Red wine

Braehead Cabbage

Baldy radge
Just about to finish my last shift of the week and with some spare money, I fancy treating myself to a nice red! Usually I stick to merlot or rioja, whatever is reduced in Morrisons:-)
I fancy something different for tonight, will spend up to 15, what do the wine drinkers of the Bounce suggest?

Tesco Australian red . 3.99 a bottle and is quite fine imo . You could get 3 bottles.

Just about to finish my last shift of the week and with some spare money, I fancy treating myself to a nice red! Usually I stick to merlot or rioja, whatever is reduced in Morrisons:-)
I fancy something different for tonight, will spend up to 15, what do the wine drinkers of the Bounce suggest?

My advice is don't spend 15 in a supermarket but a decent wine shop. Supermarkets are selling substandard wine at inflated prices now they've sown up the sector.

Even 6 or 7 in a booze / wine only shop will get you a massively superior wine to anything in a supermarket. And you often still get two for ones or three for twos.

I would agree with that. One if the worst offenders is M&S. I've had some shockingly bad wine from there.

Get yersel a subscription to Naked Wines. Best wines I've ever had.

Is that a wine club with regular deliveries etc? I've been in the Sunday Times Wine Club for almost 20 years now and never had a bad one. Works out at around 7 a bottle and the case is delivered every quarter. We always get a mixed case (6 x red and 6 x white) and if we like one in particular we can order 6 or 12 more.

Aye, but I don't take regular deliveries. You can set it up however you want. I pay a monthly subscription which can be from 20 up. Then you order whenever you want. And all that cash is yours, there's no actually subscription fee, you're basically giving them a committed cash flow which gets invested into the vineyards upfront thereby supporting smaller vineyards.

I used to use Sunday Time wine club and I reckon they're the best of the rest. But the wines I've been getting for the past year or two from Naked are even better.

I'm a Naked Wines man too.
Some very tasty numbers, and those who can be bothered rate the wines so if you want to play safe choose a bottle with a high rating.
I rarely rate them because I've found them all pretty good!

Aye, but I don't take regular deliveries. You can set it up however you want. I pay a monthly subscription which can be from 20 up. Then you order whenever you want. And all that cash is yours, there's no actually subscription fee, you're basically giving them a committed cash flow which gets invested into the vineyards upfront thereby supporting smaller vineyards.

I used to use Sunday Time wine club and I reckon they're the best of the rest. But the wines I've been getting for the past year or two from Naked are even better.

Cheers - just checked out their website and been offered a 20 voucher - worth a try.

I'm Naked too.
Some very tasty numbers, and those who can be bothered rate the wines so if you want to play safe choose a bottle with a high rating.
I rarely rate them because I've found them all pretty good!

Well if they have that effect on you I might as well give them a try.

This. As someone who worked in the trade for ten years, I absolutely support this view. And not simply because the wine is indeed better. Supermarkets are killing wine quality, absolutely hollowing out the sector from bottom end to middle-of-the-road. Wine is essentially an agricultural product, and vineyards are being treated in the same shameful way as dairy farmers are these days; i.e. supermarkets are turning up and telling them how much they're getting for their wine, regardless of quality. Otherwise they'll leave them high and dry without a second's thought, with bumper crops withering on the vine.

Get yersel a subscription to Naked Wines. Best wines I've ever had.

Can't agree here, I'm afraid. With the exception of the Manley vineyard stuff they were doing - with the Shiraz and Pinotage being particular stars - it's mostly mediocre stuff.

There's no substitute in my view for getting yourself down to Cornelius, Villeneuve or the like - you get wine that has been chosen with the least possible consideration to commercial numbers. Further to that, small wineshops tend to work very, very hard on providing their base range - they might only have six wines at 6, but they'll have spent ages selecting, negotiating and pricing it. They're their signature wines, so to speak.

The simple fact is you get what you pay for. Wine can't be produced for buttons, end of story. If you want wine for 3 and 4 a bottle, then I'm sorry, but you're part of the problem for the poor gadgies who produce it. You will get wine that is by definition sub-standard mass production grape juice (your Gallo-style, sugar-poured-directly-into-the-vat style pish), and either a loss-leader or the product of some poor farmer getting screwed over. You simply cannot go under 6-ish without this being the case. End of.

This. As someone who worked in the trade for ten years, I absolutely support this view. And not simply because the wine is indeed better. Supermarkets are killing wine quality, absolutely hollowing out the sector from bottom end to middle-of-the-road. Wine is essentially an agricultural product, and vineyards are being treated in the same shameful way as dairy farmers are these days; i.e. supermarkets are turning up and telling them how much they're getting for their wine, regardless of quality. Otherwise they'll leave them high and dry without a second's thought, with bumper crops withering on the vine.

Can't agree here, I'm afraid. With the exception of the Manley vineyard stuff they were doing - with the Shiraz and Pinotage being particular stars - it's mostly mediocre stuff.

There's no substitute in my view for getting yourself down to Cornelius, Villeneuve or the like - you get wine that has been chosen with the least possible consideration to commercial numbers. Further to that, small wineshops tend to work very, very hard on providing their base range - they might only have six wines at 6, but they'll have spent ages selecting, negotiating and pricing it. They're their signature wines, so to speak.

The simple fact is you get what you pay for. Wine can't be produced for buttons, end of story. If you want wine for 3 and 4 a bottle, then I'm sorry, but you're part of the problem for the poor gadgies who produce it. You will get wine that is by definition sub-standard mass production grape juice (your Gallo-style, sugar-poured-directly-into-the-vat style pish), and either a loss-leader or the product of some poor farmer getting screwed over. You simply cannot go under 6-ish without this being the case. End of.

Have you had any of the Benjamin Darnaut stuff? I'd be surprised f you have with that viewpoint.

Can't say I have, BW. In fairness, I only used them two or three times, so I must concede it's somewhat of a sweeping statement on my part!

Try the Manley, though, if they still do it! :thumbgrin

Can't say I have, BW. In fairness, I only used them two or three times, so I must concede it's somewhat of a sweeping statement on my part!

Try the Manley, though, if they still do it! :thumbgrin

Cool, man. Well, I'd recommend their Italian whites and French reds as being well worth checking out. The NZ pinos etc. are excellent.

I reckon I've had mediocre from all the places I've ordered, I generally just put it down to the subjective nature of wine and taste in general, something someone else loves, gives me the boak.

Cool, man. Well, I'd recommend their Italian whites and French reds as being well worth checking out. The NZ pinos etc. are excellent.

I reckon I've had mediocre from all the places I've ordered, I generally just put it down to the subjective nature of wine and taste in general, something someone else loves, gives me the boak.

Well, absolutely. It's not an exact science, after all. You like what you like, and nobody can tell you it's right or wrong.

I stand by my point on the nature of the industry, though. Whatever folk like, I'd urge them to think about where it's coming from, and how.

Well, absolutely. It's not an exact science, after all. You like what you like, and nobody can tell you it's right or wrong.

I stand by my point on the nature of the industry, though. Whatever folk like, I'd urge them to think about where it's coming from, and how.

Completely agree. My point was merely re Naked. Totally agree with your industry points.

In fact, that's why I chose Naked. I don't drive, so I generally don't do big heavy orders at local shops. I do use both the shops you mentioned though, and can vouch for them being excellent. Never got a duff drink out either and got a brilliant case of Cava out the Broughton st one about 5 years ago that shat all over most of the mid range champagne I've ever had. And that cava you'd never ever see in any super market.

There is a majestic next to the Aldi on Springback road. Nae idea if it's any good though, I drink Liebfraumilch!

Thanks,unfortunatley they have a 6 bottle minimum buy:banger:

Conversely, the choice of beer is much better than it used to be. Some great beers and ales about these days and microbreweries taking off too.

Trooper beer is very nice.

Laithwaites for me. Very rarely get a stinker,

Agree with the derision of the supermarkets. Some of the chateauneuf de pape's that have been appearing on shelves are an insult.

Was a beer drinker in the house until about a year ago and then starter on red wine ( maybe an age thing). I know sod all about wine and my qualification is 10 a bottle or where about from morrison and being half price.....this practice works well or maybe y taste buds are ;)/&@, a bottle e of night and I am a happy hibee

i have gone off bottles of lager and cider and now opted for tequila base lagers such as desperado and amigo however I know where the blame for that lays......:pullhair:

Was a beer drinker in the house until about a year ago and then starter on red wine ( maybe an age thing). I know sod all about wine and my qualification is 10 a bottle or where about from morrison and being half price.....this practice works well or maybe y taste buds are ;)/&@, a bottle e of night and I am a happy hibee

i have gone off bottles of lager and cider and now opted for tequila base lagers such as desperado and amigo however I know where the blame for that lays......:pullhair:

I swear by Stella Cidre and their pear as well, goes down very well freezing cold, need the ice cubes...so refreshing you need a few:lookaround:

Am no a big drinker as ye know S, but I can highly reccommend Koppaberg Summer Fruits sir, very moreish :thumbgrin

Noted Dave....

Never used to drink cider, but got into bulmars but the stella is tidy...got a few to try, misses likes the rekorderlig(sp)

That does not sound like a decent drink, however I shall let you buy me four or five to convince me :boxing:

Im sure you would, nane of that sweet desperate stuff you and the amigos drink in the harp...:giggle:

After the mess my two fellow desperados sent me home in a taxi last week I ave promised my wee wife there will be no more of that pollutant, never before have I drank fifteen bottles and felt fine until the fresh air has hit me. Maybe jftb and mp are effected less!

i shall stick to conventional beers bandit

After the mess my two fellow desperados sent me home in a taxi last week I ave promised my wee wife there will be no more of that pollutant, never before have I drank fifteen bottles and felt fine until the fresh air has hit me. Maybe jftb and mp are effected less!

i shall stick to conventional beers bandit

You will be losing a bar with talk like that....

Then again, its not as bad as losing your " wee wife":giggle:

erm wife's can be replaced but a desperado bar is :dance: ( can we block senga de bounce reading this post please )

You could have deleted it......but not now i have replied with it in my post:rollfloor

Anyway, securing a desperado bar would be more fun:lookaround:

And too pished to see the pc never mind click a few buttons? :giggle:

I just can't remember whether the first bottle was so good that I tried another; or so bad that I needed another.

Rather than be needlessly rude, I politely decline to comment and just have another.

It's only fair.

Noted Dave....

Never used to drink cider, but got into bulmars but the stella is tidy...got a few to try, misses likes the rekorderlig(sp)

Standing in the queue in the hibs club a few weeks back the laddie infront of me ordered two of these rekorderling numbers.The look of disgust from me and the big boss felly barman told him what we thought, he then complained about the lack of ice in his glasses almost causing an international incident.

My two pints of T and a Best was met with nodding approval

Standing in the queue in the hibs club a few weeks back the laddie infront of me ordered two of these rekorderling numbers.The look of disgust from me and the big boss felly barman told him what we thought, he then complained about the lack of ice in his glasses almost causing an international incident.

My two pints of T and a Best was met with nodding approval

Lol
I did say the missus drinks it...

Laithwaites for me. Very rarely get a stinker,

Agree with the derision of the supermarkets. Some of the chateauneuf de pape's that have been appearing on shelves are an insult.

Agree with you on Laithwaites, have just taken delivery of their Luxury Chrimbo Case. I also have a Popey from Waitrose to compare against the one in the Laithwaites Case so can compare the relative qualities :champers: