Proclaimers

At their concert in Nottingham last nighr. Was brilliant and sell out. Crowd a bit su dued but the last 4 songs woke up and jumped around
Nice one, I'm going to see them in Glasgow in December.

Out of interest, is there anything specific you guys can put your finger on when you say the crowd was a bit subdued? Reason I ask is that it seems that clapping at the end of songs has died out post-Covid and I can't really figure out why. I first noticed it at an Ashe concert, but it was mostly filled with teenage lassies and they seemed to be screaming and bawling rather than clapping so I figured it was an age thing (and my daughter reckoned it was because they were holding mobile phones). I've noticed it at lots of gigs since then too though.

The other thing I've noticed is that standing at the back no longer means that you get plenty of space around you. I assume there's been a subtle shift in the "closeness" that people are comfortable with, so the pit is a bit less dense and that continues right to the back. I've seen this even at the Hydro where folk end up standing in the entrance tunnel bits.

It was more everybody sitting and clapping at the end off each song a few up dancing at certain songs but mostly sitting till the last kinda few big songs

Most of my gigs are punk gigs (The Damned next week ) and theres still plenty of pogoing going on not by me though am 58 with a dodgy hip so am hanging about the middle of the hall notice more and more phones i usually take a couple of pics but theres people filming the whole gig maybe more to do with the vlogging thing

It was more everybody sitting and clapping at the end off each song a few up dancing at certain songs but mostly sitting till the last kinda few big songs

Most of my gigs are punk gigs (The Damned next week ) and theres still plenty of pogoing going on not by me though am 58 with a dodgy hip so am hanging about the middle of the hall notice more and more phones i usually take a couple of pics but theres people filming the whole gig maybe more to do with the vlogging thing
Cannae understand punters travelling/paying through the nose tae go tae gigs then standing watching it through their phone

I saw the Proclaimers at the Playhouse in 1994(ish) and I found it surprisingly subdued TBH.

Cannae understand punters travelling/paying through the nose tae go tae gigs then standing watching it through their phone
Totally agree. Singing along with the stranger next to you was boss.

Even though the band get the lyrics wrong sometimes.

But each to their own i suppose.

It's the new way of making bootlegs methinks.

Just been listening to this

Screenshot_2022-10-26-15-01-35-78_345bb2134bfb84a7decceb0b36861421.jpg

Saw the Proclaimers in Bath a few years ago and although it was a belting gig Craig and Charlie offered next to no interaction with the audience. Just battered through all their songs to a very high standard.

TBH I don’t mind this, you go to some gigs and the lead singer can waste half the gig telling their funny wee stories (in their mind only!) Less talk, more songs!

Pretty much what others said. The crowd were appreciative but mostly sat and clapped at end of the songs. Some looked pretty middle class 60 and 70 year olds....oh wait im 60 soon...

Next concert could be more of a challenge. I love dancing or jumping around like an idiot but I fancied going to see a new act so got tixkets for Holly Humberson in Glasgow. Bought 2 tickets rather hopefully but going with a mate..our cobined ages well over 100..just hope the place isnt full of teeny boppers...bur I do genuinly like her music , no idea of the genre..punk art maybe 😄😮‍💨

The Proclaimers always play quite a few songs from their latest album at the start of their shows, then move on to the crowd favourites and the singalongs. Always has to be remembered that when touring they are promoting their new record so they have to play quite a few songs from that, and many of the fans at their shows won't know the songs, hence the sometimes subdued atmosphere. The show builds up well though and they know how to play the crowd.

I've seen Craig and Charlie so many times over the years. First time was at the Usher Hall in the mid 80's when it was an acoustic show with just the two of them and no band. This was even before Sunshine on Leith was released. The last time I saw them was in Liverpool a few years ago and it was brilliant. Great atmosphere as well.

I don't think they get the credit they deserve as a band. They are extremely talented songwriters and performers, and have been going strong now for nearly 40 years...still touring extensively all over the world. One of Scotland's best ever bands as far as I am concerned.