School sports.

greencol

Almost knackered radge.
The rugby thread had me reminiscing about the sports we got at secondary school.
For us it was predominantly football.
Didn't have rugby at all.
Basketball was the indoor winter months staple, with circuit training thrown in every 3rd week.
Spring/ summer/ autumn was football with the occasional hockey gig thrown in for the sons of Doctors, Solicitors etc.
Of course once the deadheads got stuck in it was a free for all.
Brutality was the name of the game.
As for the stick not being above shoulder height......it was more akin to shinty.
Bloody awful.

The rugby thread had me reminiscing about the sports we got at secondary school.
For us it was predominantly football.
Didn't have rugby at all.
Basketball was the indoor winter months staple, with circuit training thrown in every 3rd week.
Spring/ summer/ autumn was football with the occasional hockey gig thrown in for the sons of Doctors, Solicitors etc.
Of course once the deadheads got stuck in it was a free for all.
Brutality was the name of the game.
As for the stick not being above shoulder height......it was more akin to shinty.
Bloody awful.
Cannae mind that far back but fitba springs tae mind. Swimming was another. Is shinty still a thing up north? They used tae show the Camanach ?sp?Cup final. On BBC but no seen it broadcast for years.

At Firrhill we had football, rugby, volleyball, cross country running (brutal!), basketball, probably hockey - I think that's about it.

Edit - cricket too.

Cannae mind that far back but fitba springs tae mind. Swimming was another. Is shinty still a thing up north? They used tae show the Camanach ?sp?Cup final. On BBC but no seen it broadcast for years.
Shinty's mental! I've watched a few matches live and they're nutters. It's not unusual for players to be missing bits of ears or fingers.

Softball at Libby Secondary School. Being a left hander i sort of managed to whack the ball where no one was standing to catch it.

Lasswade was football, rugby with cricket and hockey in the summer months.

Elaine McMaster - Scottish international hurdler -was our teacher, short sighted though so didn’t have a clue what was going on.

I remember playing hockey, and the top tackle method was to run up behind someone snd hook the stick round their ankle and pull it hard to bring them down. Some spectacular falls.

Even at age 5 we had to play rugby for PE at my primary school in Galashiels.
However, we used to get to school 45 minutes early and play football until the bell rang, played football at break time, played football at dinnertime, played football at 2nd break, played football after school, went home did my homework and had my tea then went out and played football until whatever time my curfew was. Bath, sleep and get up and do it again.

At high school we played rugby, football, volleyball, basketball, golf, cricket, tennis, table tennis, did gymnastics, swimming, weight training, athletics including field events and later on cross country running which entailed running like fuck to get to the boozer, having a pint in your gym kit, then legging it back to school.

Elaine McMaster - Scottish international hurdler -was our teacher, short sighted though so didn’t have a clue what was going on.

I remember playing hockey, and the top tackle method was to run up behind someone snd hook the stick round their ankle and pull it hard to bring them down. Some spectacular falls.
Margot Wells was a PE teacher at Firrhill. Cries of "come on Allan" followed her everywhere she went.

All the PE teachers at Liberton were Rugby guys so we always played rugby at PE lessons. They used to have the rugby team play against the rest of the class. They never won !

At Leithy there was swimming at Viccy baths,there was tennis at the links,cross country up at Hawkhill,hockey up at Hawkhill-I decided to join the hockey club,got a black eye at my first match,never went back, there was volleyball,basketball,I remember one game of softball, and one game of cricket and then Rugby which was basically how many wee runts would it take to bring Keith Scotland to his knees and gymnastics which was mainly the horse and climbing ropes-I still can't climb a rope.Then ther was the inevitable dance lessons coming up to Christmas.Which my mate Andy Macrae and I skivved off and we'd go up the railway line and drink my mum's Mosiac Sherry.Go into Geography pished.

Gracemount Primery had football and basketball teams (played with @hibbybilly ’s laddie). We were pretty good at both and won a few things. Gracemount High school had no sports teams when I was there, which was a bit pish. Actually it may have had a badminton team come to think of it 🤔 Did the usual stuff at PE: rugby, basketball, track and field etc.

All the PE teachers at Liberton were Rugby guys so we always played rugby at PE lessons. They used to have the rugby team play against the rest of the class. They never won !
Guy I used tae take a team with was best pals with the late Bruce Hay. My youngest laddie was in his daughters class at Gracemount Primary.

One of my PE teachers at libby was Bobby Ford, while looking through my hibs programmes that my uncle gave me from early 70’s, there was a pic of Bobby Ford playing v V hibs in a Scottish cup match, 3-3 i think was the score, i remember taking the programme in for him to see, about 1984

Gracemount Primery had football and basketball teams (played with @hibbybilly ’s laddie). We were pretty good at both and won a few things. Gracemount High school had no sports teams when I was there, which was a bit pish. Actually it may have had a badminton team come to think of it 🤔 Did the usual stuff at PE: rugby, basketball, track and field etc.
They were too busy coming down the Glen to fight the libby crew… then sent homewards to think again 🤣

Posh tackling method there.
The nutters here pretty much flailed the stick until it made contact with a shin.

Rugby, cricket and athletics for me. Hated everything about cricket, stupid white trousers and shirts. Still hate it. Rugby though I embraced with a passion, still love it to this day. A wonderful sport which for me blows everything about football out the water. If it wasn't for Hibs who are in my DNA like most of us I wouldn't care if I never saw another football match in my life.

Pretty much the opposite for me. Secondary school was a boys only grammar school that had been a fee paying school until about 5 years before I went there. No football (too working class) and rugby was compulsory. Ex public school teachers (masters) took the rugby and it was a bit "upstairs downstairs". There were about 10 of us from South London schools (council made the school take in a percentage of local boys) with working class backgrounds and we never got picked for the team (hallelujah) and had to do cross country runs. The only time we got any rugby coaching I just hated it and much preferred the cross country. It was partly the snobbery and partly my instinct to want to play football that sowed the seed to detest rugby. I played cricket and enjoyed it but it's very much an acquired taste as a spectator sport. The cricket coaching, surprisingly, did not involve any upper class vibes and was a more integrated group. I don't even watch international rugby on tv, I'd sooner spend a dirty weekend with Anne Widdecombe.

Football,rugby,cricket,hockey though my favourite was handball. Very fast game and loved playing it.

Pretty much the opposite for me. Secondary school was a boys only grammar school that had been a fee paying school until about 5 years before I went there. No football (too working class) and rugby was compulsory. Ex public school teachers (masters) took the rugby and it was a bit "upstairs downstairs". There were about 10 of us from South London schools (council made the school take in a percentage of local boys) with working class backgrounds and we never got picked for the team (hallelujah) and had to do cross country runs. The only time we got any rugby coaching I just hated it and much preferred the cross country. It was partly the snobbery and partly my instinct to want to play football that sowed the seed to detest rugby. I played cricket and enjoyed it but it's very much an acquired taste as a spectator sport. The cricket coaching, surprisingly, did not involve any upper class vibes and was a more integrated group. I don't even watch international rugby on tv, I'd sooner spend a dirty weekend with Anne Widdecombe.
Now there's hate, and there's hate.
I'd rather be under a maul than look at Anne Widdicombe let alone spend a dirty weekend with her!
Oh fu&k , I can feel my lunch coming back up.....

At Leithy there was swimming at Viccy baths,there was tennis at the links,cross country up at Hawkhill,hockey up at Hawkhill-I decided to join the hockey club,got a black eye at my first match,never went back, there was volleyball,basketball,I remember one game of softball, and one game of cricket and then Rugby which was basically how many wee runts would it take to bring Keith Scotland to his knees and gymnastics which was mainly the horse and climbing ropes-I still can't climb a rope.Then ther was the inevitable dance lessons coming up to Christmas.Which my mate Andy Macrae and I skivved off and we'd go up the railway line and drink my mum's Mosiac Sherry.Go into Geography pished.

Rugby at Leithy was something I dreaded. I was such a delicate flower, I couldn't stand the cold, the pitch at Hawkhill was often like concrete, my fingers would be frozen I couldn't even hold the stupid shaped ball. I remember getting told to leave the field for kicking the ball away. The teacher (can't mind his name) went off at me because he wanted me to fall on the ball and take possession. No chance. I never played in a game again.

You must have been in my year as I remember some of the names. Keith Scotland was pretty big for his age. I sat next to Andy Macrae in Geography I think it was, Andy had a haircut that resembled a WWII German helmet, used to call him nazi. Mr Robertson, AKA penguin was the geography teacher. Hated that cvnt, vicious prick.

Now there's hate, and there's hate.
I'd rather be under a maul than look at Anne Widdicombe let alone spend a dirty weekend with her!
Oh fu&k , I can feel my lunch coming back up.....
I didn't say I would enjoy it! For me it would be the lesser of two evils. Like if there was gunt and a skunk both needing the kiss of life and you HAD to choose one?

Drummond you were lucky if you got on the astro at break and lunch, never mind organised sports..