Riordan can't even play for free.

Chris G Whyte

I noticed this snippet of "news" in the EEN and then found the BBC article for it:

BBC Sport - Derek Riordan frustrated to be overlooked after play for free offer

In general, I refuse to believe that there isn't a boss that would take a chance on someone with Riordan's pedigree so can only assume something else must be going on here. If all he's asking to do is train with a club, and he's apparently willing to play for nothing while something else comes along, I share his confusion.

Oh, and no - this isn't a "get him back at Hibs" post.

Of course, we don't really know what's going on with him or his agent. He could be taking duff advice, he could be lying wholesale about playing for free, and it's possible that the meedja are making more of this than there really is. That said, it seems Riordan's attitude hasn't changed all that much; he believes he's fit enough to play for a team "tomorrow" while his boss at Alloa (well, he was then...), Paul Hartley, doesn't seem to share his view. We know he's a horrible gunt bastard bound for the dome, but still... He'd certainly have done a job at Alloa.

Can anyone shine a light on this? Anyone heard something that might explain why nobody seems to want to touch Riordan with a shitty stick?

Or is this really it? Is he really going to beg his way around Scottish football's lower reaches, turning up at football grounds with nothing more than a cheeky smile and "geez a game, eh?"

How very sad.

Think this is just a rehash of Deeks' comments on Sportsound the other night. Can't shed any light on why he can't get a game other than watching his last season at Hibs when he seemed reluctant to roll his sleeves up and get stuck in for his team mates. He must have built himself quite a reputation.

Yeah,i read this a day or two ago on SSN twitter. I havn`t noticed it being picked up by the Scottish media though..:dunno:

All the best to him anyway. I really hope it works out for him this time.

It was in Wednesdays sun. Claiming that Morton are also interested

According to one article, Riordan was due to show up to Morton's training.
Kenny Shiels was quoted saying that he never shown up.

So either he was already set on going to Antwerp, or he just didn't bother turning up. :dunno:
If he isn't actually going to Antwerp, it would be another bad mark on a pretty poor record.

Here it is:
Shiels ends interest in no-show Riordan | Evening Times

Thanks for the memories, but there could've been so many more.

According to one article, Riordan was due to show up to Morton's training.
Kenny Shiels was quoted saying that he never shown up.

So either he was already set on going to Antwerp, or he just didn't bother turning up. :dunno:
If he isn't actually going to Antwerp, it would be another bad mark on a pretty poor record.

Here it is:
Shiels ends interest in no-show Riordan | Evening Times

Thanks for the memories, but there could've been so many more.

I don't get it. I never get it. Why do so many of these situations come up in football? Just pick up the phone, make a 10sec call and show a bit of common courtesy FFS.

Given that Morton must be the first club in quite a while to actually offer him an opportunity, it can't have just slipped his mind that he was supposed to be there.

Just feckin shoddy, Derek :sad

It was on Sky Sports News bud.

Ah, okely-dokely. My policy of "no TV" obviously doesn't keep me as up to date as I'd like to be, hoho.

I don't get it. I never get it. Why do so many of these situations come up in football? Just pick up the phone, make a 10sec call and show a bit of common courtesy FFS.

Aye, and he then wonders why nobody wants him at their club.

It's very poor.

Great player for hibs but since has just been a wee tosser. Fuck him gave him a 2nd chance he fucked it. Don't give a shit what he does now could sell the big issue for all I care.

Great player for hibs but since has just been a wee tosser. $#@! him gave him a 2nd chance he $#@!ed it. Don't give a $#@! what he does now could sell the big issue for all I care.

Fukin tad harsh that is it not.
His second spell at Hibs did decline into some poor displays and his attitude for sure could have been better, but the guys record stands up to any else's in the last 20 years.
Certainly dosent deserve that sort of vitriol .

Fukin tad harsh that is it not.
His second spell at Hibs did decline into some poor displays and his attitude for sure could have been better, but the guys record stands up to any else's in the last 20 years.
Certainly dosent deserve that sort of vitriol .

Looked upto him growing up now I hate the prick.

Take it you never met the lad? :dunno:

Prick?

Evidently you didn`t.

It was his career to fuck up, and he managed that, but to call him a prick after what he DID achieve, predominantly for us, is for me anyway, Bang out of fucking order. :coffee:

Just a thought.

Take it you never met the lad? :dunno:

Prick?

Evidently you didn`t.

It was his career to fuck up, and he managed that, but to call him a prick after what he DID achieve, predominantly for us, is for me anyway, Bang out of fucking order. :coffee:

Just a thought.

After hearing him tell my big cousin he would kick the bairn oot eh her in a bar he'll always be a prick in my eyes

Right I'm sitting comfortably, fill us in with the juicy gossip.
That's surely a story worth telling. What did you say to him when you heard him say such a vile thing?

Right I'm sitting comfortably, fill us in with the juicy gossip.
That's surely a story worth telling. What did you say to him when you heard him say such a vile thing?

Nowt as a) I was a young lad who couldn't believe that the guy I looked upto would threaten a woman and b) he was being chucked out of the pub as he shouted it at her.

Believe what ye want to be honest I couldn't give a flying fuck if someone on a forum believes what I say or not. Can you read this with yer head burried so far up riordans arse?

My head has never been near Deeks arse. He`s a bairn to me. I was friendly with his (now deceased) uncle at school, and though a mutual friend, know Deek quite well.
And your claim is NOT the Deek I know.

Your story, for me, is the inconsistent one.

Just sayin`...:coffee:

Opinions eh?

I'd say he's within his rights to call him a prick if he did say that.

I've met him a few times and spoke to him a few times through playing Fifa with his brother and he's always came across a decent enough guy. But it's pretty common knowledge that once Derek has had a drink and someone has wound him up that he's incapable of biting his tongue and says a whole host of things he probably doesn't mean.

Believe what ye want to be honest I couldn't give a flying $#@! if someone on a forum believes what I say or not. Can you read this with yer head burried so far up riordans arse?

not just Riordans erse :bye

too funny :applause:

I'd say he's within his rights to call him a prick if he did say that.

I've met him a few times and spoke to him a few times through playing Fifa with his brother and he's always came across a decent enough guy. But it's pretty common knowledge that once Derek has had a drink and someone has wound him up that he's incapable of biting his tongue and says a whole host of things he probably doesn't mean.

This. My mate used to work the doors and had said that riordan was a disaster on the drink. A "vile character" was his line. No real expansion on this but no reason to doubt the guy.

A wasted talent.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

not just Riordans erse :bye

too funny :applause:

So Barney makes a **** of himself again. Shocker!!!!

Now too scared to quote me, as Stalkers tend to try to find a better way:

He has now found his.

Disliking my posts. Quality loser. :applause:

Barney, If I had stated that Deeks was a total fanny, you would have disliked that too. You/We know you would.

Even your pals don`t follow you now, you fucking total loser. :doh

I`ll listen to both sides, given whom I`ve been engaging with, and LISTEN to their side, and am prepared to be corrected by respected opinion, that, thus far, flies in the face of my experience.

I`ll do that publicly or via PM.

As for you?

I feel only pity.

And quote this post, by all means:

Oh, and if you do (which we both know you will be unable to resist) Try using my views on Fletch.

No doubt you will dislike my take on that too.....

You have all day to retort. Doesn`t matter to me. Just like YOU don`t matter to me. :coffee:

You had credibility and respect here. YOU gave that all away.

If I was as sad an individual, I would "Dislike" your posts.

However, my life is good. Nice day now. :rollfloor

A lot of folk on here grew up with his family and say Deek is a nice guy when you get to know him. I've only met him up toon reeking tho and the guy is an absolute car crash when drunk.

Seems us Hibbies are not united very much at all. :coffee: Maybe should be a warning to hearts as they embark on fan ownership. Once a few personal grudges develop about a player, community, politics, religion, woman, hairstyles, cars, dinner menus etc etc then they are bound to all withdraw their tenner a month DD. Maybe it was better in the days when fans only met up on a Saturday and concentrated on the football

There we have it then, he just didn't bother after all.

He was interviewed this season, before a Hibs match, and I seen nothing to suggest he was determined to get back into football.
He talked as if he was entitled to join a top-tier side with the talent he has/had.

He was asked, "What have you been doing with your time?"

Riordan replied, "Bit of gym, mostly golf; a lot of golf And Xbox."

A lot of folk on here grew up with his family and say Deek is a nice guy when you get to know him. I've only met him up toon reeking tho and the guy is an absolute car crash when drunk.

I've heard similar. However, I met him once with a few Gunt mates of mine... He was with a good few of his mates. Deek engaged in the Gunt banter and it was all friendly and good spirited.

Morton say in paper he's coming to train, then Morton say he didn't turn up to train nor has he been in touch. No word from the man himself, so it's a one sided story.

Whatever has happened, it's a dreadful shame he's not played for so long or regularly since he left Hibs.

You wonder what might have happened if Hibs and Riordan had agreed the contract in 2004. That seems an awful long time ago now.

Just a quick fingers and thumbs calculation, but since he left Hibs the first time 7 and a half years ago, I think he's scored just 48 goals.

Morton say in paper he's coming to train, then Morton say he didn't turn up to train nor has he been in touch. No word from the man himself, so it's a one sided story.

Whatever has happened, it's a dreadful shame he's not played for so long or regularly since he left Hibs.

You wonder what might have happened if Hibs and Riordan had agreed the contract in 2004. That seems an awful long time ago now.

Just a quick fingers and thumbs calculation, but since he left Hibs the first time 7 and a half years ago, I think he's scored just 48 goals.

Derek's problem has always been between his ears; ironically, the one problem that stops him from realising it.

The Morton saga, in many ways, sums up his attitude. He was given an opportunity to come in and train, even with the benefit of having an old chum sticking up for him, and he just blows it off with nary a word of apology. True, we haven't heard what Derek himself has to say about it, but I see no reason to disbelieve Kenny Shiels' commentary on the matter.

In fact, it fits quite well with what we believe of Riordan's character (I say "believe", because I don't know the lad enough to judge him).

If your numbers are true, and he's only scored 48 goals in over seven years, that's an appalling return for a player of this quality. However, the belief that talent alone gets you the job you want is almost entirely out of whack in the modern game, even for fans. They can forgive a lack of ability - not a lack of effort.

I've no clue what I'd say to him, if I were to come across him now. I would imagine he's already had all the talking to's in the world, and that's why he's in the situation he's in. He's taken all the wrong advice from people who weren't really interested in him making the most out of his career, and he's now on the Scottish football scrapheap as a result of it.

Maybe if I were him I'd ditch the agents, the drunken chums and the hangers-on. I'd think about what people are saying about me and consider why they're saying it. At that point, he can make the decision to get the most out of the 4/5 years he has left, or just sack it altogether and move on to something else.

Who knows, though?

If DEREK hasn't left for the SOAPIES and stayed with us for his career, I truly think his path in life would have been SO much different IMO .

The perfect example to the current youngsters that you can have all the talent in the world but if your no willing to graft it'll only take you so far.

Last edited by a moderator: