Painting.

jetsam1

Radge McRadge of Radge End
I hate the idea of it. I don't much like the execution of it.

But. I find it weirdly satisfying............ Painting window frames and surrounds in the cold outside and I have contrived to paint quite a bit of myself as well.

Just started to rain a bit so have to stop for now. Had to take a week and a half off work as HR said I had too many days left and wanted to get my brain back from the Planet of Stress and slide back to the periods of poor mental health I have had over the last couple of years largely from overwork and other life stuff.

And now I am covered in paint trying to stop the daft cat from trying to drink the paint.

Are yous now using water based paints mate?
I've seen the change from oil based to water based over the years.

I don't like the water based paints. The Dulux weathershield system was the best I used.

Are yous now using water based paints mate?
I've seen the change from oil based to water based over the years.

I don't like the water based paints. The Dulux weathershield system was the best I used.
It’s all the likes of water based opaque and shit like that mate

Always found Valti to be a decent paint, or a decent golf day out at least!

Aye the opaque finishes like Valti were being used more.

When I first started my time we used to use lead based paints for windows.

And red lead on the metal. And eggshell wasn't odour free (imagine the eggshell smell now and magnify it ten fold).

Being the apprentice I always got the shitty job in cupboards, bin stores and the like.

Flying oot ma nut at the end of the day.

Aye the opaque finishes like Valti were being used more.

When I first started my time we used to use lead based paints for windows.

And red lead on the metal. And eggshell wasn't odour free (imagine the eggshell smell now and magnify it ten fold).

Being the apprentice I always got the shitty job in cupboards, bin stores and the like.

Flying oot ma nut at the end of the day.
Did yi have the numbers of the corresponding paints written on the walls Jimmy?;))

Well one time at a nursing home in Musselburgh the chargehand went round with the drawings and put the type of paper and the colour for each room written on the wall.

We got started and days later the site agent had a wee look.

Jimmy Bally the chargehand had the drawings upside down when he put the paper and colour.

Cue much merriment from assembled painters.

Well one time at a nursing home in Musselburgh the chargehand went round with the drawings and put the type of paper and the colour for each room written on the wall.

We got started and days later the site agent had a wee look.

Jimmy Bally the chargehand had the drawings upside down when he put the paper and colour.

Cue much merriment from assembled painters.
Built a Scandinavian type timber clad extension on the back of Charlie Reids hoose years ago. Got a phone call from his missus greetin and asking us tae go round tae see it. The painter, who's faither you will know, was telt tae stain it a mahogany colour and when we went and seen it, it was maroon.:eek: They two were due hame from the States the following week so it was all hands on deck sanding it off for them coming hame.

Billy colours are a nightmare. See the wee shade cards you get?

That colour is NOT guaranteed. The paint makers are allowed 14 (I think) shade variations either way. That way it 'encourages' one to purchase match pots. For a price obviously.

I've used Hibernian Green a few times on jobs though. Ruins the rollers and brushes but job satisfaction 😆

Billy colours are a nightmare. See the wee shade cards you get?

That colour is NOT guaranteed. The paint makers are allowed 14 (I think) shade variations either way. That way it 'encourages' one to purchase match pots. For a price obviously.

I've used Hibernian Green a few times on jobs though. Ruins the rollers and brushes but job satisfaction 😆
The wee wifie up at Ratcliffe Terrace, cannae mind the name of the shop, used tae be good at matching colours, if yi could manage tae get a wee sample for her.

Ann was brilliant. Caledonian Paints was owned by Russels over at Warrender Park.

They in turn were bought over by The Paint Shed who used to be owned by Rollands.

Now Brewsters down south own them all.

Ann was brilliant. Caledonian Paints was owned by Russels over at Warrender Park.

They in turn were bought over by The Paint Shed who used to be owned by Rollands.

Now Brewsters down south own them all.
Ann, aye that was her name. Was that the same firm at West Mains? Kent the lassie Marion that worked there.

I'm away down to London on Sunday to do some graft (and drinking 😆) so I'll see if there's much of a difference in paint prices.

And a wee heads up for yous home decorators. Dont be misled by going to B & Q and getting a tub of Dulux for under £20.

It's crap. It's DIY paint they sell.

Go to a merchants. And Johnstone's paint is as good as any.

Dulux is obviously the best on the market but expensive.

And when at the merchants get decent rollers, brushes and trays.

Look after them and they will last a good while.