Music.

greencol

Almost knackered radge.
What do you look for in music?
I.E. Something that you can dance to? Something you relax with? Something to motivate you? Or something else?

I like loads of different music, favourite probably late 60's early 70's blues, I like a load of different theme tunes of films and tv progs. Love a bit 60's 70' and 80's soul music and some metal. Turned intae an auld cvnt now because I'm no keen on any modern stuff.

Good melody, dancy, if poss nice singer/guitarist interplay and lyrics that either tell a good story or create a little world of their own. At least a willingness to use unusual chords now and then just to keep you on your toes.

I like loads of different music, favourite probably late 60's early 70's blues, I like a load of different theme tunes of films and tv progs. Love a bit 60's 70' and 80's soul music and some metal. Turned intae an auld cvnt now because I'm no keen on any modern stuff.
ETA and BILLY JOEL.

I.E. Something that you can dance to? Something you relax with? Something to motivate you? Or something else?
You know me well amigo. A catholic taste in all genres starting from an early age in the late 50' and early 60's, when my mum and dad played those stacked 45s in the the house on a trusty pink Dansette record player whether during the day or listening in bed whilst parties were going on.
I thank them both unreservedly for my journey into music along with TV programmes like the Six Five Special as a very young bairn, Thank Your Lucky Stars and particularly The magnificent Old Grey Whistle Test and also on the wireless John Peel, the two latter highlighting stuff that I had not heard before but went on to appreciate.
Sometimes you hear something and it just fuckin does it for you. I heard Keep on Running by the Spencer Davis Group when I was still at secondary in 1965. I had a job delivering small parcels of meat from Bonthrons to the Butchers in Musselburgh, think Granvilles bike with basket. After getting my 'pocket money' I fired into Hendersons the Furnishers, who folk bought furnishings on tick including my folks. They bizarrely also amongst the sideboards, beds and wardrobes sold the latest records. Purchased.
Likewise 3 years later when 14 accidently heard a number by blind jazz musician genius Roland Kirk playing on the Radio, which I guess was on the BBC, playing sax, manzello and stretch simultaneously from Volenteered Slavery recorded at the Newport Jazz Festival. My young mind was truely blown. He got me into the vast beautiful and varied world of Jazz, Jazz Rock etc. Think Soft Machine, Colesseum,Chicken Corea Ruturn to Forever in the UK/US.
Two years on this callow youth attended The Isle of Wight Festival, as said before, The Who, Hendrix, The Doors, Free, Sly, Cohen, Joni etc, etc. All great stuff but one band hit me straight between the eyes and I stood in awe, which was Taste, fronted by Irish genius Rory Gallagher.
Nothings static when it comes to musical taste, somethings that may have passed you by, for whatever reason can have a habit to come and bite you in the backside and drag you in. I remember in a boozer on one of the Cabbage European gigs that I had discovered a love for Disco music, much to my pals Shetland Jim and Bombers rather amazement.
The bottom line Larry no matter the sounds, genre or whatever you like what you like, no other reason.......

One good thing about music, when it hits you feel no pain
So hit me with music, hit me with music now, yeah
Hit me with music, hit me with music now, got to say

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

This any good to you G?

And this.....

I've got an ecletic taste. One minute I can be listening to Brass bands; the next, music from the Greek Isles, the next, Eater. It all started with Danny Kaye and 'There Once Was an Ugly Duckling' and 'Thumbelina' and there was an album of Nursery Rhymes (can't remember the singer) which had stuff like 'One Little,Two Little,Three Little Indians' (before woke) and there was singles like 'Quantatemara ? ' and 'Oh No! Don't Let the Rain Come Down!' and 'She' by Charles Aznouvor. When I was about 8 or 9 I bought my first single which was Gimme Dat Ding' by the Pipkins after seeing them on Crackerjack. My mum and dad would take us to the theatre in which we saw shows like Jesus Christ Superstar and a show called Kidnapped based on the Lewis Stevenson novel ;which had a live band playing on stage; who turned out to be Steeleye Span. I also joined my Primary School's Brass Band; my teacher was my dad's cousin Andrew Young who had played lead trombone for the Tommy Sampson Orchestra -he also played in the King's Theatre band, so; when we were taken to a show we would look out for him in the pit. Then in 1973 my dad took my brother and I to see Duke Ellington at the Usher Hall. Next would be Stan Kenton. About the same time I would buy my second single which was Jeepster by T Rex and I took it from there really.

The Alarm song Walk Forever By My Side is a fantastic song with brass band accompaniment

I'll listen out for it.I saw the Alarm a few years back supporting the Damned.Sad to say the lead singer has been going through a hard time with cancer .Sorry to say his name escapes me right now, but I hope he is on the mend.

Mike Peters , He's been through hell but things seem to be picking up after loads of grueling treatment . I follow his wife on FB and she writes regular updates on how he's doing

I love most music...in fact, it's the great passion of my life.

Anything that moves me, inspires me, and lifts me up.
Great melodies and arrangements, and lyrics that speak to me, make me think, and move me either to either sadness or happiness.

I feel I have a wide musical taste...rock and pop, folk, easy listening, some classical music which I love.
IMO music is the greatest art form in the world, and as John Miles sang in that glorious song, "Music was my first love and
it will be my last, music of the future and music of the past. To live without my music, would be impossible to do, and in this world of trouble, my music pulls me through".
Says it all for me.

Lyrics that will move me, inspire me or make me smile, a guitar solo - or even a chord - that makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand on end, a beat that gets my feet moving and a bass line that sticks in my head. Tight vocal harmonies. All pretty hard to find without looking to the past nowadays though.

Like, when you're pumping petrol at the station? Bit of a niche music ask if you ask me.
@emerald green is a Bonnyrigg man B.....

Midlothian is a great big freeway
Put a hundred down and buy a car
In a week, maybe two, they'll make you a star
Weeks turn into years, how quick they pass
And all the stars that never were
Are parking cars and pumping gas ⛽

Punk Rock is my go to music listening to Stiff Little Fingers at the moment
but i listen to most types of music except Jazz i just dont get it

The Jam were my band growing up so through them i discovered Tamla Motown then Northern Soul
I was listening to Classic FM the other day in the car find as am getting older am listening to a more varied selection

My love of music began with the 8 tracks in my parents car.
Buddy Holly, Everley brothers, CCR, Elton (Yellow brick road & Captain Fantastic are still amongst my go to's).

Give anything a listen, I also enjoy classical should the mood take me.
Punk passed my by though...

Interesting question. I'm not sure, but i think I like the atmosphere and the actual sounds in a piece. The last seems daft but electronic music is my favourite and I like stuff that sounds different to anything else - which is easier (though getting less so) with a synthesiser than an acoustic instrument.

I also like propulsive rhythms whether motorik or dance music - or none at all, sound washes whether electronic again, but also Choral music.

Not fussed on lyrics generally though appreciate geniuses like Shane McGowan. Not actually that fussed on vocals really - i quite like instrumentals.

these are themes I can just about pick out, but a lot of miscellaneous stuff to - though not on any Big G encyclopedic scale

As an old metal head, I have to say a great riff is what really hooks me. Currently watching Classic Albums about Metallica's Black Album. Enter Sandman is a perfect example. It just grabs me at a really primal level.
As I've got older lyrics have become more important but I'm still a sucker for a killer guitar riff. 🤘🤘🤘

As an old metal head, I have to say a great riff is what really hooks me. Currently watching Classic Albums about Metallica's Black Album. Enter Sandman is a perfect example. It just grabs me at a really primal level.
As I've got older lyrics have become more important but I'm still a sucker for a killer guitar riff. 🤘🤘🤘
When my kids were wee I bought myself them a brilliant wee air guitar toy. Basically the chord sequences for famous songs were programmed into it, but activated by ‘strumming’ - basically swiping your hand.

So you didn’t have to play anything per se, but your timing of swipes did determine whether it came out right or a mess.

I used to have great fun with smoke on the water.

When my kids were wee I bought myself them a brilliant wee air guitar toy. Basically the chord sequences for famous songs were programmed into it, but activated by ‘strumming’ - basically swiping your hand.

So you didn’t have to play anything per se, but your timing of swipes did determine whether it came out right or a mess.

I used to have great fun with smoke on the water.
All kids should have the opportunity to learn modern music in school as general lessons rather than an extra thing , guitar , bass , drums , keyboards etc

Absolutely. It seems to be one of the first things that gets cut when there’s a financial crisis. What needs to be realised is that reading and playing music enhances brain function and will increase children’s learning across all levels. Music is also a life skill that gives pleasure to play and listen and forges partnership and friendships for life.

Listening to The Smiths should be compulsory.

It's how I learned to speak Manc as my foreign language.

Here you go.

Bit strange if you don't mind me saying.
Wind instruments are one thing....

Didn't REM cover that - "Everybody farts sometime" ?

I love most music...in fact, it's the great passion of my life.

Anything that moves me, inspires me, and lifts me up.
Great melodies and arrangements, and lyrics that speak to me, make me think, and move me either to either sadness or happiness.

I feel I have a wide musical taste...rock and pop, folk, easy listening, some classical music which I love.
IMO music is the greatest art form in the world, and as John Miles sang in that glorious song, "Music was my first love and
it will be my last, music of the future and music of the past. To live without my music, would be impossible to do, and in this world of trouble, my music pulls me through".
Says it all for me.
:sm023: