Mouthy Germans (again)

Eh?

You're taking the hump about a team being mouthy? What about the English lot you championed when the tournament began?!

'mon the Germans.

Eh?

You're taking the hump about a team being mouthy? What about the English lot you championed when the tournament began?!

'mon the Germans.

The English championed to the rest of the UK about themselves, I didn't champion them I said I wanted them to do well. The Germans mouthed off first about the English now about the Argentine's, trying to play mind games with them and put pressure on the ref.

Really hope Messi puts on a master class and the Argentinians smash em by 3 or 4.

Whilst I respect Germany's phenomenal record in major tournaments I just dont want to see Argentina knocked out, not with the football they are playing this tournament.

I think the Germans have every right to be mouthy ahead of the game against argentina due to the way they swept aside 1 of the tournament favourites in the last round.

The way I see it, they've been approached by the press for their thoughts ahead of the game, same as Beckenbauer. Not to mention they had to postpone / cancel a planned training session ahead of the England game as FIFA 'reminded' them of their media duties.

Mouthing off is just wrong IMO

Given their international and World Cup record I'd say they have every right.
If only we had cause to be mouthy Scots.

Even more disrespect to the Argentines, this time from the captain of Germany BBC Sport - Football - World Cup 2010: Argentina are bad losers - Philipp Lahm

I'm gonna bite, I can't help it - these are Lahm's comments from the article

"We know South Americans are impulsive and temperamental and cannot lose.

"We'll see on Saturday how they'll lose and how they'll behave after a defeat," said 26-year-old Lahm.

The rest of the article references Schweinsteigers previous comments followed up with piecemeal of other stuff.

How is that disrespectful?

I'm gonna bite, I can't help it - these are Lahm's comments from the article

The rest of the article references Schweinsteigers previous comments followed up with piecemeal of other stuff.

How is that disrespectful?

Playing a world class side in a world cup quarters and asking how Argentina will act AFTER defeat on Saturday?

That's disrespectful and shameful coming from the captain.

It's asking for trouble but disgraceful and shameful - just how sensitive are you?

FWIW I felt the same way about Beckenbauer's comments prior to their game against England - it could come back and haunt Lahm.

It'll be a different game against Germany, I don't think Argentina have really been tested yet and as a football fan, I'm interested to see how they react to that challenge.

[video=youtube;RbW00QgjH_U]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RbW00QgjH_U[/video]

Amazing.

It's asking for trouble but disgraceful and shameful - just how sensitive are you?

FWIW I felt the same way about Beckenbauer's comments prior to their game against England - it could come back and haunt Lahm.

It'll be a different game against Germany, I don't think Argentina have really been tested yet and as a football fan, I'm interested to see how they react to that challenge.

So you don't think its disrespectful to run your mouth off saying they will lose and they will try to con the ref etc? Just after doing literally the same with England? You can be confident but you don't talk about other nations at this stage of the world cup, in my opinion.

Im not sensitive at all, just dinnae see the need for them being mouthy. Should take a lesson in history to see when there leaders start pissing every other country off and going to rule the world it will come back and bite them on the erse :thumbgrin

Have Germany been properly challenged yet? Oh aye, they did when they went a man down against Serbia :doh

Probably just the usual case of the media trying to whip up interest and hysteria ahead of a big game. Happens all the time. I'd rather Argentina won but I won't be getting worked up about this. Also, worth bearing in mind that unless you hear directly what comes out of the players mouths (in English) that it will be getting twisted all sorts of ways by the press.

Maradona should come out and say after Argentina shag Germany on Saturday afternoon he will then proceed to pump that beetle lookalike of a managers maw :Sparkle_Cool:

"We know South Americans are impulsive and temperamental and cannot lose.

"We'll see on Saturday how they'll lose and how they'll behave after a defeat," said 26-year-old Lahm.

I've not read anything other than this.

It is quality :yas:

Arrogant, proud, confident, self assured thats how I would like to see my Hibs team strut out, head held high, chest puffed out at 3 pm on a Saturday.

I own this fucking place and dont even think you can take it from me go on, I fucking dare you, you're barely fit to walk on this hallowed turf you lowsy piece of shit THIS GROUND IS MINE AND I AM SO PROUD TO WEAR THIS HIBERNIAN FOOTBALL CLUB JERSEY. Come 5 oclock the 3 points will be mine and thats what will be in the history books. Now fuck off to the vermin behind that goal where you belong, they are the only ***** in this ground you give a fuck about you and your shitty little club.

This is the very thing these psychological folk ram down their throats.

Jack is available for team talks and personal coaching at very reasonable rates. :giggle:

So you don't think its disrespectful to run your mouth off saying they will lose and they will try to con the ref etc? Just after doing literally the same with England? You can be confident but you don't talk about other nations at this stage of the world cup, in my opinion.

Im not sensitive at all, just dinnae see the need for them being mouthy. Should take a lesson in history to see when there leaders start pissing every other country off and going to rule the world it will come back and bite them on the erse :thumbgrin

Have Germany been properly challenged yet? Oh aye, they did when they went a man down against Serbia :doh

I honestly don't remember the German team mouhting off about England - what I read was Beckenbauers frank and honest assessment of England after being asked for his thoughts (my recollection is that Loew, Muller, Klose etc left their comments until after the game) and he was later proved correct, England were pish. My only regret about Beckenbauers comments were that he retracted them before the England game.

I don't think it's disgraceful for Lahm to have a wee dig at the Argentinians either - his comments are based on their last encounter and their behaviour against Mexico at half time. Bravado, yes and perhaps come 5pmish on Saturday he will come to regret them but disrespectful, no.

I'll admit that my comments here are maybe biased - Germany are my "international team" when Scotland don't measure up (so it's practically a full time spot for them) and at this years world cup there have been a few teams I've been surprised, intruiged and shocked by. Two of those are tomorrows quarter finalists.

Germany - I was expecting a dogged and determined "as you were" approach to the tournament from them. What we've seen is a stronger (but not perfect defence, Badstuber is very young and Metresacker is a liability at times) a very good midfield of Schweinsteiger, Khedira, Podolski, Oezil and Muller and the seemingly ageless Klose up front.

Argentina - Everyone expected a gung-ho approach from them this tournament with El Loco at the helm. I thought, after the initial game and seeing Gutierrez in defence that everything said prior to the tournament was correct but what we've seen is a dogged defence that's conceded two (?) goals and a very conservative approach from Maradona. One of my favourite bits of this world cup is Maradona questioning a reporter on why his full backs needed to cross the half way line?

Although Messi hasn't scored, he's been influential in their tournament so far - Winning free kicks as defenders can't help but foul him, driving at defences, creating space for his team mates either through his probing passes / runs or by having a player trail him throughout the game.

Maybe Lahm's a bit scared, I've no doubt he wants to win - I think he's entitled as captain of Germany to try and get inside Argentinas heads a wee bit to make it as even a game or to give Germany as much of an advantage as possible - whether that's tactically, physically or psychologically. Argentina are probably good enough and have the self confidence instilled by Maradona to overcome that if they've even given it a second though.

I can't wait for the game - I don't think there's a clear winner there.

Disnae matter anyways. Germany will beat the Argies for sure!

Paul the Octupus predicts it and he's got a 100% success rate :raisehat:

ALeqM5gpudaPosz4-BYf0nc4ZxlYEekDRg

I honestly don't remember the German team mouhting off about England - what I read was Beckenbauers frank and honest assessment of England after being asked for his thoughts (my recollection is that Loew, Muller, Klose etc left their comments until after the game) and he was later proved correct, England were pish. My only regret about Beckenbauers comments were that he retracted them before the England game.

I don't think it's disgraceful for Lahm to have a wee dig at the Argentinians either - his comments are based on their last encounter and their behaviour against Mexico at half time. Bravado, yes and perhaps come 5pmish on Saturday he will come to regret them but disrespectful, no.

I'll admit that my comments here are maybe biased - Germany are my "international team" when Scotland don't measure up (so it's practically a full time spot for them) and at this years world cup there have been a few teams I've been surprised, intruiged and shocked by. Two of those are tomorrows quarter finalists.

Germany - I was expecting a dogged and determined "as you were" approach to the tournament from them. What we've seen is a stronger (but not perfect defence, Badstuber is very young and Metresacker is a liability at times) a very good midfield of Schweinsteiger, Khedira, Podolski, Oezil and Muller and the seemingly ageless Klose up front.

Argentina - Everyone expected a gung-ho approach from them this tournament with El Loco at the helm. I thought, after the initial game and seeing Gutierrez in defence that everything said prior to the tournament was correct but what we've seen is a dogged defence that's conceded two (?) goals and a very conservative approach from Maradona. One of my favourite bits of this world cup is Maradona questioning a reporter on why his full backs needed to cross the half way line?

Although Messi hasn't scored, he's been influential in their tournament so far - Winning free kicks as defenders can't help but foul him, driving at defences, creating space for his team mates either through his probing passes / runs or by having a player trail him throughout the game.

Maybe Lahm's a bit scared, I've no doubt he wants to win - I think he's entitled as captain of Germany to try and get inside Argentinas heads a wee bit to make it as even a game or to give Germany as much of an advantage as possible - whether that's tactically, physically or psychologically. Argentina are probably good enough and have the self confidence instilled by Maradona to overcome that if they've even given it a second though.

I can't wait for the game - I don't think there's a clear winner there.

Class post mate. You hit the nail spot on and cannae argue.

Im that nervous Im starting drinking now!!

Argentina :thumbgrin

Looks like its got a leg in the Argy camp! Could be 7 - 1 :giggle:

Can I also say how amazingly proud I am of myself in the WC predictor where I find myself at number 2! :doh

This follows 3 or 4 seasons where I have been firmly embedded at the foot of a SPL predictor league with some pals. Roll on the new season, my crystal balls are shining brightly :thumbgrin

Nervous????

Diego Maradona hits back after German mind games | The Sun |Sport|Football|World Cup 2010

Amazing
:rollfloor :rollfloor:rollfloor:rollfloor

Looks like its got a leg in the Argy camp! Could be 7 - 1 :giggle:

Can I also say how amazingly proud I am of myself in the WC predictor where I find myself at number 2! :doh

This follows 3 or 4 seasons where I have been firmly embedded at the foot of a SPL predictor league with some pals. Roll on the new season, my crystal balls are shining brightly :thumbgrin

So funny, even the burd laughed when I showed her; brilliant!:rollfloor

When your that good you can be as mouthy as you want imo, great performance by the Germans :thumbgrin
Get that up ye Diego :laff::laff::laff::laff::laff:

The German machine is running with awesome performance.

I dont even think the amigos would be able to handle ze germans awsomeness.

And in all honesty, could and should've been more imo, they have not allowed the Argies to get going at all

Not bad for underdogs, eh? The Argies are greetin thier way off the pitch the now. Not a bit of wonder either, they were total mince.

The World Cup should just be renamed the Miroslave Klose.

You never hear of him yet he's now equal with Pele:shock:

Here Beefy, want to ask yer mate Paul the lotto numbers for the night? :rodpetrie:

I think the Germans can afford to be a bit mouthy. They tore Argentina apart. How much for yer man Schweinsteiger?

I'm totally baffled by that game.

Ze Germans started really well and for the first 20 minutes I thought they might have gone 2-0 up. Then Argentina started getting involved and got the ball forward a bit and I thought Germany were up against it.

Argentina started the second half as they finished the first, on top, doing most of the running and attacking but something changed around the 60th minute and Germany picked up. I think maybe they realised they could go on and get another goal.

It's hard to believe that the only real chance Argentina had was offside - every other shot was a tame trickler from 20-25 yards.

Schweinsteiger only really started playing around about the 60th-70th minute, Oezil didn't play at all and conversely, I thought the Germans defence, the weakest part of their team thus far, looked the strongest.

Messi did most of his good work in his own half - He looked like Torres to a degree, the harded he tried, the worse his efforts looked and the less likely they were to go in.

Is it a worse tournament for Argentina being out? I'm not so sure.

They had a period against Ze Germans before the end of the first and at the beginning of the second, much like England where they were on top but they didn't make it count.

Tonight's game will be a very interesting encounter indeed to determine Germany's next opponents - On the strength of their performances thus far, I think they could beat Spain who haven't lived up to their pre-tournament favourites tag.

Not bad for underdogs, eh? The Argies are greetin thier way off the pitch the now. Not a bit of wonder either, they were total mince.

Maybe now peeps will stop writing them off, there record at the W/C is magnificent! I have money on the Dutch and the Spanish but it looks like I maybe should've backed Der Hun eh!
As for the future, am struggling to think of a team who looks like they can trouble them tbh, some terrific young talent throughout there squad.

The World Cup should just be renamed the Miroslave Klose.

You never hear of him yet he's now equal with Pele:shock:

God awful season at club level, think he only managed 3 goals or something! Seems to come alive at the W/C tho :thumbgrin