Pre season

Went over the last time we played Shamrock Rovers over there (under Mixu or Yogi?) - great trip! The stadium in Tallaght is an absolute mission to get to from the city centre.

Yes it was a good one, the Tallaght is in a lovely location, the hospitality in their social club was superb. If you get the chance book the Maldron Hotel, excellent, only 2 mins from the ground.

I think that’s where we went before the game for pints last time 👍🏻

Flights booked to go over there. No return flight booked yet. i expect Hibs will go and do some 150th stuff at Ballingarry AFC during this tour.

Tallaght is in a lovely location
😂 Said nobody ever😂... Even neds from Crumlin... Or residents of the Dolphins Barn / Dolphin House Estate😂... but, aye, the new stadium itself and stuff immediately adjacent seems decent... Just don't park your cars, keep your wallet in an unzipped pocket, accept offers from local colleens, drink the water or breathe the air in the general Tallaght area... And make sure you've had your jabs... And bought holiday insurance.

I was in Temple Bar a few months back. A mate’s son stag weekend.
I don’t remember the price of a pint.
I don’t remember who my mate is and I don’t remember who I am.
Decent weekend.
Used tae go over for the Irish Greyhound Derby final and had a few ‘don’t remembers’.
Decent weekendS.

Used tae go over for the Irish Greyhound Derby final and had a few ‘don’t remembers’.
Decent weekendS.
I used to go to the dogs at Shelbourne & Harold's Cross when I lived in Dublin. I've been to Shelbourne a couple of times on more recent trips over. It's kept in slightly better nick than Powderhall & Shawfield were😂... and they were in better state than Wimbledon when the English Derby was there.
As Southfield says, this might clash with Scotland's 2nd round game in the World Cup😕.
I've booked. Most likely won't even be in the country😂, but if Wexford were to win the Leinster Hurling title (about as likely as Hibs winning the Scottish Cup) an All-Ireland semi-final the following Saturday would definitely get me over.

I miss Powderhall. Used to watch what we could from the bridge in St Marks park as kids then started going twice a week as young teenagers. So easy to get served at the bar, never a question asked.

I miss Powderhall too. Used to bet Trap 6 every race no matter who was running, pretty sure used to come out fairly even at the end of the night.
May be misremembering though, it was almost 50 years ago...

I miss Powderhall too. Used to bet Trap 6 every race no matter who was running, pretty sure used to come out fairly even at the end of the night.
May be misremembering though, it was almost 50 years ago...
My favourite dog used to run from trap 6. A beautiful little black and white bitch called Kitty from Kerry. That was slightly more than 50 years ago.
I had a retired greyhound as a pet. Best dog I ever had.

Never managed to get to a Greyhound meeting at Powederhall, I used to go to the Speedway there for a few years.
I miss the place as well.

Aye, fond memories indeed, my old man was an owner so we were regular attendees, the restaurant was brilliant.

My son was living there in one of the flats that were built when it was demolished.
When they built the offices down Powderhall we were doing the wide vinyl work.

I had a couple of lads on the vinyl and when I went down it was ghost town.

The dole had hit the site and like was mentioned about Holyrood it was vacated big time. 😁

Why do I have wallyford swirling around my aged brain when I think of greyhound racing?
There was a dug track there years ago. Nae dugs, only a fitba pitch, last time I was there 30 odd years ago wi Liberton United under 11's.

They started to build a new dug track but only got as far as putting some steel work in.

I believe there's planning permission in now though to build something.

They started to build a new dug track but only got as far as putting some steel work in.

I believe there's planning permission in now though to build something.
No been doon that way for a few years so not sure if it's still there but the steel work was there for years Jimmy

My favourite dog used to run from trap 6. A beautiful little black and white bitch called Kitty from Kerry. That was slightly more than 50 years ago.
I had a retired greyhound as a pet. Best dog I ever had.
My family in Italy got two retired greyhounds. When they first arrived they just stood still. It took a while but eventually they realised the dogs were so used to flat ground they couldn't understand how to negotiate the steep hills where they now lived. They basically had to train the dogs to walk again. Great pets though.

I used to love going to Powder hall when younger, like horse racing it's cruel. Greyhounds in the racing industry face significant welfare issues, with thousands suffering injuries or death. Between 2017 and 2024, over 4,000 dogs died or were euthanized in the UK industry, with over 35,000 injuries recorded. Key welfare concerns include high-speed injuries, poor living conditions, doping, and being treated as "wastage" if not fast enough.

That's why greyhound racing is now banned in Scotland, a bit late as there are no active tracks left in Scotland.

But greyhound dogs make great pets.

I used to love going to Powder hall when younger, like horse racing it's cruel. Greyhounds in the racing industry face significant welfare issues, with thousands suffering injuries or death. Between 2017 and 2024, over 4,000 dogs died or were euthanized in the UK industry, with over 35,000 injuries recorded. Key welfare concerns include high-speed injuries, poor living conditions, doping, and being treated as "wastage" if not fast enough.

That's why greyhound racing is now banned in Scotland, a bit late as there are no active tracks left in Scotland.

But greyhound dogs make great pets.

The ban has come about due to various factors, mostly a political concession from the SNP to keep their alliance with the lunatic Green party going.

Sporting stadiums in general (including football) are under threat from land developers looking to seize all they can for mega profit from housing tie ins with councils.

Racing wise, a dog can run and get a simple cramp then be checked over by the attending vet...this goes on the stats even though no damage is done other than a bit of physio by the trainer and a variation to feeding. No different to saying their were 28 odd injuries in a league game if a physio enters pitch.

Anti-racers of course hype everything up and whilst racing has some bad apples, so does every walk in life. How many rogues have been at our own club?

I have a former racer sitting here at home now, in better health condition than probably any domestic dog his age, it's simply not true they are all thrown out a car, hammered on the heid, etc.

Anyway, that's discussion for elsewhere. 😎