Mick Lynch & Eddie Dempsey In The Pub

I fair enjoyed watching this last night and thought I'd share as others may enjoy. Two working class guys giving leadership to their RMT members and to working class people all over the UK. They speak so much sense. Both have Irish backgrounds and quote James Connolly as their inspiration. Enough is enough. I think Eddie Dempsey downed 4 pints of Guiness in the hour! The bar maids bringing the pints are as a bonus aesthetically pleasing on the eyes....

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

I'll watch that later on. Put it into my yatube history. Looks interesting.

Eddie got increasingly animated as the pints went down 😃
A good watch, 2 switched on men espousing basic truths. Why doesn't every worker in the country pursue the same? That's the mystery.

I fair enjoyed watching this last night and thought I'd share as others may enjoy. Two working class guys giving leadership to their RMT members and to working class people all over the UK. They speak so much sense. Both have Irish backgrounds and quote James Connolly as their inspiration. Enough is enough. I think Eddie Dempsey downed 4 pints of Guiness in the hour! The bar maids bringing the pints are as a bonus aesthetically pleasing on the eyes....

I like these two. There is a good interview with Lynch and James O' Brien that's worth a listen too. Seems like a genuine bloke. I hope the media machine doesn't tame him.

I wonder if Mick Lynch has ever been to ER (or is even aware of the connection with James Connolly)?

Haven't seen it yet.But since I've been in the company of trade unionists since the mid 80's I can imagine.

I like these two. There is a good interview with Lynch and James O' Brien that's worth a listen too. Seems like a genuine bloke. I hope the media machine doesn't tame him.

A good watch. Just a shame that it wasn't pointed out that, sadly, the democratic will of people in traditionally Labour constituencies gave the babbling fatberg of dishonesty an 80 seat majority, and led to the mess we're in now. I would have liked to have heard Mick Lynch's views on why that happened.

I think labour abandoned working class towns a long time ago.

A focus group in Islington says nothing to folk in Redcar.

Labour underestimated the strength of feeling regarding the Brexit vote. They ignored the wishes of traditional voters of the labour party.

The labour party still struggles to come to terms that voters wanted THEIR views represented and not the local branches views.

You'll be more Eddie than Mick as Eddie is more revolutionary whereas Mick is much more pragmatic and reformist.
Pragmatic and reformist! That's how you described Starmer amigo. Safe pair of hands. So safe in fact for the Ruling Class. Yet sacked from the Shadow Cabinet if you dare show solidarity with striking rail workers. Starmer couldnae lace Lynch's boots. I'd like to have been a fly on the wall when the camera stopped and discussed Starmer.

I wonder if Mick Lynch has ever been to ER (or is even aware of the connection with James Connolly)?

Lynch has said on MSM that Connolly was a big influence on him and have no doubt that he knows about the Hibernian connection. Alan Pottage, Leither, Hibernian FC fanatic, St Patrick's Branch member and a Senior Organiser in the RMT, based in London will have made sure of that believe me.
Lynch's predecessor, the brilliant demonised, scourge of the MSM, Question Time, Paxman and the right in general, Bob Crow, who was taken far too young, certainly was at Easter Road to see the Hibs, taken by Alan.
Crow was a big Millwall supporter and said that he got Hibs more than any other Scottish Team. I'll contact Alan and ask if Lynch has had the pleasure too.

Pragmatic and reformist! That's how you described Starmer amigo. Safe pair of hands. So safe in fact for the Ruling Class. Yet sacked from the Shadow Cabinet if you dare show solidarity with striking rail workers. Starmer couldnae lace Lynch's boots. I'd like to have been a fly on the wall when the camera stopped and discussed Starmer.

No prospective Labour PM could stand on a picket line. And shadow cabinet folk on a picket line haven't been sacked. If live on TV shadow ministers are changing party policy then they've rightly been sacked. I want to see a Labour Gov. Whether it's Corbyn or Starmer. Corbyn didn't want to be PM that's the difference.

Did the sacking of Sam Tarry pass you by. Who changed Party policy live on TV? The mass expulsions, of left wingers, suspension of office bearers and parachuting right wing candidates into constituencies may have also passed you by Kenny. Starmer stood on 10 promises when seeking election as Leader. He has broken every single one, including nationalisation of the railways, Utilities etc. He is a con merchant but didnae con me. Mandelson is pulling his strings. His prominent role in demanding a ludicrous second vote on Brexit with rejoining on the ballot went down well in Brexit voting red wall constituencies, didn't it?
Even the dullards in the right wing Parliamentary Labour Party, who will ditch him as night follows day, must see the irony of Starmer demanding a second Brexit vote however aligning homself with Tories and Liberals in flatly rejecting a a second Referendum vote in Scotland.

Wise old man.

Did the sacking of Sam Tarry pass you by. Who changed Party policy live on TV? The mass expulsions, of left wingers, suspension of office bearers and parachuting right wing candidates into constituencies may have also passed you by Kenny. Starmer stood on 10 promises when seeking election as Leader. He has broken every single one, including nationalisation of the railways, Utilities etc. He is a con merchant but didnae con me. Mandelson is pulling his strings. His prominent role in demanding a ludicrous second vote on Brexit with rejoining on the ballot went down well in Brexit voting red wall constituencies, didn't it?
Even the dullards in the right wing Parliamentary Labour Party, who will ditch him as night follows day, must see the irony of Starmer demanding a second Brexit vote however aligning homself with Tories and Liberals in flatly rejecting a a second Referendum vote in Scotland.

Wise old man.

Did he tell fibs to get elected as leader? Aye.

However, if it ends up with a Labour Government at Westminster and the Tories out then result.

You'd rather a Tory Government than a moderate Labour Government. I'll take ANY Labour Government over this lot@😉

Labour are between a rock and a hard place no matter what they do. Swing too far to the left and they won't win a general election. Stay moderate or swing to the right and they will alienate half their membership. They have virtually the whole of the billionaire-owned UK media stacked up against them who will do their damnedest to make sure there will always be a compliant right-wing government at Westminster
What might work in their favour is a Thatcher-obsessed zealot like Thick Lizzy who seems completely indifferent to ordinary peoples suffering becoming PM. If Starmer can position Labour as the party that cares they might just have a chance of winning back the red wall in the north and turning working class tory voters in the south.
Is Sir Keir the man to do that, I have my doubts, I would feel a lot more confident with Andy Burnham steering the ship but the alternative is too grim to think about.

Wise old man.

He speaks very well. Cynicism and apathy amongst the working class electorate will hand victory to the right. Black times indeed for Britain.

They have every right to be cynical in my opinion. IF labour want to make inroads again then I think a start would be introducing would be council/Holyrood/westmonster candidates who are local to the areas they want to represent.

Folk who stand in the same queues in the bakers or Scotmid.

And also start listening to non party members. Just because the focus group think it's a good idea does not mean voters do.

Did he tell fibs to get elected as leader? Aye.

However, if it ends up with a Labour Government at Westminster and the Tories out then result.

You'd rather a Tory Government than a moderate Labour Government. I'll take ANY Labour Government over this lot@😉
Did he tell fibs you say like it was a kid saying that he was at school dinners when he in fact went to Greggs! I don't think you understand the seriousness of this deceit.
As to your last paragraph, well that could easily been written by Mandelson.
Andrew Marr only deals with 3 off Starmers 10 broken pledges.
Starmers last words about the membership being happy about this is grotesque and laughable. So happy in fact that 150,000 members have resigned. To get that into context that is more than the whole Tory Party membership, who will decide on which gangster is the new Prime Minister.

Did he tell fibs you say like it was a kid saying that he was at school dinners when he in fact went to Greggs! I don't think you understand the seriousness of this deceit.
As to your last paragraph, well that could easily been written by Mandelson.
Andrew Marr only deals with 3 off Starmers 10 broken pledges.
Starmers last words about the membership being happy about this is grotesque and laughable. So happy in fact that 150,000 members have resigned. To get that into context that is more than the whole Tory Party membership, who will decide on which gangster is the new Prime Minister.

Labour was dead. And likely still is. His leadership has been at best poor and uninspiring. However, the left had their chance and blew it.

To hell with the Labour party.They made their bed they better lie in it! Enough is Enough is about workers standing up and fighting back to try and change things for the better.If the Labour Party won't get involved in that,sack people who do want to get involved in that then they will get everything that they deserve.Like Trotsky said to Martov after the Revolution 'you're consigned to the dustbin of history' if Labour won't get behind workers on strike, if they won't get behind workers wanting to do something about the cost of living,if they won't tax the rich or renationalise then what are they there for?
We had a chance with Corbyn and Corbyn blew it by trying to ride two ponies at once. One called 'Brexit' and the other one called 'Remain',and what happened? He fell off.
Corbyn could have backed a left Brexit campaign that put workers rights at the forefront that said Immagration is welcome and said we will save the NHS and yet he fucked up. Just as he fucked up over Indy for Scotland, just he fucked up by saying he had to go along with Nuclear arms. If Corbyn had of done these things then places like Middlesburgh would have stayed Red,and he would have been in power instead of that arsehole Johnson.So we'll get on with our campaign in Enough is Enough and Labour can either get behind it or get left behind.

Lynch has said on MSM that Connolly was a big influence on him and have no doubt that he knows about the Hibernian connection. Alan Pottage, Leither, Hibernian FC fanatic, St Patrick's Branch member and a Senior Organiser in the RMT, based in London will have made sure of that believe me.
Lynch's predecessor, the brilliant demonised, scourge of the MSM, Question Time, Paxman and the right in general, Bob Crow, who was taken far too young, certainly was at Easter Road to see the Hibs, taken by Alan.
Crow was a big Millwall supporter and said that he got Hibs more than any other Scottish Team. I'll contact Alan and ask if Lynch has had the pleasure too.

Bob Crow along with RMT Hibee officials was at this nail biter back in that freezing cold February Wednesday night in 2004.
Our support was rather meagre for a semi final if my memory serves me well.
RMT members have had two very good men in Bob and Mick at the helm in my opinion in the past 20 years or so.