retirment

ever hopeful

looking to the future where would you want to retire too, here or abroad. as it stands it would be florida for us but will have to go around the world before we decide.:bbb::bbb::bbb:

Not sure what age you are, but this sort of thing will be the preserve of the boomers, not anyone younger.

But we can all dream I suppose, so for me it would be the Lake District.

I always said I would never retire in the UK. Having worked away from home all my life the thought of paying taxes on my pensions kinda put me off. However, times change. Where I fancied before was out East, Phillipines, Malaysia, Indonesia sort of place. Easy access to the likes of Oz and Singapore. The Tsunami of a few years ago put the missus off of that idea. Really cannot think of anywhere else I would want to go to be honest. Europe does not appeal. States, definitely not. Anyway, events at home recently kind of rams it home just how good we have it at home, so home it will be. Now whether it is in sunny Dennyloanhead or in a wee cottage by the sea, I don't know. But UK for me.

A hot topic in my hoose. My father retired back to Joppa after 40 years overseas and unfortunately died three years later (we always blame to smokey atmosphere in the Ormelie where he spent his time playing doms) and found that he missed all of his pals in the Middle East and the sun and his local haunts. For that reason I will stay in bahrain for as long as they will let me. I know folk in different parts of the world but this is where I live and will have lived for 20 years when I eventually give up.

I've got the house I want to retire in already so dinnae see any point leaving. Now, to pay off that scary mortgage...

North Berwick or Gullane, close enough to Edinburgh and Hibs, far enough away from the dullness that living in a city can offer up.In an ideal world I'd split my retirement between there and Northern Spain, somewhere like Cambrils, which is a terrific wee town, but thats a lottery pipedream.

But we can all dream I suppose, so for me it would be the Lake District.

I've heard you speak highly of the Lake District before M. It is a wonderful, dreamy place with an atmosphere all of its own that's for sure. Possible downsides are the regular inclement weather and the amount of traffic around the 'honey pots' of the area. There is something beautiful, unique and unmistakable about Lakeland though. Where do you enjoy in particular?

Racking my brain to try and mind the authors name,but i heard an intreview on Radio 5 a few months back,in which a guy had written a book about why people work.He distilled it in to 2 reasons,the need to make money to live and to stop thinking of death.

The lack of structure to your life and to much time to think are,apparently,a contrbuting factor to the number of people who die,unexpectedly after retirement.

As I'm getting nearer that time I quite fancy New Zealand. Apparently it is stunning and very similar to here with a less sever climate. Have two Aunts there and plan to go over next year sometime. Everyone I have spoken to aho have visited say it is a fantastic country with a reasonably low cost of living. No language problems either.

By the time I reach the age to retire it will prob be about 75-80 or something. At that rate and with my life style the way it is, I prob wont make it. Even in the off chance do you think I'm going to care, I'll be 80 ffs.
Tell you something though. It wont be here (Scotland). As soon as I can I'm heading back to Spain.

I've heard you speak highly of the Lake District before M. It is a wonderful, dreamy place with an atmosphere all of its own that's for sure. Possible downsides are the regular inclement weather and the amount of traffic around the 'honey pots' of the area. There is something beautiful, unique and unmistakable about Lakeland though. Where do you enjoy in particular?
I love it all.

As you say, it can get very busy round the main spots at peak season, but I still love Ambleside, Elterwater, Coniston, Grasmere, Hawkshead. To get away from the mob and a nice retirement spot would be Troutbeck. It's brilliant up there.

The crowds don't bother me anyway really; if you hang around Bowness marina it will be like being in a sardine can, but one I feck off up a fell then most of the time it's pretty quiet even during holiday season.

I was up here a few months ago (not my video) - I've got such a bad head for heights that I shit myself going up a step ladder; Helvellyn via Striding Edge was, shall we say, 'bracing' (the memorials to those that have fell off doing nothing to becalm the situation :ph34r: )

Brilliant though. Once your up there, cliched as it is, the rest of the world might as well be a million miles away. I think it's the loveliest part of the UK I've been too; the landscape is as dramatic as the highlands but more lush, while the village - as is the case elsewhere in england - are much nicer than is mostly the case in scotland. But at the same time you are far north enough that it's got a vibe that for me as a scot i could settle into much better versus the market towns of middle england no matter how lovely they are.

The plan is 6 months in Spain and 6 months in Leith.
I love Leith and wouldn't want to be too far away for too long.
Near an airport in Spain so its easy enough to come back - maybe even just for a match or two!
I think 6 month lets rather than buying. It means I/we could move around a bit and its 'inexpensive' for longer lets.
7 years to go! yass

The plan is 6 months in Spain and 6 months in Leith.
I love Leith and wouldn't want to be too far away for too long.
Near an airport in Spain so its easy enough to come back - maybe even just for a match or two!
I think 6 month lets rather than buying. It means I/we could move around a bit and its 'inexpensive' for longer lets.
7 years to go! yass
7 years lucky sod, still got 16 myself will probably do the same 6&6 all depends how our team are doing.:bbb::bbb::bbb:

Plan is to move across to states and work in football coaching, then in the 30 years or so i have to save before retirement, then the plan is to move to cyprus. Lets hope it works out if not im staying put.:dub::dub:

I love it all.

As you say, it can get very busy round the main spots at peak season, but I still love Ambleside, Elterwater, Coniston, Grasmere, Hawkshead. To get away from the mob and a nice retirement spot would be Troutbeck. It's brilliant up there.

The crowds don't bother me anyway really; if you hang around Bowness marina it will be like being in a sardine can, but one I feck off up a fell then most of the time it's pretty quiet even during holiday season.

I was up here a few months ago (not my video) - I've got such a bad head for heights that I shit myself going up a step ladder; Helvellyn via Striding Edge was, shall we say, 'bracing' (the memorials to those that have fell off doing nothing to becalm the situation :ph34r: )

Brilliant though. Once your up there, cliched as it is, the rest of the world might as well be a million miles away. I think it's the loveliest part of the UK I've been too; the landscape is as dramatic as the highlands but more lush, while the village - as is the case elsewhere in england - are much nicer than is mostly the case in scotland. But at the same time you are far north enough that it's got a vibe that for me as a scot i could settle into much better versus the market towns of middle england no matter how lovely they are.

That Striding Edge video brings back a few memories. I've done that magnificent walk twice and really enjoyed it. I wasn't particularly phased by the edge itself but on reaching the point of ascent up on to Helvellyn was slightly concerned at what looked like a genuine rock climb to get up up there. Fortunately it's almost as if the big man has placed hand and footholds in precisely the place you need them in order to scale your way up on all fours. :) I had a pal who did the walk when there was a thick covering of snow on Striding Edge, I'd draw the line at that!

I agree that it's quite easy to get away from the crowds in the Lake District but access into the area by road as a visitor at busy times can be a bit of a drag and can detract from the whole experience for me. It's gratifying to know though that you can disappear up a nice fell and easily get away from the cream tea brigade and Beatrix Potter fanciers.

You'll maybe not want to venture past the Lake District but maybe don't dismiss The Peak District as an occasional option. It's really attractive with lots of varied scenery and great villages towns and exceptional pubs. I can happily confirm it doesn't feel one bit 'southern' either!