Player ratings

NGP

A message to you, radge
Zibbi - Just feck off, Christ how much do we need a decent keeper.
Caldwell - not a Captains performance, I have always defended this guy, but he was poor today.
Hogg - OK
Smith - Was doing well, he should have no complaints about being sent off, game was over anyway
Murphy - Solid, as always
Whitty - looked just as lost in midfield as he does at RB
Glass - Bullied out the game
Thommo - Had no help, but his final ball was poor
Fletch - Not really in the game
Sproule - missed two great chances then got him self sent off
Benji - never in the game, lost the ball, which led to the 1st goal

Tony - just about the best team with players available, but what has happened to our passing game?

Dougal - Forgot to put his cards in his pocket for the 1st half, how more Hearts players were not booked is beyond me, again a bigger more physical team than us gets away with blatent spoiling tactics, no complaints about the 2 players sent off though.

Hearts - won the game without doing anything, soon as Hibs won the ball they fouled, forcing the long ball.

Our lack of depth within the sqaud was shown up today, just look at the subs we had.

For the 'fans' who left at 2-0, don't bother coming back.

Would agree with that one.

Subs :

Jamie Mcluskey - Why bring him on when we are 4-0 down?

Amadou konte - Better than usual but still not good enough.

Oumar Konde - Was ok, Never made a foot wrong in the five minutes he was on.

NGP said:
Caldwell - not a Captains performance, I have always defended this guy, but he was poor today.
Hogg - OK
Smith - Was doing well, he should have no complaints about being sent off, game was over anyway

Tony - just about the best team with players available, but what has happened to our passing game?

Dougal - Forgot to put his cards in his pocket for the 1st half, how more Hearts players were not booked is beyond me, again a bigger more physical team than us gets away with blatent spoiling tactics, no complaints about the 2 players sent off though.

Hearts - won the game without doing anything, soon as Hibs won the ball they fouled, forcing the long ball.

Our lack of depth within the sqaud was shown up today, just look at the subs we had.

Cant disagree with a single word mate. The passing game goes out the window when you are down to bare bones and the passing players arent on the pitch. You forgot to add that Zibbi should be taken out and shot and sproule was a feckin arse for doing what he did and he deserved to go. All in all it ws murder.

You forgot to add that Zibbi should be taken out and shot and sproule was a feckin arse for doing what he did and he deserved to go. All in all it ws murder.[/QUOTE]

Agree with that, Zibbi should be dropped (down a large hole).

it WAS murder like.i couldnae believe it, some boy threw his scarf on to the sideline after the 2nd goal,and c~nts started leaving!!!! with 30 plus minutes to go.shameful.
pisspoor performance by hibs all round

we were toothless up front, we never looked like scoring and our final ball was absolutely shocking.
We have a keeper who is a bombscare and effectively put us out the game with his positioning for the second goal. Good point about the passing - what has happened to us the latter half of this season? Fair enough we had the bare bones of a team playing, but we couldn't put two passes together at times. Is this all because we cannae train regularly, and if so then Petrie must, absolutely must, get this sorted as soon as.
Don't know what Ivan was thinking about - stupid thing to do, Gary Smith will feel let down by Zibbi for not coming out when it mattered, but few players get pass marks today.

i thought whitty was feck'n shocking throughout, he had two decent shots but he's a RB and was absolute pish, where was he for the first goal? gently jogging back!

Thomson was one of the only ones that showed up.

Sproule totally lost it but the yam boy went down pretty easily before it.

we need a new keeper and whole new defense, with maybe the exception of murphy

steve3096 said:
i thought whitty was feck'n shocking throughout, he had two decent shots but he's a RB and was absolute pish, where was he for the first goal? gently jogging back!

Whitty was playin in midfield today. Dont know where mind you.

Firstly, I thought Thomson was tremendous. He was the only one who showed some heart, and didn't hide when it was clear we were going to lose. He kept tackling, and kept making passes. The quality of ball he was putting in from corners was excellent, it's just a shame we couldn't capitalise on it.

Zibi - Liability. Everyone in the Hibs end could see what Hartley was thinking with that freekick...why couldn't he?

Sproule - Someone PLEASE tell this guy how to play football! The amount of times he runs into two and three defenders is insane, and his final ball is generally poor. He has the potential to be such a threat, with the natural gifts he has (pace and a decent shot, incase anyone's wondering), but he doesn't utilise them properly. Should be ashamed of himself for the manner of his dismissal, and needs to learn to keep the feckin' heid. I know that this seems harsh, but it's so frustrating to watch a guy who has done so much for us this season turn in such a disappointing performance in our most important match.

Benji - Completely ineffectual. The long ball game we ended up playing didn't help him, but I wouldn't like to judge him on the back of just one game. Hopefully he'll be a lot better when he gets some games under his belt.

The rest of the team were very "middle of the road", in my opinion. We didn't play shockingly, and I don't think that the game today was a "four-niller". We gave Hearts three of their four goals, and should have had one or two ourselves before they opened the scoring. However, they capitalised on our fuck ups, so deserved to win.

The limitations of our squad were cruelly exposed today. We're too lightweight at the best of times, but were missing too many players to be able to compete with the power of Hearts. Their strength allowed them to hold onto the ball better than we did, and to move it around properly. Seemed to be Hibs reserves versus a Hearts squad full of international players at points, although Hearts did have problems of their own to contend with. The difference was that, although Hearts were missing players, they were able to replace them with others of a similar level of ability, whereas we simply were not.

I think the game can be subbed up very simply -

Hearts - good goalie, winners
Hibs - bad goalie, losers

*chops said:
Firstly, I thought Thomson was tremendous. He was the only one who showed some heart, and didn't hide when it was clear we were going to lose. He kept tackling, and kept making passes. The quality of ball he was putting in from corners was excellent, it's just a shame we couldn't capitalise on it.

Was i at a different game to you?

NGP said:
Hogg - OK

Or indeed any that left before the 90:sad

BoomtownHibeys said:
Was i at a different game to you?

I doubt it. Different folk see games in different ways. Thomson impressed me today, evidently his performance did nothing for you, which is fair enough. What faults did you see in his performance?

*chops said:
I doubt it. Different folk see games in different ways. Thomson impressed me today, evidently his performance did nothing for you, which is fair enough. What faults did you see in his performance?

Didnt think his passing was up to much. Hit a couple of decent corners in the first half but we had a couple in the 2nd half along wi free kicks in decent positions that hit the first man every time

500miles said:
Or indeed any that left before the 90:sad

I wondered when the "no a real fan if you left before the whistle" brigade would turn up:sad.

Proclaimers said:
I wondred when the "no a real fan if you left before the whistle" brigade would turn up:sad.

My point in the original post was a number of fans left at 2-0. When a few walked past me I asked if they would be at ER on Wed, their face said it all. I can understand (although don't agree with) people leaving after the 3rd, the game was dead & buried, but i feel there is too much of an element within the Hibs support who do not give the team their full backing when things are against us.

I'm no saying people who leave early are not real fans, but I bet those who left at 2-0 have hardly been at ER all season, in fact their last game would have been last years semi.

NGP said:
My point in the original post was a number of fans left at 2-0. When a few walked past me I asked if they would be at ER on Wed, their face said it all. I can understand (although don't agree with) people leaving after the 3rd, the game was dead & buried, but i feel there is too much of an element within the Hibs support who do not give the team their full backing when things are against us.

I'm no saying people who leave early are not real fans, but I bet those who left at 2-0 have hardly been at ER all season, in fact their last game would have been last years semi.

I left after the third goal, with many people that have gone home and away supporting Hibs for many a year. I think a lot of people are just fed up with the team constantly letting us down when we spend so much money on them every season and all we get is a half arsed performance in the biggest game in years.

I am finding it hard to name a player who played for the shirt out there, maybe Thomson, but over the past two season there has been too many half-arsed performances and many people are now fed up with that.
I would maybe be annoyed at people who left with, say, half an hour to go and the team giving everything, but I can fully understand people walking out on Hibs today when the team hadn't turned up for them.

steve3096 said:
Thomson was one of the only ones that showed up.

I thought Thomson was pish :dunno:

He did his usual all game of turning into trouble, and his passing was as bad as Caldwell's

Proclaimers said:
I left after the third goal, with many people that have gone home and away supporting Hibs for many a year. I think a lot of people are just fed up with the team constantly letting us down when we spend so much money on them every season and all we get is a half arsed performance in the biggest game in years.

I am finding it hard to name a player who played for the shirt out there, maybe Thomson, but over the past two season there has been too many half-arsed performances and many people are now fed up with that.
I would maybe be annoyed at people who left with, say, half an hour to go and the team giving everything, but I can fully understand people walking out on Hibs today when the team hadn't turned up for them.

Fair enough, people leaving early is just one of my pet hates, as I said I can understand people leaving after 3-0, but canny understand why people left at 2-0.

On the performance, I am fed up losing by shooting ourselves in the foot, bad defending, poor goalkeeping, lack of effort have all been there this year. It is easier to take when we are outplayed, but hearts did nothing today and still walked away with a 4-0 win, all 4 goals you can point the finger at Hibs players.

NGP said:
but hearts did nothing today and still walked away with a 4-0 win, all 4 goals you can point the finger at Hibs players.

Exactly, if anyone saw that scoreline they would think Hearts were fantastic, when they were nothing short of average.

Too many times we were caught on the break and were far too slow in getting back,this caused the first goal.

The other three goals were gifted.

I would not be hurting as much if we had put in a fighting performance and hearts won with a few wonder goals but I am so angered by the way we gave them the game.

NGP said:

Totally agree. There is no reason to leave early in my mind, you paid the money, so boo if ur angry. Just walking out confirms your lack of interest in the event and questions your dedication. Plus, other fans cant see a f**king thing when you're all walking out

NGP said:
Fair enough, people leaving early is just one of my pet hates, as I said I can understand people leaving after 3-0, but canny understand why people left at 2-0.

On the performance, I am fed up losing by shooting ourselves in the foot, bad defending, poor goalkeeping, lack of effort have all been there this year. It is easier to take when we are outplayed, but hearts did nothing today and still walked away with a 4-0 win, all 4 goals you can point the finger at Hibs players.

Maybe they left at 2 because they thought we had no chance of getting back in it? And guess what? They were right!

For the record I left at 3 as I was not wanting to risk missing a 2-2 draw!! :sad

NGP said:
Hogg - OK

Agree with most of that.Thought Hogg played really well though snuffing out Hearts strikers who actually didn,t play that well. Think I will add a V on to the front of my avatar.

Malkowski : Not good enough to play in the SPL

Caldwell : A very poor performance. His crossing and distribution were not of the standard of an "international" footballer.

Hogg: A bit clumsy, but tried hard.

Smith: Sorry Gary, it's time to quit.

Murphy : Hearts had done their homework on him, and pushed him back. Pretty innefectual TBH.

Thomson: A good player, but he lacks confidence in the final third of the pitch. Was asked to cover too much ground due to Tony Mowbray playing 4 against 5 in midfield again, even though it failed disasterously in two previous Derbies this season.

Fletcher : Tin hat on here. I just don't see what a lot of Hibs fans see in this lad. I know he is only 18, but he just doesn't impress me all that much. He was out of his depth today. I'm willing to give him a chance, and hopefully he will make the breakthrough and prove me wrong.

Whittaker: Better in Midfield than full-back, but too many threatening runs from the middle were wasted by ridiculous 40 yard efforts.

Glass: Dreadful performance from an experienced player who we really needed to be up for it on the day. Won't be sad to see him go TBH.

Sproule: The only Hibs player who showed anything like the right aggression and attitude. His sending off was inexcusable though, and Mowbray has a real job on his hands calming him down and turning him into an effective footballer. Fed on a diet of crumbs though along with his strike partner.

Benji: Too early to say, but he looked lost most of the time. Hopefully, we will see great things from this guy, but today was a tough debut for him. It didn't help that we have now gone back to the Bobby Williamson days of humping high balls to the forwards. Meat and Drink for a defence like Hearts have.

Subs: Konte:At least got stuck in.
Konde: Looked OK, but the game was well lost by the time he came on.
McLuskey: Yet another wee guy in a team/squad of midgets.

Hibs would appear to have learnt nothing from the two hammering taken already against Hearts this season. Malkowski was awful back in August when we suffered our first 4-0 defeat, and here we were 8 months on in the cup semi-final at Hampden, and we are getting hammered again by the same scoreline, with Zibby gifting them goals. This game today showed us where we are in the scheme of things in the SPL. We have too many lightweight, inexperienced players, and no leadership. The spine of the team is still a long way short of being right, and the manager must start coming up with answers in the close season.

Hibs were a total disgrace today, and yet again let down many, many people.

NGP said:
Hogg - OK

I fully agree wiht you on this one....I stayed the whole 91 minutes i think it was....then walked away....i dont know what got into sproule but i hope he is taking a long hard think about what he ahs done :sad

Proclaimers said:
I wondered when the "no a real fan if you left before the whistle" brigade would turn up:sad.
Yeah i'll be fair, when i posted that i was in a bad mood, so i take it back. But those who left at 2 nil need to take a look at themselves:sad

500miles said:
Yeah i'll be fair, when i posted that i was in a bad mood, so i take it back. But those who left at 2 nil need to take a look at themselves:sad

It's okay mate:thumbgrin, I was raging when I got in :banger: .

what a dont get is why TM opts to play hogg in all our bigger games and not our smaller games we have a guy who is big and looks like a good no nonsense defender (Konde) why not play him at centre back instead of put him on for the last 5 minutes.
Ivan and thomson and murph looked to me the only players today that actualy tried.