Normandy - j'arrive!

HaarlemShuffler

Coffeeshop Radge
Well, it's been some 20 year since I last visited my old mate Gilles in Normandy. And after a difficult year so far (two of my close friends dead to cancer), I fonally got it together to book a train and accept his open invitation.

He was up here in NL 18 months ago or so no long after his missus went the same way as my friends, so it's a bittersweet reunion.

Anyway, just wondred if anyone else loves Normandy? Great cheese, cider, Calvados, Romania remains, castles... and they even fükked the English almost a millennium ago, what's not to like? 😀

Fly in ointment: train tomorrow to Paris, then change in metro to other station, bummer, hate Paris and the metro in particular!

AND the fukng Dutch trains are most probs on strike tomorrow so got someone to drive me to Amsterdam for the Eurostar tomorrow morn. Won't be settled till I'm in the train and it's running... wish me luck.

Allez la Normandie 🇫🇷

Hope it's a good meet up mate. Mind and get bladdered though. It's expected 😁

Hearin he has already got in a couple of malts and a 15 yr old Calvados for the visit. Should keep us busy.

For the first day or two 🥳
Pal of mine brought me back a bottle of Calvados about 40 years ago....... I'd never heard of it.
Unfortunately I made a mess of removing the cork, and decided that the bottle should be drunk quickly before it 'went off'.

Never drunk it since.

Pal of mine brought me back a bottle of Calvados about 40 years ago..... I'd never heard of it.
Unfortunately I made a mess of removing the cork, and decided that the bottle should be drunk quickly before it 'went off'.

Never drunk it since.
Used to regularly start my day in the wee workers café down the road from where I lived in Caen with a "café-calva" - black coffee with a good shot of the apple spirit! Fair woke ye up of a morning.

So you used to live their H? How did you end up so well travelled? Stayed anywhere else bar there and the Netherlands?

My wee brother lived in Caen years ago D. Enjoy your hols mon ami.

I went out with a lassie from La Chapelle-en-Juger a couple of decades back when I was thrown out by my wife for a time.

Nooooo REAL France eegie.

She was learning English here and looking after a families bairns who lived at Kirk brae.

Used to take her to the Hibs games and she ended up a big Smiths listener.

Used to regularly start my day in the wee workers café down the road from where I lived in Caen with a "café-calva" - black coffee with a good shot of the apple spirit! Fair woke ye up of a morning.
It wisnae a Scottish laddie that served yi was it? My wee bro worked as a chef back then. :gigglle:

If he was about 12 at the time, maybe...😁 I can't ask you what you really mean as I will no doubt regret it 🫣
Seriously D, my brother was a chef and lived and worked in Caen in the 1990's. If he was still alive I wid ask him whereabouts he worked.

So you used to live their H? How did you end up so well travelled? Stayed anywhere else bar there and the Netherlands?
Studied at the uni there when doing French. Also had similar for a few months in Florence, and worked in Var in the south of France and Düsseldorf in a hotel. Then a couple of months playing for 18-30 types in a bar in Lloret so picked up a bit of German and Spanish to add to the bits I'd already learned (had a German gf for a year in NL).

Not really a travelling type, I go if I can learn some new lingo or went for work. So not really a holidayer anymore, wanderlust is done and the only unknown country is the rest of my mind, which can be harder to read...

Oh aye, you did say, eh? I was there from 79-80 - he probs worked in one of the posh restaurants I used to lick the windows of wi my student allowance.
He was later, he would only have been 16 when you were there. He was a chef in the Rockville doon at Joppa and worked wi a French guy, they kept in touch when the guy went hame and he asked my brother tae go over. He was there about 5 or 6 years during the 90's.

It was the season we got beat of Stranraer first game of the season at Easter Road.

And she went back to France. (No because we got beat of Stranraer might I add).