My Faith in Police is Destroyed after 52 years

eckmf

I have alway's been a law abiding citizen, served for many years as a Prison Officer, wont even use my phone when driving,drop litter and defend the police as an upstanding, truthfull, straight,fair and nessesary body of people.

today that was shattered and I now think at least a high proportion are corrupt,bent, untruefull and dishonest.

A very close friend, who has never been in any form of trouble, has a young family, works hard, his only vice is having one too many drinks now and again, usually after a hibs game, was stopped by police at 1.30 in the morning in Dalkeith and searched, lo and behold they found a small wrap of white powder. When asked what it was, he replied I dont know, never seen it before.He asked them to carry out a test to see if he had been using, this request was missing from his stetement. He was taken back to the station where a test was done confirming it to be cocaine. He is adament,I have no reason to doubt him that he has no idea how it got there, he would not be able to hide drug use from his family and friends and he is now facing having a record, whether it was put there by someone else, the police, we will never know but one thing I do know he would never allow drugs near his kid or risk his work for the sake of using drugs.

The one thing to come out of all this, is I wont trust the police again and as far as helping them at any time they can go and feck themselves.
Edit: The police stated that they observed my friend in a shop door way exchanging money for something that was handed to him, the lawyer told him that was just a statement giving them the reason to stop and search him and would most probably be untrue.

I have alway's been a law abiding citizen, served for many years as a Prison Officer, wont even use my phone when driving,drop litter and defend the police as an upstanding, truthfull, straight,fair and nessesary body of people.

today that was shattered and I now think at least a high proportion are corrupt,bent, untruefull and dishonest.

A very close friend, who has never been in any form of trouble, has a young family, works hard, his only vice is having one too many drinks now and again, usually after a hibs game, was stopped by police at 1.30 in the morning in Dalkeith and searched, lo and behold they found a small wrap of white powder. When asked what it was, he replied I dont know, never seen it before.He asked them to carry out a test to see if he had been using, this request was missing from his stetement. He was taken back to the station where a test was done confirming it to be cocaine. He is adament,I have no reason to doubt him that he has no idea how it got there, he would not be able to hide drug use from his family and friends and he is now facing having a record, whether it was put there by someone else, the police, we will never know but one thing I do know he would never allow drugs near his kid or risk his work for the sake of using drugs.

The one thing to come out of all this, is I wont trust the police again and as far as helping them at any time they can go and feck themselves.
Edit: The police stated that they observed my friend in a shop door way exchanging money for something that was handed to him, the lawyer told him that was just a statement giving them the reason to stop and search him and would most probably be untrue.

Aye, damn and blast those folk that go around placing expensive wraps of cocaine in folks pockets, the bastards :roll:

Eck auld yin, ye say yersel ye've been aroond the block a few times? The laddie likes a line and nae doubt. Aye the police have been kants aboot it for sure - most folk I know who've been pulled get the wrap pocketed and moved on - but in all honesty do you really think the lad doesn't do drugs?

I don't know the guy involved, so can't comment on whether he likes a bit of ching or not, however .. do we know if the dealer was picked up too.. bearing in mind the bizzies decided to pull the buyer over after witnessing a transaction.. surely they'd want to stop such things at "source".. maybe they should have followed the dealer to his supplier and tried to break the chain?

Naw, it's easier just to pull over an otherwise respectable guy as it still goes down as an arrest on their paperwork.. with far less hassle!

I don't know the guy involved, so can't comment on whether he likes a bit of ching or not, however .. do we know if the dealer was picked up too.. bearing in mind the bizzies decided to pull the buyer over after witnessing a transaction.. surely they'd want to stop such things at "source".. maybe they should have followed the dealer to his supplier and tried to break the chain?

Naw, it's easier just to pull over an otherwise respectable guy as it still goes down as an arrest on their paperwork.. with far less hassle!

agreed, it's a shite state of affairs.

welcome to the real world.

Most Police are bent, if they are not then they are in a good mood that day/night.

Strathclyde THE worst in the UK by a country mile.

they know the dealers its who replaces them they dont . Its the frighteners on the users they use
(Posted fae ma mobile fone)

Naieve !

What motive would the Police have for doing what you suggest ?

Do not get me wrong I am no supporter of them but any crime, has a motive !

Canny believe its taken u 52 years tae suss that loads o polis are just bastards !

Nailed it. Why punish the users? There's millions of people who have been caught with drugs that are rotting in jails, wasting tax payers money. The casual users aren't the problem here, it's the scum selling it to them! Instead of putting the casual users who got on the wrong path behind bars, the state should provide therapy/rehab to them.

Just my two cents. :detective:

The police have got their hands tied behind their back in incident like that. They found someone with cocaine... they arrested them. Regardless if it was planted or he doesnt do drugs. Police canny exactly say ''oh so it was planted? sorry about this misunderstanding we will take the coke and you can be on your way''

I think the inference was that it wiz the rozzers that planted it :detective:

I don't know your mate but I find it unlikely that that the Police would plant a gram of Coke on someone to make an arrest that will probaly result in a wrsit slap. How would that benifit the Polismen in question? Not exaxtly the kind of collar that would see a quick rise up the L&B Police ladder.

I have come home with all kinds of shit when drunk, socket sets, legs of lamb, shop signs etc etc. It could be that he just lifted it when pissed in the pub.

I detest the Police but don't think they did anything dodgy here..however 92.6% of them are yams or huns so if he was wearing any Hibs colors then you never know.

By the looks of things your mate enjoys a line or 2 when out, and he's too ashamed to admit it. If enjoys a line now and again then there would be nothing to hide from the family as it wouldn't show. I really doubt the polis would 'plant' a few gram in someones pocket.

I don't know your mate but I find it unlikely that that the Police would plant a gram of Coke on someone to make an arrest that will probaly result in a wrsit slap. How would that benifit the Polismen in question? Not exaxtly the kind of collar that would see a quick rise up the L&B Police ladder.

I have come home with all kinds of shit when drunk, socket sets, legs of lamb, shop signs etc etc. It could be that he just lifted it when pissed in the pub.

I detest the Police but don't think they did anything dodgy here..however 92.6% of them are yams or huns so if he was wearing any Hibs colors then you never know.

Usually, it's a white pudding supper for me but I must try these sometime.

Los federales may have confiscated the wrap from a younger person who ran away before they could do him, and were thus pissed off and needed someone to 'do' for it.
Not exactly hard to run from the cops nowadays, seen the size of them from all that sitting in cars?

Maybe being pished he forgot he bought a cheeky wee gram :rollfloor The police are certainly not going to plant it on him. I reckon your mate likes a wee sniff eh the bingo and has been caught red handed.

With respect, I think your criticism of police is a bit quick off the mark since a few of the facts, as they've been told to you, don't add up.

How do you know he'll have a record? Has he been charged to court? In NI, he'd be reported to the prosecution service for them to decide (probably a caution or nothing at all, if it really was just 'a wee wrap').

But since his version of events about how the Chandler Bing got there in the first place is pretty ropey, how do you know he wasn't carrying a bit more than a wee wrap?

Maybe the police could have gone a bit easier, but without knowing exactly what happened it's hard to be sure. For example, if you watch the 'crime porn' (Police, Camera, Action etc) shows on TV every night of the week you'll see people who were probably going to get away with a warning but ended up being banged up because they kept giving abuse to cops or other people.

Two sides to every story...

(Ps - saying that, it's none of my business!, just giving my opinion).

Nailed it. Why punish the users? There's millions of people who have been caught with drugs that are rotting in jails, wasting tax payers money. The casual users aren't the problem here, it's the scum selling it to them! Instead of putting the casual users who got on the wrong path behind bars, the state should provide therapy/rehab to them.

Just my two cents. :detective:

Interesting point tbf. I was at the crown office a few weeks ago, and all people who are found to be users of drugs are registered into a therapy style arrangement. This involves all users attending meetings with social workers and workers at drug clinics. Many users actually do not attend these meetings, and do not want the help. I in fact saw one person given the choice of prison or attend these meetings, and the person actually chose prison!

What should we do with people who do not want the help?

I got into bother with the police about 3 year ago.Twas a motoring offence...anyway, the guy that stopped me (well stopped would be a bit much due to being in my driveway with the vehicle switched off).Anyway, the guy who 'stopped' me was single crewed, in a standard 'panda' motor (nae cameras) and therefore didn't have a leg to stand on.Sadly, i'd just passed my test and didn't have the savvy to tell him to do a bolt.Next thing i know hes radioing for another officer and i end up spending the night in the cells.Went to a lawyer told him the story etc, i was advised to plead not guilty in court, did so...big mistake.The report that was sent to the P.F. by the police was a blatant stitch up on their part as they didn't have the necessary evidence to prosecute me, basically they both wrote that i admitted to driving the vehicle and committing the offence, absolute pish.

1. I wasn't asked if i was driving
2. I wasn't even asked if it was my car
3. I admitted hee-haw

Both officers also stood up in court and confirmed that what was in their report was 'true' and it ended up being their 'word' against mine (lying under oath).In the words of the Sheriff 'I see no reason to disbelieve the evidence of the police on this occasion'.Great eh? I get found guilty and end up with a ban and a hefty fine.

Dinny get me wrong, not everyone within the police will be bent, but there are far too many for my liking.

My sympathies go out to your mate eckmf.

My faith in plumbers is destroyed after 45 years. Got a new bathroom fitted and the plumber stole my perfectly good working order electric shower and ornate taps from the bath!!!
Oh he was Tunisian. My faith in Tunisians is destroyed after 45 years etc.
My faith in Taxi drivers is destroyed after 45 years. Got a taxi home last weekend under the weather. Gave the taxi driver a 20 but he only gave me change of a tenner!!!
My faith in Electricians etc....
There are bad apples in every job take people as you find them and don't pidgeonhole everyone because you have a bad experience with one. Except for Hearts fans.......:yams:

My faith in plumbers is destroyed after 45 years. Got a new bathroom fitted and the plumber stole my perfectly good working order electric shower and ornate taps from the bath!!!
Oh he was Tunisian. My faith in Tunisians is destroyed after 45 years etc.
My faith in Taxi drivers is destroyed after 45 years. Got a taxi home last weekend under the weather. Gave the taxi driver a 20 but he only gave me change of a tenner!!!
My faith in Electricians etc....
There are bad apples in every job take people as you find them and don't pidgeonhole everyone because you have a bad experience with one. Except for Hearts fans.......:yams:

You reckon the bent copper is moonlighting as a plumber and a taxi driver AND an electrician?

No offence mate, but that's pushing it a bit. Plus the OP said nothing about him being Tunisian, although maybe that wasn't important to him.
Maybe that's just important to you.
Maybe you don't like Tunisians and all the stuff about bent coppers and electricians and stuff is just your way of dragging Tunisians into the gutter.
Maybe you are to Tunisians, what Hitler was to Jews.

I'll put my cards on the table here.

I don't particularly like Tuna either, but no way would I drag bent coppers or electricians into it.
Bang out of order mate.

You reckon the bent copper is moonlighting as a plumber and a taxi driver AND an electrician?

No offence mate, but that's pushing it a bit. Plus the OP said nothing about him being Tunisian, although maybe that wasn't important to him.
Maybe you don't like Tunisians and all the stuff about bent coppers and electricians and stuff is just your way of dragging Tunisians into the gutter.

I don't particularly like Tuna either, but no way would I drag bent coppers or electricians into it.
Bang out of order mate.

17-I-lol.jpg

The police have always been corrupt just look at the amount of innocent cons you've met over the years.
Whats corrupt about lifting someone in possession of Class A drugs?
Now its up to the accused and his brief to prove his innocence in court. There are some bent coppers sure but i cant see them walking around Midlothian looking to plant cocaine on some innocent passer by.

Bang out of order mate.

With your obvious qualifications I take it you are being tongue in cheek here? If not and you purchased your Doctorate on the Internet I will try to explain.
Point I was making was I have had bad experiences with a lot of professions but it doesn't make me prejudiced against all of them because of the actions of one. They have all been Scottish apart from the plumber so couldn't develop a problem with them as I would then question my own nationality. Despite a bad experience with one Tunisian does not make me prejudiced against any other Tunisians or plumbers for that matter.

p.s. I love Tuna but had a bad experience with a tin of Salmon once. My faith in Salmon etc etc etc:dunno:
Go on accuse me of being a Fishest....:yawning:

p.s. I love Tuna but had a bad experience with a tin of Salmon once. My faith in Salmon etc etc etc:dunno:
Go on accuse me of being a Fishest....:yawning:

Not at all.

There's more than you been upset by Salmon rusty.

Apologies if I misunderstood your carping post.