Full Time: Motherwell 2 v 0 Hibs

Motherwell are an impressive side. If they had a striker they would have be closer to Celtic. A very well coached team.

We'll need to up our game over the next few weeks,players and manager. With the games coming up if we don't we could Well be bottom six.
Definitely need a rwb and a striker in the mould of dykes come January.
Too many had an off night,unfortunately it happens, but that was really poor.

F in Baltic . Players started in reverse gear . Side ways and backwards passing. They cut through us at will. Midfield that includes barslarrer abd McGrath get over rim as they can’t move .

Barsallar plays well against poor teams . Doesn’t turn up against decent teams .

Boyle and Bowie another no show

Totally done on all levels tonight. Well done to Motherwell. They worked harder, moved better, had more imagination and knew what they were doing.

We on the other hand were pedestrian, predictable and totally uncoordinated. Continual stupid fouls, players regularly going for the same ball, no leadership.

Thought our back 3 were all totally off it. Midfield posted missing. The Caddens, had so little service and then when they did had no options so back it went time after time.

Really hated that tonight.

That was the worst of Hibs.

Get it out their system before Celtic. Ffs, dreadful.

Looked complacent from the start, no plan b. Bit more fight in the 2nd half but Motherwell won’t have an easier win all season.

Reactions: mod
Announcer said 1400 away fans. To watch that shite. We were pedestrian and predictable with 11 men never mind 10.
Hanley must have had more touches than anyone else on the park before being sent off.
Speaks volumes about our tactics

Sounds like it just wasn't our night.
That's football though...hopefully things will be better on Sunday.
What I saw tonight makes me think this team is a lot more brittle than I thought. We weren’t just unlucky we were totally clueless. Gray isn’t showing he can adapt in matches, neither are the players. Put a man on Barlaser and he’s out the game. So how do we deal with it? … we don’t. We fanny about at the back coz there’s no out ball, give it away and concede. Need to start seeing some signs of game management or it’s going to be a frustrating season.

5 wins from 14 games is a very poor return.

I think it’s going to need bringing in players in January that have a far better attitude and ones that do not fold at first sign of trouble in a game, if we want to finish top four.

SDG also needs to think about the style we play. It’s painful on the eyes a lot of the time.

Here's my issue with that. People behind the scenes are scouting and signing the players, not DG. I actually think they have signed some good players, players like Chaiwa and Klidge who should be starting games. Players need a run of games in the team to gel with their teammates and get used to football in a different country.

The problem with Gray is, he doesn't seem to want to play these players and trust giving them a chance. The lad MacIntyre hasn't been given a sniff and neither has Megwa. Rudi stopped getting game time and was unfortunately injured and there's been zero chance for any youngesters at all. From the outside looking in, he's stubborn and those issues aren't going to change anytime soon.

Here's my issue with that. People behind the scenes are scouting and signing the players, not DG. I actually think they have signed some good players, players like Chaiwa and Klidge who should be starting games. Players need a run of games in the team to gel with their teammates and get used to football in a different country.

The problem with Gray is, he doesn't seem to want to play these players and trust giving them a chance. The lad MacIntyre hasn't been given a sniff and neither has Megwa. Rudi stopped getting game time and was unfortunately injured and there's been zero chance for any youngesters at all. From the outside looking in, he's stubborn and those issues aren't going to change anytime soon.
Some supporters won't give him a chance to play and bed in these players. They want immediate playability so he play's safe?

Joe Newell has been on the bench last 2 games without seeing a single minute of action. He should have been on before Levitt on Saturday and we were crying out for him tonight. He is club captain and a proper leader, unlike Boyle who plays for himself.
I dont understand that at all

Joe Newell has been on the bench last 2 games without seeing a single minute of action. He should have been on before Levitt on Saturday and we were crying out for him tonight. He is club captain and a proper leader, unlike Boyle who plays for himself.
Fair points imo. The 'best mf in Scotland' reported missing despite Mulligan and McGrath's class, nae dig at all.

Mind you, before I grab the revolver for a Russian game of chance, we were down to 10 men for a long time v a physical team who had enough class to hold on to possession with 11.

And Celtc are still $hite.

Woke up this morning, hibs on my mind, on reflection, a possible reason for the no - shows :-
As pike said ( not the dad’s army one )
Hibs had the same starting 11 , motherwell made five changes last night after a good win at killie on saturday .
When Chaiwa, Klidje and OHora came on there was a significant change in attitude by these three in particular . Megwa slight change and Youan negative change . OK we were all happy at an unchanged eleven but with hindsight rotation would have been better 🤷‍♂️ I thought Klidje for Bowie should have been Klidje for Boyle ( no bias intended ) who looks like he needs a rest tbh, although David seems reluctant to give him one 😩
Chaiwa and Klidje are well capable of starting games and OHora has been our most consistent defender this season .
Just part of David’s learning curve hopefully 🤞💚🇳🇬

Motherwell play lovely football. They pass crisply and accurately, moving the ball from one side of the pitch to the other, running into the channels. They dont rely on predictable wingbacks chundering up and down the flanks throwing in speculative crosses.

In the window top priority has to be a proper defensive right back so we can alternate away from our predictable wingback tactics with a solid back 4. We have the talent to move the ball about like Motherwell.

Can't argue with any of that and they press really well.

My picture froze last night and there was a VAR check on when it came back, so I didnae see what it was for. Just listened tae DG's after match interview and he's saying a Well player back headed Iredale.
Not seen it mentioned, anybody else see it?

Sorry he isn’t the answer, the answer is putting Mulligan in the middle, starting with Chaiwa and McGrath in front of them.

The answer is ripping up any notion of continuing with this system.

I think @egb_hibs said he listened to the Motherwell manager talking about how he done us. That's a public discussion about how easy we are to nullify. If there a link to that?

We have to change. We've just been exposed.

The answer is ripping up any notion of continuing with this system.

I think @egb_hibs said he listened to the Motherwell manager talking about how he done us. That's a public discussion about how easy we are to nullify. If there a link to that?

We have to change. We've just been exposed.
Rangers and Livvy worked it out as well. The only surprise is that Thelin, Pressley and Robinson didn't. I suspect Motherwell have shown everyone the blueprint now though.

Yeah, I know, I think a lot of them figure it out mid game. Adding to our late struggles.

But he's come out and told everyone exactly what it is.
He's shat on Sir Dave in public. Told everyone he's out thought and game planned him.

Now the players know, we know, other teams know, other managers know...

Look at the numbers, he done far more than that too, he completely shut us down.
He has to change? Surely?

Yeah, I know, I think a lot of them figure it out mid game. Adding to our late struggles.

But he's come out and told everyone exactly what it is.
He's shat on Sir Dave in public. Told everyone he's out thought and game planned him.

Now the players know, we know, other teams know, other managers know...

Look at the numbers, he done far more than that too, he completely shut us down.
He has to change? Surely?
Hope so. 4231 for me. Gives us chance to get Barlaser and Chaiwa on the pitch at the same time which should be effective through the middle. Mulligan, McGrath and Klidje/Boyle as the advanced 3 and Bowie up front. Obita at left back and RB is Kenwa's until the window opens. For Sunday Ohora and Rocky at cb.

Hope so. 4231 for me. Gives us chance to get barlaser and chaiwa on the pitch at the same time which should be effective through the middle. Mulligan, McGrath and Klidje/Boyle as the advanced 3 and Bowie up front. Obita at left back and RB is Kenwa's until the window opens. For Sunday Ohora and Rocky at cb.

I was 442 about a month ago. Barlaser has earned his way into the thinking, which changes that midfield.
I wanted Mulligan and Chaiwa as the middle pair for energy and drive. Give up ideas of playing nice passes.

But I think I'd go with that just now too.
Only change, would be I think Chaiwa would do a job in the forward areas where Mulligan is so combative I'd have him in the spot beside Barlaser. Can drive from deep and knows the right back position so can cover instinctively for the fullback.

I was 442 about a month ago. Barlaser has earned his way into the thinking, which changes that midfield.
I wanted Mulligan and Chaiwa as the middle pair for energy and drive. Give up ideas of playing nice passes.

But I think I'd go with that just now too.
Only change, would be I think Chaiwa would do a job in the forward areas where Mulligan is so combative I'd have him in the spot beside Barlaser. Can drive from deep and knows the right back position so can cover instinctively for the fullback.
Yeah, good shout re Mulligan

You know what the Hibs team is doing to be every week. It must be so easy for the opposition manager to work us out. On Sunday I will be amazed if O"Hora, Obita, Chaiwa and Klidje dont start instead of the Caddens, Hanley and Boyle..Mulligan pushed out to right wing back...no matter the opposition the set up is always the same even with the odd bit of tinkering between a core group of about 15 players
I’d be happy if that four do start with chaiwa being the c cadden swap . Would give the dropees notice that their place isn’t guarenteed 🤔