Over-70s face driving ban for failing eye tests

"Motorists over 70 could be banned from the roads if they fail compulsory eye tests under a radical shake-up of driving laws in Great Britain.

Plans also include reducing the drink-driving limit in both England and Wales to be in line with Scotland's laws, and giving people points on their licence for not wearing a seatbelt.

The move comes after an inquest into four deaths caused by drivers with failing eyesight saw a coroner call the UK's licensing system the "laxest in Europe"."

At the moment if a healthcare professional, GP, optician, hospital consultant says you shouldn't drive it's up to you to inform DVLA and/or not drive. As far as I'm aware there's no route for the healthcare professional to advise DVLA. In fact I'm pretty certain there isn't. It's a piece of nonsense.

I know of people who have been advised not to drive and, despite peer pressure, continue on regardless.

There's also nothing in the proposed changes to further restrict under 25s who are still the most likely to be a threat to themselves and others.

Seen it reported that they were considering making it over 55. Probably so they can get the 70 plus through easier.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

"Motorists over 70 could be banned from the roads if they fail compulsory eye tests under a radical shake-up of driving laws in Great Britain.

Plans also include reducing the drink-driving limit in both England and Wales to be in line with Scotland's laws, and giving people points on their licence for not wearing a seatbelt.

The move comes after an inquest into four deaths caused by drivers with failing eyesight saw a coroner call the UK's licensing system the "laxest in Europe"."

At the moment if a healthcare professional, GP, optician, hospital consultant says you shouldn't drive it's up to you to inform DVLA and/or not drive. As far as I'm aware there's no route for the healthcare professional to advise DVLA. In fact I'm pretty certain there isn't. It's a piece of nonsense.

I know of people who have been advised not to drive and, despite peer pressure, continue on regardless.

There's also nothing in the proposed changes to further restrict under 25s who are still the most likely to be a threat to themselves and others.

Can't really argue with that tbh. If your eyes are fucked you really shouldn't be driving.

I've already put in dibs on my parentals car and number plate (H11 BBE) following that this morning.

Was told to, and I quote, "fvck off dick"

Got an auld neebur in her late 80's that still drives. Takes her 5 minutes tae get in her car and another 10 minutes tae reverse oot her driveway and demolished a few wee fence posts I had a couple of years ago. She's a nice auld biddy and she really shouldnae be driving but she can hardly walk. I've offered tae get her stuff fae the shops but she refused my offer.

Motoring related.

Police seized 72 vehicles worth an estimated £6m, including identical purple Lamborghinis, in a three-day operation across Hyde Park, Kensington and Chelsea.

Drivers were issued with tickets for a variety of motoring offences, including driving with no insurance, no driving licence, disqualification, false documentation and the use of fraudulent number plates.