New York

Gordon T

I know it's been done before but I'm off to New York and was wondering about a decent/fun Irish? Pub near 53rd and Broadway.

I think there is, on the main street. Can't remember the name.

It was really busy with lots of happy regulars when I was there but to be honest I wasn't overly impressed.

I know that isn't at all helpful, sorry!

I know it's been done before but I'm off to New York and was wondering about a decent/fun Irish? Pub near 53rd and Broadway.

You're going to New York and wanting to know where there's an Irish pub? That doesnt make any sense to me. It reminds me of people who go on holiday to Spain because they can get a full english breakfast there.

Might be a bit away but on east 45th street there is a pub called The Perfect Pint which we went to a lot in May as it was next to the Hotel. Although not cheap was a great all round place.

When you going? I'm in west48th in December 6th for a week. We stayed w73rd last year and theres loads of Irish bars around there.
Found awe dive bar that we used as a local, 3 dollars for 2 buds. And the food was excellent tae.

Bull mcCabes in st marks is a good boozer, pool table, beer garden and bizarely a crashed light aircraft in it. that was yeasrs ago so may have changed.

Try The Harp at 729 Third Avenue between 45th and 46th street. Irish pub but it's pretty pricey.

If you're in NY, you really should visit McSorley's Old Ale House at 15 East 7th St between 2nd and 3rd avenue. Not changed much in 160 years.

Try The Harp at 729 Third Avenue between 45th and 46th street. Irish pub but it's pretty pricey.

If you're in NY, you really should visit McSorley's Old Ale House at 15 East 7th St between 2nd and 3rd avenue. Not changed much in 160 years.

Agree Re: McSorley's - like stepping into a time machine! A definite must-see.

Last time I was there I went into an 'Irish' bar for a late drink and was delighted to see a vast collection of malts in the back bar. I ordered a Scapa only to discover that they'd actually just filled old bottles with pretty nasty bourbon. I pointed this out to the barman and was quietly told to "get the **** outta here and never come back!"

The Hibernia Bar in Hells Kitchen is good.
At least I think it was good, JFTB and I were peeshed by the time we left.
Manager even bought us a drink if I remember correctly.
Staying on W48th so just 2 blocks away, will be paying a visit

They also do brilliant t-shirts :thumbgrin

2XL Dave? :rascal: Will purchase 1 when I'm in:thumbgrin

Cheeky! But aye, mine is 2xl :giggle:

Dave ah was just makin sure I could get 1 ma size mate :rascal:

Incidentally I saw a pair if green Adidas trackies at the Outlets in Orlando a few years back and I was gonni get a pair till I realised the were XXXXXXL shorts. Coulda camped oot at TITP in they bad boys

Direct flights to and from Edinburgh/NY announced today if I understood right.

Just shows what a bunch of wankers the previous owners were. I've lost count of the new destinations this company, from bankrupt Spain, have brought in.

Direct flights to and from Edinburgh/NY announced today if I understood right.

Just shows what a bunch of $#@!s the previous owners were. I've lost count of the new destinations this company, from bankrupt Spain, have brought in.

Continental and United been flying to Newark NJ for years (which is NY for all intent and purpose) and Delta previously flew to JFK when BAA were in charge.

Also, current owners are GIP and are HQd in America. Previous owners were the Spanish company Ferrovial, of which BAA were a subsidiary.

#planegeek

Continental and United been flying to Newark NJ for years (which is NY for all intent and purpose) and Delta previously flew to JFK when BAA were in charge.

Also, current owners are GIP and are HQd in America. Previous owners were the Spanish company Ferrovial, of which BAA were a subsidiary.

#planegeek

That's me telt, lol.

American Airlines flying to JFK from next summer, my pals at United arnae best pleased.

Interesting, it's been loaded on the system for a month or so but only announced today, I assumed it was common knowledge

American Airlines flying to JFK from next summer, my pals at United arnae best pleased.

Interesting, it's been loaded on the system for a month or so but only announced today, I assumed it was common knowledge

The JFK route comes at the expense of the Edinburgh flight to Philadelphia.

United have the NY route sewn up so can only expect the new JFK flight to bring prices down and enable more passengers flying direct, rather than taking cheaper flights via London, Amsterdam, Paris etc.

Good news in other words!

The JFK route comes at the expense of the Edinburgh flight to Philadelphia.

United have the NY route sewn up so can only expect the new JFK flight to bring prices down and enable more passengers flying direct, rather than taking cheaper flights via London, Amsterdam, Paris etc.

Good news in other words!

It is good news, American are actually pretty decent and as you say, it'll result in lower fares to onward destinations.Some of the connections don't work as well as United offer...Orlando in particular, but for west coast stuff it'll be decent.I reckon Newark is a better hub for getting into Manhattan too.

US Airways operated the Philly flight, shame they got muscled out by American but there must have been some deal done, they're both One World.

American own US Airways now, albeit they still operate flights under the different brands. Announced today that they pretty much swapped one route for the other. Mainly for the reasons you mention above; better onward connections from JFK.

Also, there is a daily Philly flight from Glasgow by U.S. airways so that probably fitted better with strategy.

American own US Airways now, albeit they still operate flights under the different brands. Announced today that they pretty much swapped one route for the other. Mainly for the reasons you mention above; better onward connections from JFK.

Also, there is a daily Philly flight from Glasgow by U.S. airways so that probably fitted better with strategy.

It is good news, American are actually pretty decent and as you say, it'll result in lower fares to onward destinations.Some of the connections don't work as well as United offer...Orlando in particular, but for west coast stuff it'll be decent.I reckon Newark is a better hub for getting into Manhattan too.

US Airways operated the Philly flight, shame they got muscled out by American but there must have been some deal done, they're both One World.

Always come into Newark. I love the train ride through Seacaucas where the top of the ESB just pops up over the hill/the horizon. Always leave via JFK as check in at Newark is a shambles. Doing this exact trip in April with KLM.