olives-love or loathe?

brianmc

I'd be interested to read fellow bouncers thoughts on these little blighters as a nibble. Not being the adventurous foodie type myself it's not been until the last couple of years until I manned up enough to try these slimy little fellows (whilst on one of my semi regular jaunts to take in the fitba in Barcelona)-and I must admit to thinking I'd been poisoned!! Never even managed gulp down my first sample, and actually spat it out in the bar...
Then it was suggested to me by someone who'd had a similar experience that if I tried again (in the comfort of my own home, to save me from embarrassment) and forced down six of them that from then on I would develop a taste for them and actually enjoy rather than endure then from that date onward.
Naturally I was sceptical. However, some months later that's exactly what I did...... And it worked!!
Now I actually enjoy having a wee bowl of them whilst sipping my vino.
Anyone else had a similar experience?

I'd be interested to read fellow bouncers thoughts on these little blighters as a nibble. Not being the adventurous foodie type myself it's not been until the last couple of years until I manned up enough to try these slimy little fellows (whilst on one of my semi regular jaunts to take in the fitba in Barcelona)-and I must admit to thinking I'd been poisoned!! Never even managed gulp down my first sample, and actually spat it out in the bar...Then it was suggested to me by someone who'd had a similar experience that if I tried again (in the comfort of my own home, to save me from embarrassment) and forced down six of them that from then on I would develop a taste for them and actually enjoy rather than endure then from that date onward.Naturally I was sceptical. However, some months later that's exactly what I did...... And it worked!! Now I actually enjoy having a wee bowl of them whilst sipping my vino.Anyone else had a similar experience?
I demolish a jar of them with my wine/beer too. They are one of those things that I can see how some people think they are disgusting though - I used to. I think I had to persevere with them too, but now I absolutely love them.

Not bothered by them either way. Now if you're talking celery, THAT's Satan's food :doh

Shades: have you a preference over green v black? I've only had green ;-)

SKII: Agreed!

Shades: have you a preference over green v black? I've only had green ;-)SKII: Agreed!
I pretty much only eat the green ones. Simple, pitted olives with no marinade, from a jar, in brine and I drain and rinse them. I'll occasionally have the pimiento stuffed ones but that's about as adventurous as I get with them. Delicious!

Not bothered by them either way. Now if you're talking celery, THAT's Satan's food :doh

I really like olives but I agree, celery is from the veritable devil's table.

Olives are nice, black and green. I prefer stones out but this can sometimes lead to the fruit becoming mushy and yuck.

Beetroot is the devils veg as far as I'm concerned.

Love olives, especially Greek ones and preferably black. Always have a big jar of them in the fridge and put them in lots of things from Lasagne to pasta sauces to cheese toasties. Glass of wine and a bowl of olives, mmmmm.

As for celery, love it too, especially with some salt on it and a wee blue cheese dip or similar.

Aye and beetroot too, Jack.

In fact I'll eat pretty much anything - except most shellfish.

Hated them but that's down to growing up in a household that never ate anything adventurous.

Still hated them and anything interesting up until I met the mother of my kids who introduced me to loads of amazing food and taught me it wasn't just fuel, food could really be enjoyed.

My son has loved olives since the beginning in various tapas & italian restaurants, from the age of 2 I reckon.

I reckon it's just a matter of exposure.

Can't stand olives back home, but currently touring Italy and love them, so fresh, tasty and soft.

I'd be interested to read fellow bouncers thoughts on these little blighters as a nibble. Not being the adventurous foodie type myself it's not been until the last couple of years until I manned up enough to try these slimy little fellows (whilst on one of my semi regular jaunts to take in the fitba in Barcelona)-and I must admit to thinking I'd been poisoned!! Never even managed gulp down my first sample, and actually spat it out in the bar...
Then it was suggested to me by someone who'd had a similar experience that if I tried again (in the comfort of my own home, to save me from embarrassment) and forced down six of them that from then on I would develop a taste for them and actually enjoy rather than endure then from that date onward.
Naturally I was sceptical. However, some months later that's exactly what I did...... And it worked!!
Now I actually enjoy having a wee bowl of them whilst sipping my vino.
Anyone else had a similar experience?

Must be the only time you've ever spat something out in a pub!

Grrr... I keel you, Meester Donny.

Anyway...yeah....olives are supoib.

Artichoke nice too.

And peppers, courgette and aubergine thinly sliced in olive oil.

Have to say I've gone right of aubergine here! Looks (like a mushroom) and tastes disgusting. Hey Ho.

Rosso and Rossi (depending on where you are!) is going down well tho.

I eat green but cook with either. Garlic stuffed green olives are good as are jalapeo stuffed olives.