponed matches, hibs not suffered the annual January slump and few other reasons make it worthwhile.

How depressing November-February would be without hibs is a pretty big reason against mind you.

I would just like to add to my original post that I am not in favour of summer football. Much prefer the set up as it is at the moment.

My thought was that with a bit of forward thinking for once the authorities should have allowed clubs to put back the game for 24 hours.

It would have saved a lot of unnecessary travel and expense and probably allow most if not all who purchased a ticket to still get to the game.

Now that it will be played midweek a lot of people will be holding a ticket they cannot use

How depressing November-February would be without hibs is a pretty big reason against mind you.

Innit.

I always thought that they could possibly play up to the end of the festive fixtures, with the New Year game being the last before the break? Or even the last game of the regular season, although that would complicate the sunny day out for the SC final. I dunno. We need to do something, though.

only month we don't play any games at all just now is June, not too sure how summer football would work,

January and half of February off then play until some time in December?