Online Addiction | Frenchman's Cowshed | HibeesBounce

Online Addiction

SuperTortolano

I'm starting to think that addiction to social media is going to be a big problem. I'm certain it has a negative impact on mental health. Imagine how much more productive people could be by eliminating posting on X, Instagram and the likes. Not doom scrolling TikTok and watching YouTube video one after another.

I bet if you ask most people if they could go without social media for a week, they couldn't.

Funny I was just saying to my wife last night, watching a documentary on the disappearance of Jay Slater - social media needs to be destroyed. Not only is it rotting people's brains, its actively changing them. Its having a profound, polarising effect on society too. Echo chambers become death cults. Nuance is an outdated concept. Attention spans are shot to pieces. I don't know how or if its possible, but something needs to be done.

At this point I think the one thing I'm definitely into, and seems to at least be feasible, is banning bairns from having smartphones.

Funny I was just saying to my wife last night, watching a documentary on the disappearance of Jay Slater - social media needs to be destroyed. Not only is it rotting people's brains, its actively changing them. Its having a profound, polarising effect on society too. Echo chambers become death cults. Nuance is an outdated concept. Attention spans are shot to pieces. I don't know how or if its possible, but something needs to be done.

At this point I think the one thing I'm definitely into, and seems to at least be feasible, is banning bairns from having smartphones.
I started to watch the Jay Slater documentary. I'll finish it tonight.

Something shady went on.

I only ever had X/Twitter and Instagram for about a month and found them pointless so deleted them, had Facebook for years, but that got deactivated a couple of months ago now, and I can honestly say other than a couple of things I followed, that I haven't missed it, and the couple of things I followed haven't been enough to make me re-activate it.

I agree with SuperTortolano that I think addiction to social media is going to be a big problem, and in the not too distant future too.

You could argue that any mass communication development over history has been accused of the same thing. Printing, cinema and broadcasting revolutionised how people communicate and engage with each other, for better or ill. Comics and penny dreadfuls were accused of the same thing.

The internet has revolutionised how we engage over the past 20 years. A lot of that is positive, but the key difference for me is the interactivity, speed and the way platforms can be manipulated. Facebook when launched felt like a nice way to keep in touch with people, especially abroad. I had no sense of the actual mechanics of assembling massive amounts of data and the implications of that. It's pretty clear now! The outrage over digital ID is interesting because the privacy issues that appear to concern people about it are dwarfed by the data that we voluntarily give to private companies every day.

And of course the young 'uns think Facebook is for oldies because it is long form and boring. It's no surprise that the snappy, short intense bursts of tik tok or X dominate.

So two issues are at play: the potential for addiction and changing how people consume info (less reading of books and long form articles); and the weaponisation of social media to spread misinformation and harvest data

On the first one, I think it's legitimate to restrict phone use in schools and I think parents should try to keep on top of excessive phone and social media usage. It's also possible that people might tire over time of the main platforms. And teaching kids to appreciate the long form, be that books, magazines, films etc . and developing critiquing and analytical skills is essential.

The second issue is much more thorny. Much of social media is free to use, in the sense that you don't pay for it. But the cost is in the information you give up and in inviting targeting by advertises and activists. While in some cases you can't avoid it ( some services are only available on line) we mostly opt into it. And the date is so valuable that it's no coincidence that the tech companies are amongst the richest in the world.

Supporters of the current state of social media point to the democratisation of access to information dissemination. Gone are the days when 'the elite' controlled access to what was published and widely disseminated. But in the old days there were controls: editing, journalistic standards, legal constraints and the potential for being sued. Very little of this applies to social media and is largely unenforceable. No serious paper would have run with the Euan Blair to operate the UK digital ID card. Yet it was presented here almost as fact.

And this is the crunch issue. How do you regulate what people post without crashing into censorship issues? How do you make people accountable for what they post? And does it make any difference in a world of bots and bad actors?

I wish I had an answer.

One final point. Is there a danger that we can just be a bit judgemental in all this. A kid with their nose in a book will be viewed more favourably than skid looking at their phone. But if the book is a Jackie Collins novel and the phone gives access to an Unherd article...

You could argue that any mass communication development over history has been accused of the same thing. Printing, cinema and broadcasting revolutionised how people communicate and engage with each other, for better or ill. Comics and penny dreadfuls were accused of the same thing.

The internet has revolutionised how we engage over the past 20 years. A lot of that is positive, but the key difference for me is the interactivity, speed and the way platforms can be manipulated. Facebook when launched felt like a nice way to keep in touch with people, especially abroad. I had no sense of the actual mechanics of assembling massive amounts of data and the implications of that. It's pretty clear now! The outrage over digital ID is interesting because the privacy issues that appear to concern people about it are dwarfed by the data that we voluntarily give to private companies every day.

And of course the young 'uns think Facebook is for oldies because it is long form and boring. It's no surprise that the snappy, short intense bursts of tik tok or X dominate.

So two issues are at play: the potential for addiction and changing how people consume info (less reading of books and long form articles); and the weaponisation of social media to spread misinformation and harvest data

On the first one, I think it's legitimate to restrict phone use in schools and I think parents should try to keep on top of excessive phone and social media usage. It's also possible that people might tire over time of the main platforms. And teaching kids to appreciate the long form, be that books, magazines, films etc . and developing critiquing and analytical skills is essential.

The second issue is much more thorny. Much of social media is free to use, in the sense that you don't pay for it. But the cost is in the information you give up and in inviting targeting by advertises and activists. While in some cases you can't avoid it ( some services are only available on line) we mostly opt into it. And the date is so valuable that it's no coincidence that the tech companies are amongst the richest in the world.

Supporters of the current state of social media point to the democratisation of access to information dissemination. Gone are the days when 'the elite' controlled access to what was published and widely disseminated. But in the old days there were controls: editing, journalistic standards, legal constraints and the potential for being sued. Very little of this applies to social media and is largely unenforceable. No serious paper would have run with the Euan Blair to operate the UK digital ID card. Yet it was presented here almost as fact.

And this is the crunch issue. How do you regulate what people post without crashing into censorship issues? How do you make people accountable for what they post? And does it make any difference in a world of bots and bad actors?

I wish I had an answer.

One final point. Is there a danger that we can just be a bit judgemental in all this. A kid with their nose in a book will be viewed more favourably than skid looking at their phone. But if the book is a Jackie Collins novel and the phone gives access to an Unherd article...
Excellent and eye -opening post Archie 👍

I think socal media is an enormous problem for the reasons others have given. Archie gives a good account of the pros and cons but I think underestimates qualitative differences compared to prior media forms he mentions.

We can't go back and analyse people before and after the printing press arrived, but afaik previous media hasn't reconfigured people's brain function, or at least not as negatively. Interactivity, algorithms amplifying prejudices or appetites or rewiring the brains reward systems...this is all new, at least i think.

Rather bleakly social media has punctured one of the great liberal motifs that used to be trotted out endlessly but you don't hear so much now; that people talking to each other is the answer to everything. Seems not, at least in the depersonalised medium of social media.

Another myth bust is that censorship or the desire to control is aways imposed top down: seems not, again.

What it seems to corroborate meanwhile, is people's tendency to tribalism.

It has contributed massively to narrative based views of the world and arrived just at the worst time, when western societies were already unravelling.

On the upside it provides an alternative to the manipulation coming from centres of power, but in so doing it gives a platform to any number of liars, and alternative manipulators. Like everything else, all of it just amplifies that unravelling.

We've ended up in a world where narrative is king - to the point that attempts to ground things in facts can provoke hostility - and where it easy to have one's prejudices stroked in response to any situation. Look at the aftermath to the Kirk shooting; would we previously have had pillars of the establishment rushing to recycle fabrications about someone they didn't know anything about, and would they have had the means to do it?

Without social media there would be no identity politics, reborn anti semitism, cancel culture, or conspiracy theory gone mainstream. There would also be no Arab springs and much reduced ability to speak truth to power. There would also be much reduced ability for intelligence services to manipulate things like Arab springs and for speaking lies about power.

A curate's egg for sure, but i think the harm outweighs the benefit, and that will only increase as the powers that be increasingly add their own layers into pre-selection of what content you see or can see, and AI churns out exponentially more of everything.

Get it in the bin.

Just look at the bounce on any given day. Loads of direct posts from, say twatter. Folks cannae even be arsed typing a response to other bouncers, they just post a post from a stranger on a different social platform! Mental.

Social medja isnae going away anytime soon. Personally cannae get my heid round why people would be on twatter, blue sky (is that still a thing?), facebook etc. The bounce and a piece of open-meshed material made of twine, cord, or something similar, used typically for catching fish or other animals are enough radges for me!

An interesting pod on the relationship between social media and increased anxiety and depression in Gen Z.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

I have, on occasion, bared my soul on here regarding personal issues but I would never, ever, do that on the wider social media. Mrs Wishbone dabbles on Facebook amongst our relatives but the responses she gets from 100s of strangers is truly scary. It's lazy socialising but also where people make money for nothing and scammers and wierdos have the perfect playground but the Genie's out of the bottle!

Can she not set it to friends only rather than public 🤔

I have a Facebook account but very rarely, if ever, post on it.
I find it useful occasionally, for messaging people, and I also like the local news feeds...but so much of it is shite.
We are also now getting very annoying AI generated reels being forced on us which are a nightmare to be honest.

Apart from Facebook, the Bounce, and a Bruce Springsteen worldwide fans forum I have been in for about 20 years, I have no interest in social media.
It's destructive and negative, and it's unhealthy for people to inhabit an echo chamber.

From the very limited amount I see on Facebook, everything seems to be extremes. There is no half way house on anything, or any attempt to see anything from another point of view.
So many people's minds are being poisoned by social media, they are basically living their lives on it, and everything is being influenced by it.
It's also very agenda driven from what I can see.
The world was a better place before it.