No Surrender !

buckie

anyone remember this movie from the 1980's?

wrote by the great Alan Bleasdale and set in a Liverpool social club on new years eve where they have accidently double booked their function suite to the local orange order and catholic club.

starring Bernard "yosser" Hughes. James Ellis and Michael Angelis.

Boys from the Black Stuff gone sectarian :fyi:

hasnt been shown on TV in two decades plus and never realised on dvd.

managed to find a download after years of trying :thumbgrin:banana::banana:

Vaguely - don't think I saw it though. On a similar theme, there's a Scottish film - which I think was called' Just Another Saturday' - about an Orange Walk. Billy Connolly was in it. Disnae end happily.

wrote by the great Alan Bleasdale and set in a Liverpool social club on new years eve where they have accidently double booked their function suite to the local orange order and catholic club.

Aye i remember it.What a great find you got there.The auld blind guy who loved punching guys out, and Joanna Whalley Kilmer singing ave maria whilst everyone was scrapping.Wher did you get the download?

So where can we download it please.

Vaguely - don't think I saw it though. On a similar theme, there's a Scottish film - which I think was called' Just Another Saturday' - about an Orange Walk. Billy Connolly was in it. Disnae end happily.

It was a part of the Play for Today series - written by the great Peter McDougall. Large parts of it were actually filmed in Edinburgh, mostly the scenes on the actual Walk, as they were concerned that it would incite trouble if filmed in the weedge.

Filmed at the top of Easter Road opposite the old Tiffin restaurant....in the 'No Go Area' :tuttut:

Aye, but it was strange, cos they walked into a pub on Easter Road and when they got inside it was Robbies Bar on the corner of Leith Walk and Iona St they were in! :lookaround:

Probably mentioned this before, but I was waking home from school while they were filming in Newhaven Road and they were looking for extras.. but I was rejected cos my school uniform (Trinity) looked too catholic for them.. A few of my mates got paid for lobbing the juice bottles off the roofs in the scene in "Fenian Lane".. which was West Bowling Green St. :rodpetrie:

Restaurant! :laff:My dear old thing, I think chippie is word you're looking for.

Anyhoo, you're bang on. A lot of it was filmed in and around East Thomas Street. The area was called Chinatown when I was growing up. God knows why. I doubt a Chinaman had ever been near the place. Maybe it's cause they were always throwiing plates at each other.

Restaurant! :laff:My dear old thing, I think chippie is word you're looking for.

Anyhoo, you're bang on. A lot of it was filmed in and around East Thomas Street. The area was called Chinatown when I was growing up. God knows why. I doubt a Chinaman had ever been near the place. Maybe it's cause they were always throwiing plates at each other.

I think you will find that the Tiffin had two parts....a chippie for the plebs (fi East Thomas Street)

and a more sophisticated 'sit doon restaurant area' for the more discerning patrons fi Albert Street :yeah:

Not a chicken chow mein to be found anywhere :fyi:

'Chinatown Is a no go area' was painted on the wall for years.

I think you will find that the Tiffin had two parts....a chippie for the plebs (fi East Thomas Street)

and a more sophisticated 'sit doon restaurant area' for the more discerning patrons fi Albert Street :yeah:

Not a chicken chow mein to be found anywhere :fyi:

'Chinatown Is a no go area' was painted on the wall for years.

They had broon and red sauce on the tables.

Are you the Barney who used to run Manor Thistle with Ian Gracie.