Organ Donation? You In?

Zitellis Heid

As a rather pish Diabetic, I can offer only my eyes/cornea`s. (As the rest is pretty much fucked)

What do you/Can you offer?

3 people die each day waiting. For YOU.

Apart from giving blood, What are you doing to help your fellow man/woman?

And, if nothing, Why not? They need you.

Right now.

Simple form to fill out. Please do it.

And do it now. :dub:

I'm signed up to donate whatever may still be in working order. never got round to giving blood though, which i should.

Had to think hard about this when renewing my photocard driving licence. Opted for Yes, become a donor, but the only thing i said i would keep was my eyes. Think if im giving away the rest, keeping my eyes is probably ok.

Aye, and what`s the Muslim thoughts on this?

Step up, Abdel.

It is allowed both organ donation and organ transplantation in the case of necessity

"most of the jurists have only allowed the donation of the organs. They do not allow the sale of human organs. Their position is that the sale of human organs violates the rules of the dignity and honor of the human being, and so it would be haram (forbidden) in that case.

Some jurists suggest that because people have become too materialistic and it may not be possible to find a free organ, under necessity one can purchase the organs, but a Muslim should never sell his/her organs.”

Had to think hard about this when renewing my photocard driving licence. Opted for Yes, become a donor, but the only thing i said i would keep was my eyes. Think if im giving away the rest, keeping my eyes is probably ok.

Why? :dunno:

Someone stays blind so you can look at the inside of a coffin?

Fair play on the rest tho` :applause:

The Joke is that there is no need. There should be an opt out option in Britain, where you carry a card stating that you DON'T wish to be an organ donor, we pop our clogs, we donate.

As a rather pish Diabetic, I can offer only my eyes/cornea`s. (As the rest is pretty much fucked)

Right now.

glad i saw this thread , i would be grateful if people would read this and think about it.

my late mother suffered from cystic fibrosis and was very ill for the early years of my life however in 2005 she had a double lung transplant. It gave her a new lease of life , we went on holidays to turkey , lanzarote , barcelona and then she learned to drive and insisted on driving us up to edinburgh at weekends so ma dad could have a drink before the fitba then she dragged us round ocean terminal/princes street shopping . Those last few years meant the world to me i saw my mum as she should have been. healthy . she didn't deserve this but the transplant gave her something she DID deserve , 4 years of blissful healthiness.

please if you haven't already , think about it! :thumbgrin

and :fyi: anything they want is up for grabs when i go and i hope someone , and their family , benefit as much as my mum and our family did.

thanks for reading

I have been on the organ donation register since I was 17 and got my provisional licence,and they can have everything, no use to me when i'm dead, I have given blood a few times, but haven't recently (i must look out for when the blood bus is next in the area)

Im not registerd but will get signed up soon as i can. As Madkink says its not gonna be anygood to me when im dead.

The Joke is that there is no need. There should be an opt out option in Britain, where you carry a card stating that you DON'T wish to be an organ donor, we pop our clogs, we donate.

Not for me, the state can have no call over any person or their body on death.

And having seen a retreval team in action, no way are they getting near me, those folk are no better than a wake of vultures :red:

Right now.

I'm on it, have been for years. They can have whatever they want when I'm deed, although I'm not sure they would want my Liver or Lungs :033:

And having seen a retreval team in action, no way are they getting near me, those folk are no better than a wake of vultures :red:

Never seen the harvesters but know a couple of people who have. Don't know if i'd be able to handle them circling waiting for my nearest and dearest to take their second last breath then swooping in and stripping them.

It's a horrible situation and I do understand that speed is of the essence, but they have real scant regard for the immediate family as all their attention is on getting the relevant organs out and into waiting patients. FWIW, I would not want to be on a harvest team or have to deal with asking relatives for permission to harvest.

im registered however they cant use most of my organs due to the medication i take for my epilespy. its the same with donating blood, im not allowed but would very much like to.

as people have said, get signed up people! you could save a life:thumbgrin

And having seen a retreval team in action, no way are they getting near me, those folk are no better than a wake of vultures :red:[/QUOTE]

Nothing to worry about , yer deid. Won't feel a thing.
What you have to remember is, the retrieval team is trying to save a life when yours is over. That could be someone like Deeks01's mum. It could be a young pesron who has lived all their life with a disease like CF.

I am donating & whatever they wish to use, they can.[after watching Hibs for 40+ years i wouldn't think the ticker would be much cope though]
I gave a couple of pints of blood many years ago, but a bout of jaundice put an end to that.

And having seen a retreval team in action, no way are they getting near me, those folk are no better than a wake of vultures :red:[/QUOTE]

Nothing to worry about , yer deid. Won't feel a thing.
What you have to remember is, the retrieval team is trying to save a life when yours is over. That could be someone like Deeks01's mum. It could be a young pesron who has lived all their life with a disease like CF.

I am donating & whatever they wish to use, they can.[after watching Hibs for 40+ years i wouldn't think the ticker would be much cope though]
I gave a couple of pints of blood many years ago, but a bout of jaundice put an end to that.

Well good, dead or alive its still my feckin body and they do not get anywhere near it, END OFF

glad i saw this thread , i would be grateful if people would read this and think about it.

my late mother suffered from cystic fibrosis and was very ill for the early years of my life however in 2005 she had a double lung transplant. It gave her a new lease of life , we went on holidays to turkey , lanzarote , barcelona and then she learned to drive and insisted on driving us up to edinburgh at weekends so ma dad could have a drink before the fitba then she dragged us round ocean terminal/princes street shopping . Those last few years meant the world to me i saw my mum as she should have been. healthy . she didn't deserve this but the transplant gave her something she DID deserve , 4 years of blissful healthiness.

please if you haven't already , think about it! :thumbgrin

and :fyi: anything they want is up for grabs when i go and i hope someone , and their family , benefit as much as my mum and our family did.

thanks for reading

its stories like this that remind me why I signed up. My girlfriend freaked out when she found out I opted to donate (to be honest I didn't really think about it, only when i got the card through the post did I stop to contemplate the implications).

hopefuly your story will help more people decide to donate too. :thumbgrin

You want them to take your end off?

Is that for a bottom transplant?

What size is it?
Mrs Shrink may be interested if nobody has already put their name on it.

Why attribute that quote to me Doc? I didn't make it. Its kabulhibbys end that is in question, be it off or on!:dunno:

I happen to have a very neat end.:giggle:

Blue Toon Hibby will attest to that. Not in public of course.:shock:

Or is it Off Course?:dunno::hmmm

Why attribute that quote to me Doc? I didn't make it. Its kabulhibbys end that is in question, be it off or on!:dunno:

:102:
Dunno how that happened!! I thought I HAD quoted Kabul. As you say, it was hime that said it!

I didn't consciously equate you with an arse........

:giggle:

:102:
Dunno how that happened!! I thought I HAD quoted Kabul. As you say, it was hime that said it!

I didn't consciously equate you with an arse........

:giggle:

Wait a cotton pickin minute - now I'm quoting myself?

ADMIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

GET IT SORTED.

I have signed up and alway carry the donor card, I have written on it and told my family that under know circumstance are my organ's to be used on private patients. At this moment I know that Bupa etc dont do transplants but who knows what the future holds.

I would hate to think that if my liver for example was up for grab's someone who had money could buy prefernce over someone who didnt, if that makes sense.

But hey when I am gone do what every my wife \ kids want with me, I wont give a shite.

I'd just add that carrying a donor card means feck all if you haven't discussed this with your family and let them know your wishes when you die. Your family needs to know and they need to agree to the procedures.

They can have whatever bits of me they want (although I pity the fool that ends up with my liver!).

I'd just add that carrying a donor card means feck all if you haven't discussed this with your family and let them know your wishes when you die. Your family needs to know and they need to agree to the procedures.

They can have whatever bits of me they want (although I pity the fool that ends up with my liver!).

Or Lungs!!

I was under the impression a bout of jaundice, over a certain number of years ago, no longer counted as a reason for them not to accept your blood.

After giving a considerable amount of blood I received a transfusion a few years ago, Im still in credit at the blood bank :giggle: but I'm no longer allowed to donate and for that reason Im out!

I think that 'private members' cinema doon Morningside has an old Wurlitzer going cheap.....:dunno:

Joking aside, I don't have any suitable organs but would donate if I could.

I am registered to donate organs and blood.
They can have everything except my eyes.

I am registered to donate organs and blood.
They can have everything except my eyes.

Exactly the same here :applause: ! I am not sure why I haven't done my eyes but I say it is so I can see where I am going but that isn't much of a reason but I can't really justify it anymore than that :dunno:

Am definately in, they can use whatever is still in functioning order.

If it wasn't for people donating their organs my mum would have shuffled off this mortal coil 13 years ago and my whole world would have fallen apart. She was started on medication for a bowel complaint and within a few weeks it had destroyed her liver and she was in a coma, we were told her only chance was a liver transplant. Luckily for us there was one available in time to save her life and for that I will be eternally grateful to the family who generously took the decision to donate their loved ones organs at what must have been a devastating time for them.

When you are sitting waiting for a liver to become available knowing that is the only chance your Mum is going to get to live, it makes the decision to donate an easy one.

Go for it, you can't take any of them with you when your gone.