Puff

joethehibby

Daddy,Diddy,Doddy, whatever his name is trial starts tday . I liked some of his songs, obviously that will change if found guiltyđŸ˜©đŸ€Ș

Is messages just an Edinburgh word? Been faced with blank stares if I've said it anywhere else I've lived.
Others may know otherwise but I think messages is used throught Scotland. ' I'll chum you for the messages, might be able to chore something'' I think chum and chore are Edinburgh slang. Mind you that might be a shan reply @Bangkokhibby !

Today's puffin news is not good.

Scotland's puffin population has suffered a decline in its breeding success, according to the latest figures. Around 75% of the UK's Atlantic puffin population lives in Scotland, with a significant number currently breeding on the Isle of May in the Firth of Forth, but the number of chicks has dwindled in recent years and puffins are now listed as vulnerable to extinction....

Today's puffin news is not good.

Scotland's puffin population has suffered a decline in its breeding success, according to the latest figures. Around 75% of the UK's Atlantic puffin population lives in Scotland, with a significant number currently breeding on the Isle of May in the Firth of Forth, but the number of chicks has dwindled in recent years and puffins are now listed as vulnerable to extinction....
No enough pantin fae the puffin?

Others may know otherwise but I think messages is used throught Scotland. ' I'll chum you for the messages, might be able to chore something'' I think chum and chore are Edinburgh slang. Mind you that might be a shan reply @Bangkokhibby !

Chore I believe is a gypsy word. Choorie is a knife.

I have some screen shots from a history of gypsy words somewhere I'll try and dig it out.

Is messages just an Edinburgh word? Been faced with blank stares if I've said it anywhere else I've lived.
Scottish word, faced the same blank looks at times. But the Dutch actually use the same word - as in their word for message, errand etc (boodschap) and not 'shopping'.

There are lots of everyday words we use which are gypsy/Hindu in origin. I found the pages I was looking for.....

• City of Edinburgh-20111222-00360.jpg
    City of Edinburgh-20111222-00360.jpg
    265.2 KB · Views: 5
  • City of Edinburgh-20111222-00357.jpg
    City of Edinburgh-20111222-00357.jpg
    363.5 KB · Views: 5
  • City of Edinburgh-20111222-00356.jpg
    City of Edinburgh-20111222-00356.jpg
    418.5 KB · Views: 3
  • City of Edinburgh-20111222-00355.jpg
    City of Edinburgh-20111222-00355.jpg
    396.6 KB · Views: 5
Chore I believe is a gypsy word. Choorie is a knife.

I have some screen shots from a history of gypsy words somewhere I'll try and dig it out.
Radge and gadge/gadgie are Romani derivatives @EH17 Jimmy also used in the North East of England. I supped a pint of Radgie Gadgie made in North Shields, in Robin Hood Bay many years ago and searched for the reason for its name out of curiosity. .

There are lots of everyday words we use which are gypsy/Hindu in origin. I found the pages I was looking for.....
We did a thread a year or two back on this Hindi dialect and East Coast slang terms from Newcastle to Embra.

Anglican Sub-hindi summat or other, ifonly I could br arsed looking....

But this 'messages' is just Scots English using an existing English word in a different way, not a foreign import.

My mate who works in the library sent me these photies. And when my lassie was in having the wee yin the Hindu lassie opposite was a bit shocked when she heard us talking about the words and their origin.

We did a thread a year or two back on this Hindi dialect and East Coast slang terms from Newcastle to Embra.

But this 'messages' is just Scots English using an existing English word in a different way, not a foreign import.
Aye I think I mind the thread but wasn't sure what it was called 😒

Brilliant. Romanis did indeed originate in India pal.

I downloaded the book eventually and apparently Hindu is close to Sanskrit as well.

But shan gadgies and barrie morts and chavvies aside nae gaun oot with a choorie and choring with your joogal (I think)

There was indeed but many, many years now amigo. You may be right about messages but I vaguely remember reading that it originated in rural Ireland where Post Offices sold groceries too. Might be my ever diminishing memory playing tricks though.

Why do Irish people say messages instead of shopping?

the slang term for “Groceries” or shopping. The phrase originated from a time when local post offices in Ireland often doubled as small general stores. “I'm just heading out to get the messages—do you need anything from the shop?”11 Sept 2024

@GORDONSMITH7 and @EH17 Jimmy yup Romani slang is all over Edinburgh patter and elsewhere.

Another thing which is quite interesting is polari, used by travelling circus workers and also by gay men in the old days, to identify each other and also to speak without being rumbled. I have it in my bonce somewhere that it's an inspiration for the lingo in A Clockwork Orange.

It has also contributed much to everyday speak; naff, barney, blag and more in here ;

@GORDONSMITH7 and @EH17 Jimmy yup Romani slang is all over Edinburgh patter and elsewhere.

Another thing which is quite interesting is polari, used by travelling circus workers and also by gay men in the old days, to identify each other and also to speak without being rumbled. I have it in my bonce somewhere that it's an inspiration for the lingo in A Clockwork Orange.

It has also contributed much to everyday speak; naff, barney, blag and more in here ;

Clockwork Orange was spoken in Nadsat the teenage language at the time. A mix of Russian and made up words. I have a copy of Clockwork Orange written in Nadsat. Here be the Nadsat dictionary......