Portobello HS

Tomsk09

The City of Edinburgh Council is conducting an online public opinion poll on the proposal to use a private bill to enable the build of Portobello HS on Portobello Park. Please see below.

https://www.edinburgh.gov.uk/forms/...ol_private_bill__public_opinion_questionnaire

Just for the record, I voted Yes to the proposal. I am absolutely convinced that the park is the optimum site for the new school; however, I voted Yes only because I am sure that building on the park is what the majority of people in Portobello want.

I voted yes too. Those against this have resorted to desperate tactics.

To be fair Kenny, the people who are against the school on the park have followed the process of law and won.You can argue that the law is an ass and that the park is the correct site for a new school (and I'd agree with you), but the main people behind the new school on the park are as arrogant as those on the other side.The night before the ruling was made public, certain PFAN's merchant's were wrongly and arrogantly asking people to buy champagne and proclaiming those on the other side to be losers.None of it does the community of Portobello any good.

I'm not affected by this as my kids go to St.John's/Holyrood, but I also voted yes, the current school is desperate, plus a new PHS means a new St.Johns, which is my main interest.

Setting up a Build It On Baileyfield facebook account and using the official Portobello High School crest to give the impression of it being official. That's naughty enough, but then inventing fictitious members to comment on their ridiculous posts....

They are desperate!

It is a real shame that it has caused some divisions within a wonderful community and great area for all to be part of. However, there is no doubt the overwhelming majority of them see the justification and merit of this much needed new school being built on the park.

Setting up a Build It On Baileyfield facebook account and using the official Portobello High School crest to give the impression of it being official. That's naughty enough, but then inventing fictitious members to comment on their ridiculous posts....

They are desperate!

It is a real shame that it has caused some divisions within a wonderful community and great area for all to be part of. However, there is no doubt the overwhelming majority of them see the justification and merit of this much needed new school being built on the park.

I think Baileyfield has it's merits as a site, but also drawbacks...cost being the main one.I know feck all about fictitious people.

The main point is that the no camp is technically in the right and their campaign was vindicated by the inner house of the court of session.The manner they conducted themselves in leaves alot to be desired, but the same can be said about the other lot.I know who the main characters on both sides are, and safe to say they're all a bunch of bell ends imo, and whilst they all might think they have the best interest of Portobello at heart, I also think they represent what's gone wrong with Porty in the last 15 or so years.

I voted yes too.

They are desperate!

PPAG = Fictitious

I know who the main characters on both sides are, and safe to say they're all a bunch of bell ends imo, and whilst they all might think they have the best interest of Portobello at heart, I also think they represent what's gone wrong with Porty in the last 15 or so years.

will vote yes, but agree with this. Neither side (or better neither self-appointed leader of either side) has acted with much dignity.

I also received a note today from Council asking for views on a Private Bill in Parliament to erect a statue on the Links of a golfer called Rattray. The Bill is necessary because statues are not in the Schedule of permitted building in some Act or other. Some golf society will pay 250K to erect the statue, while the Council (ie us) will pay legal costs of a Private Bill. I am happy to see the home of golf celebrated but would prefer not to pay a penny for it.

will vote yes, but agree with this. Neither side (or better neither self-appointed leader of either side) has acted with much dignity.

I also received a note today from Council asking for views on a Private Bill in Parliament to erect a statue on the Links of a golfer called Rattray. The Bill is necessary because statues are not in the Schedule of permitted building in some Act or other. Some golf society will pay 250K to erect the statue, while the Council (ie us) will pay legal costs of a Private Bill. I am happy to see the home of golf celebrated but would prefer not to pay a penny for it.

Which Council and Golf Course is this ?

John Rattray, author of the rules of golf.

I've always wondered why Leith doesn't make more of the links.I guarantee that visiting Americans/Japanese golfers (of which there are plenty) would pay reasonable money to play the original layout with traditional clubs.A sure way of bringing visitors to the area.

John Rattray, author of the rules of golf.

I've always wondered why Leith doesn't make more of the links.I guarantee that visiting Americans/Japanese golfers (of which there are plenty) would pay reasonable money to play the original layout with traditional clubs.A sure way of bringing visitors to the area.

mind we did somethin like that a few years ago during the leith festival up by the cricket club?

Surely the poll should be for people directly affected, I'm interested to know apart from Southfield and a new St Johns how and why others have voted if it doesn't affect them.

My old man takes his dog to the golfy and it would piss him off no end, I'm pretty certain that's the best reason we may get for voting ???

Surely the poll should be for people directly affected, I'm interested to know apart from Southfield and a new St Johns how and why others have voted if it doesn't affect them.

My old man takes his dog to the golfy and it would piss him off no end, I'm pretty certain that's the best reason we may get for voting ???

So we have 1300 pupils and their parents annoyed or one man and his dog annoyed........

Yes better not annoy a dog.

Suppose you could say that everyone who pays tax in Edinburgh is affected.And your dad will be able to walk his dog in the new park on the the current site of PHS.I walk my dogs there sometimes too btw.

So we have 1300 pupils and their parents annoyed or one man and his dog annoyed........

Yes better not annoy a dog.

I agree, but if the 1300 pupils and parents and everyone in Portobello voted No , others from out the area who it never affected could change that .

It's more a local issue than a city wide surely ..

I agree, but if the 1300 pupils and parents and everyone in Portobello voted No , others from out the area who it never affected could change that .

Well fuck me sideways, something we agree on! ;-) :-D

Suppose you could say that everyone who pays tax in Edinburgh is affected.And your dad will be able to walk his dog in the new park on the the current site of PHS.I walk my dogs there sometimes too btw.

That's the issue for him he enters from Milton Rd and the Figgy is way too far for a man in his eighties, fit as he is .

Anyway , the dog is a side issue as he is 12 , I just can't believe those it doesn't affect directly have such a lot too say ..

Strange ..

It should be a local issue and I think it is.

If yiou fill in the online Council opinion thingy it askes for name and address and verifies that you are in the catchment area and then sends you an electronic confirmation they have accepted your opinion.

Why should someone who lives in Corstorphine have an opinion that should matter when quite clearly it would not affect them in any way ?

If yiou fill in the online Council opinion thingy it askes for name and address and verifies that you are in the catchment area and then sends you an electronic confirmation they have accepted your opinion.

Why should someone who lives in Corstorphine have an opinion that should matter when quite clearly it would not affect them in any way ?

Apologies , I never looked at it online as apart from the auld man and the dug its not a big issue too me ..

This now clears it up and I thought only Southfield was in the catchment area as oxgangs I know isn't .

Cheers for that

I don't think that's correct, the survey might ask for your postcode, but it's not a way of vetting those outwith the catchment area, it's just a way of seeing where votes are coming from.

The council couldn't exclude those Edinburgh residents, this is an issue that does affect Edinburgh as a whole as it's holding up the the next tranche of schools, not just St.Johns, but Boroughmuir too.

The building of a new Portobello HS is of direct interest to everyone in Edinburgh. We should all want to see public money being used in a practical and cost-effective manner. We should all be concerned about the condition and quality of the city's school estate right across Edinburgh. We should all want to ensure that children in all parts of the city are being educated in a condusive and above all safe environment. We should all want to see better community and sports facilities being built that can be used by everyone living here.

Public money, time and effort has been expended maintaining the current school long after its shelf life expired, while this dispute has been going on, that could have been used elsewhere such as on the build of the new school. And it has been wasted again on expensive legal proceedings, on planning procedures and on PR, consultations and research when everyone knows -- even those who deny it -- that the park is the optimum location for the new school.

The old school is a dilapidated wreck. A new school could have been up and running five years ago. It will probably not be finished within the next five years if at all. I would hate to think if something similar had happened and was happening in my area that the rest of Edinburgh would stand by idly without getting involved.

It's mair than a local or city issue imho. It could be said that me no longer bein' a resident o' Embra it's nane of my business. Fair dinkum on the face of it. But if this bill goes through Common Good land in Scotland will be endangered. I can just see developers rubbin' their hands and thinkin' "Go for it, Porty !"

"They paved paradise, put up a parking lot"
- Joni Mitchell

It's mair than a local or city issue imho. It could be said that me no longer bein' a resident o' Embra it's nane of my business. Fair dinkum on the face of it. But if this bill goes through Common Good land in Scotland will be endangered. I can just see developers rubbin' their hands and thinkin' "Go for it, Porty !"

- Joni Mitchell

I'm on your side

- Joni Mitchell

The Council is proposing a private bill devoted entirely to the one issue of whether Portobello Park should be used as a location for the new school. The ultimate decision would apply only to Portobello Park and would have no impact whatsoever on the law regarding the general use of common good land throughout the rest of Scotland.

The building of a new Portobello HS is of direct interest to everyone in Edinburgh. We should all want to see public money being used in a practical and cost-effective manner. We should all be concerned about the condition and quality of the city's school estate right across Edinburgh. We should all want to ensure that children in all parts of the city are being educated in a condusive and above all safe environment. We should all want to see better community and sports facilities being built that can be used by everyone living here.

Public money, time and effort has been expended maintaining the current school long after its shelf life expired, while this dispute has been going on, that could have been used elsewhere such as on the build of the new school. And it has been wasted again on expensive legal proceedings, on planning procedures and on PR, consultations and research when everyone knows -- even those who deny it -- that the park is the optimum location for the new school.

The old school is a dilapidated wreck. A new school could have been up and running five years ago. It will probably not be finished within the next five years if at all. I would hate to think if something similar had happened and was happening in my area that the rest of Edinburgh would stand by idly without getting involved.

No one is disputing what the school is I went there 30 years ago and it was a tip, a new school should be built I agree, where it is built is an issue for locals not me or you .

I've no idea how it will affect you,but you will be putting money in regardless .

No one is disputing what the school is I went there 30 years ago and it was a tip, a new school should be built I agree, where it is built is an issue for locals not me or you .

I've no idea how it will affect you,but you will be putting money in regardless .

An issue indeed.There is no viable alternative site.

And therefore I want to see the money being used properly. I also don't wish to see any more money being wasted.

And I am a local. This is not happening in Timbuktu. It's happening in Edinburgh. I live in Edinburgh.

And therefore I want to see the money being used properly. I also don't wish to see any more money being wasted.

And I am a local. This is not happening in Timbuktu. It's happening in Edinburgh. I live in Edinburgh.

You may well do, do you vote in Portobello or elect the councillor... No , not getting embroiled in this , I'm just not sure that it has anything to do with you directly..

Did you put a route preference in for the trams ???

And if not why not ??

You may well do, do you vote in Portobello or elect the councillor... No , not getting embroiled in this , I'm just not sure that it has anything to do with you directly..

I think it does. And I have made my case, such as it is. To say any more would just be repeating myself.

I don't see the connection. But, for what it's worth, the trams will not pass near to where I live but I have very firm views on the construction of the tramway in Edinburgh.

And if not why not ??

I have been opposed to the tram project since the start and I have made my point of view known to the Council. Judging by the progress of the construction they didn't seem to pay much heed.

I am no fan of the Council. Don't get me wrong. But on the school build I am with them. I think a new school on the park will be good for the area, good for Edinburgh and above all good for the schoolchildren. I understand that some people will be inconvenienced by the relocation, but I think there is an overwhelming case of greater good.

And just to reiterate my position as stated in my OP: while I think I am entitled to a view I would not have completed the online public opinion form had I not been absolutely convinced that the majority of people in Porty want the new school built on the park.

I don't think that's correct, the survey might ask for your postcode, but it's not a way of vetting those outwith the catchment area, it's just a way of seeing where votes are coming from.

The council couldn't exclude those Edinburgh residents, this is an issue that does affect Edinburgh as a whole as it's holding up the the next tranche of schools, not just St.Johns, but Boroughmuir too.

I am led to believe theyverify the post code entry to Council Tax records and only issue an electronic receipt if the records are verified as being in the catchment area.

While I would pray for no council wastage, what schools they build in the West side of Edinburgh is of no concern to me.

- Joni Mitchell

No it won't affect Scotland, only the Park.

The Council is proposing a private bill devoted entirely to the one issue of whether Portobello Park should be used as a location for the new school. The ultimate decision would apply only to Portobello Park and would have no impact whatsoever on the law regarding the general use of common good land throughout the rest of Scotland.

Spot on.

Correct.

An issue indeed.There is no viable alternative site.

Correct.

So the only bit of greenery left in the area goes , that's what irks me .

You are obviously not up to date with Council proposals then !

And if not why not ??

Quite.

Wish they'd hurry up and build it in the park,tell the Nimbys tough titties...

Hurry up they cannot do but stuffing the nimbys is a cert.